tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

21/11/2014 :  - Ray Donovan Season 1

Ray Donovan Season 1

MusicCD
21/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It was David Cronenberg who told us early this year in Maps To The Stars (perhaps the best film of 2014) that celebrities are people just like you and me with the same problems. The big difference of course is that every slip of a celebrity becomes fodder for journalists, so stars have an advantage if nobody knows about it.

If you have problems, and especially a lot of money, then Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is the right man to solve them. This employee of the law firm Goldman & Drexler calls himself the fixer. And yes, all of Los Angeles knows that he is the person to contact when you do not want to see your face on the cover of some magazine the day after.

As it is often the case with such figures, Ray is a great talker, but he fails to solve his own problems at home. While Donovan ensures that everything runs smoothly for rich families, his own personal life is a mess. His marriage with Abby (Paula Malcomson) is anything but flawless and his three brothers do not make it easy for him. His eldest brother Terry (Eddie Marsan) suffers from Parkinson's disease, while Brendan (Dash Mihok) likes to drink. The main problem arises when Ray's father, the gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), is released from prison after twenty years.

The first season of Ray Donovan offers the viewer more than ten hours of top television. The series plays on two fronts: the issues he needs to solve as an employee and his own problems. You really need time as is not always easy to get used to the sometimes complex story structures. After Weeds, Dexter and Homeland, Showtime has again a hit in its catalogue (the pilot of Ray Donovan was even a record). Of course, there is the splendid performance of Liev Schreiber who you know of the Scream-trilogy, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine and Salt. Of course we already knew that Jon Voight, the star of Deliverance and Angelina Jolie's dad, could act.

On both the DVD and Blu-ray you find these extras:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where's Ray?

The first season of Ray Donovan is released on Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


NL

Het was David Cronenberg die er ons begin dit jaar in Maps To The Stars (wellicht de beste film van 2014) op wees dat beroemdheden ook maar mensen zijn die net zoals jij en ik problemen hebben. Het grote verschil is natuurlijk dat elke misstap van een vedette voer voor riooljournalisten is, waardoor sterren erbij gebaat zijn dat het allemaal geheim blijft.

Indien je problemen hebt, en vooral ook veel poen, dan is Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) de geschikte man om die op te lossen. Hij noemt zichzelf de fixer van het advocatenbureau Goldman & Drexler. En jawel, heel Los Angeles weet dat hij de persoon is bij wie je moet aankloppen als je niet wil dat je gezicht de volgende dag op de cover van een boulevardblaadje staat.

Zoals dat wel vaker het geval is bij dergelijke figuren is Ray er ook eentje die het goed uit kan leggen, maar er thuis zelf niks van bakt. Terwijl hij ervoor zorgt dat alles bij de rijke families gesmeerd loopt, is zijn eigen privéleven een puinhoop. Zijn huwelijk met Abby (Paula Malcomson) kun je allesbehalve geslaagd noemen en ook zijn drie broers maken het hem niet echt gemakkelijk. Zijn oudste broer Terry (Eddie Marsan) lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, terwijl Brendan (Dash Mihok) graag aan de fles zit. De grootste probleem ontstaan als Ray’s vader, de gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), na twintig jaar uit de gevangenis wordt ontslagen.

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan biedt de kijker meer dan tien uur toptelevisie. De serie speelt zich op twee fronten af (de zaken die hij moet oplossen voor zijn werkgever en zijn eigen problemen) waardoor het in de eerste afleveringen wat wennen is aan de niet altijd eenvoudige verhaalstructuur. Eens je die onder de knie hebt dan heb je wederom een degelijke serie in handen van Showtime, dat na Weeds, Dexter en Homeland opnieuw een hit in zijn catalogus heeft (de pilot van Ray Donovan was zelfs een record voor de zender). Natuurlijk zijn er ook nog de vertolkingen van Liev Schreiber die je zonder twijfel kent uit de Scream-trilogie, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine en Salt. Dat Jon Voight, de ster uit Deliverance en de papa van Angelina Jolie kon acteren, dat wisten we natuurlijk al langer.

Op zowel de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra’s:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where’s Ray?

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan is uitgebracht op Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury