tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/11/2014 :  - Ray Donovan Season 1

Ray Donovan Season 1

MusicCD
21/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It was David Cronenberg who told us early this year in Maps To The Stars (perhaps the best film of 2014) that celebrities are people just like you and me with the same problems. The big difference of course is that every slip of a celebrity becomes fodder for journalists, so stars have an advantage if nobody knows about it.

If you have problems, and especially a lot of money, then Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is the right man to solve them. This employee of the law firm Goldman & Drexler calls himself the fixer. And yes, all of Los Angeles knows that he is the person to contact when you do not want to see your face on the cover of some magazine the day after.

As it is often the case with such figures, Ray is a great talker, but he fails to solve his own problems at home. While Donovan ensures that everything runs smoothly for rich families, his own personal life is a mess. His marriage with Abby (Paula Malcomson) is anything but flawless and his three brothers do not make it easy for him. His eldest brother Terry (Eddie Marsan) suffers from Parkinson's disease, while Brendan (Dash Mihok) likes to drink. The main problem arises when Ray's father, the gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), is released from prison after twenty years.

The first season of Ray Donovan offers the viewer more than ten hours of top television. The series plays on two fronts: the issues he needs to solve as an employee and his own problems. You really need time as is not always easy to get used to the sometimes complex story structures. After Weeds, Dexter and Homeland, Showtime has again a hit in its catalogue (the pilot of Ray Donovan was even a record). Of course, there is the splendid performance of Liev Schreiber who you know of the Scream-trilogy, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine and Salt. Of course we already knew that Jon Voight, the star of Deliverance and Angelina Jolie's dad, could act.

On both the DVD and Blu-ray you find these extras:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where's Ray?

The first season of Ray Donovan is released on Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


NL

Het was David Cronenberg die er ons begin dit jaar in Maps To The Stars (wellicht de beste film van 2014) op wees dat beroemdheden ook maar mensen zijn die net zoals jij en ik problemen hebben. Het grote verschil is natuurlijk dat elke misstap van een vedette voer voor riooljournalisten is, waardoor sterren erbij gebaat zijn dat het allemaal geheim blijft.

Indien je problemen hebt, en vooral ook veel poen, dan is Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) de geschikte man om die op te lossen. Hij noemt zichzelf de fixer van het advocatenbureau Goldman & Drexler. En jawel, heel Los Angeles weet dat hij de persoon is bij wie je moet aankloppen als je niet wil dat je gezicht de volgende dag op de cover van een boulevardblaadje staat.

Zoals dat wel vaker het geval is bij dergelijke figuren is Ray er ook eentje die het goed uit kan leggen, maar er thuis zelf niks van bakt. Terwijl hij ervoor zorgt dat alles bij de rijke families gesmeerd loopt, is zijn eigen privéleven een puinhoop. Zijn huwelijk met Abby (Paula Malcomson) kun je allesbehalve geslaagd noemen en ook zijn drie broers maken het hem niet echt gemakkelijk. Zijn oudste broer Terry (Eddie Marsan) lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, terwijl Brendan (Dash Mihok) graag aan de fles zit. De grootste probleem ontstaan als Ray’s vader, de gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), na twintig jaar uit de gevangenis wordt ontslagen.

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan biedt de kijker meer dan tien uur toptelevisie. De serie speelt zich op twee fronten af (de zaken die hij moet oplossen voor zijn werkgever en zijn eigen problemen) waardoor het in de eerste afleveringen wat wennen is aan de niet altijd eenvoudige verhaalstructuur. Eens je die onder de knie hebt dan heb je wederom een degelijke serie in handen van Showtime, dat na Weeds, Dexter en Homeland opnieuw een hit in zijn catalogus heeft (de pilot van Ray Donovan was zelfs een record voor de zender). Natuurlijk zijn er ook nog de vertolkingen van Liev Schreiber die je zonder twijfel kent uit de Scream-trilogie, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine en Salt. Dat Jon Voight, de ster uit Deliverance en de papa van Angelina Jolie kon acteren, dat wisten we natuurlijk al langer.

Op zowel de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra’s:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where’s Ray?

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan is uitgebracht op Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race
15
08
SIMON RAYMONDE (COCTEAU TWINS, LOST HORIZONS,SNOWBIRD...)
'I think the secret to it is never to try and force a relationship with someone...'

PHOTOS

20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners
14
09
ANATHEMA
A Natural Disaster (from A Sort of Homecoming)
13
09
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
09
PORTION CONTROL
LIVE @ SCHLAGSTROM - 2014