tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/11/2014 :  - Ray Donovan Season 1

Ray Donovan Season 1

MusicCD
21/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It was David Cronenberg who told us early this year in Maps To The Stars (perhaps the best film of 2014) that celebrities are people just like you and me with the same problems. The big difference of course is that every slip of a celebrity becomes fodder for journalists, so stars have an advantage if nobody knows about it.

If you have problems, and especially a lot of money, then Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is the right man to solve them. This employee of the law firm Goldman & Drexler calls himself the fixer. And yes, all of Los Angeles knows that he is the person to contact when you do not want to see your face on the cover of some magazine the day after.

As it is often the case with such figures, Ray is a great talker, but he fails to solve his own problems at home. While Donovan ensures that everything runs smoothly for rich families, his own personal life is a mess. His marriage with Abby (Paula Malcomson) is anything but flawless and his three brothers do not make it easy for him. His eldest brother Terry (Eddie Marsan) suffers from Parkinson's disease, while Brendan (Dash Mihok) likes to drink. The main problem arises when Ray's father, the gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), is released from prison after twenty years.

The first season of Ray Donovan offers the viewer more than ten hours of top television. The series plays on two fronts: the issues he needs to solve as an employee and his own problems. You really need time as is not always easy to get used to the sometimes complex story structures. After Weeds, Dexter and Homeland, Showtime has again a hit in its catalogue (the pilot of Ray Donovan was even a record). Of course, there is the splendid performance of Liev Schreiber who you know of the Scream-trilogy, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine and Salt. Of course we already knew that Jon Voight, the star of Deliverance and Angelina Jolie's dad, could act.

On both the DVD and Blu-ray you find these extras:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where's Ray?

The first season of Ray Donovan is released on Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


NL

Het was David Cronenberg die er ons begin dit jaar in Maps To The Stars (wellicht de beste film van 2014) op wees dat beroemdheden ook maar mensen zijn die net zoals jij en ik problemen hebben. Het grote verschil is natuurlijk dat elke misstap van een vedette voer voor riooljournalisten is, waardoor sterren erbij gebaat zijn dat het allemaal geheim blijft.

Indien je problemen hebt, en vooral ook veel poen, dan is Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) de geschikte man om die op te lossen. Hij noemt zichzelf de fixer van het advocatenbureau Goldman & Drexler. En jawel, heel Los Angeles weet dat hij de persoon is bij wie je moet aankloppen als je niet wil dat je gezicht de volgende dag op de cover van een boulevardblaadje staat.

Zoals dat wel vaker het geval is bij dergelijke figuren is Ray er ook eentje die het goed uit kan leggen, maar er thuis zelf niks van bakt. Terwijl hij ervoor zorgt dat alles bij de rijke families gesmeerd loopt, is zijn eigen privéleven een puinhoop. Zijn huwelijk met Abby (Paula Malcomson) kun je allesbehalve geslaagd noemen en ook zijn drie broers maken het hem niet echt gemakkelijk. Zijn oudste broer Terry (Eddie Marsan) lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, terwijl Brendan (Dash Mihok) graag aan de fles zit. De grootste probleem ontstaan als Ray’s vader, de gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), na twintig jaar uit de gevangenis wordt ontslagen.

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan biedt de kijker meer dan tien uur toptelevisie. De serie speelt zich op twee fronten af (de zaken die hij moet oplossen voor zijn werkgever en zijn eigen problemen) waardoor het in de eerste afleveringen wat wennen is aan de niet altijd eenvoudige verhaalstructuur. Eens je die onder de knie hebt dan heb je wederom een degelijke serie in handen van Showtime, dat na Weeds, Dexter en Homeland opnieuw een hit in zijn catalogus heeft (de pilot van Ray Donovan was zelfs een record voor de zender). Natuurlijk zijn er ook nog de vertolkingen van Liev Schreiber die je zonder twijfel kent uit de Scream-trilogie, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine en Salt. Dat Jon Voight, de ster uit Deliverance en de papa van Angelina Jolie kon acteren, dat wisten we natuurlijk al langer.

Op zowel de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra’s:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where’s Ray?

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan is uitgebracht op Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death