tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/11/2014 :  - Ray Donovan Season 1

Ray Donovan Season 1

MusicCD
21/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It was David Cronenberg who told us early this year in Maps To The Stars (perhaps the best film of 2014) that celebrities are people just like you and me with the same problems. The big difference of course is that every slip of a celebrity becomes fodder for journalists, so stars have an advantage if nobody knows about it.

If you have problems, and especially a lot of money, then Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is the right man to solve them. This employee of the law firm Goldman & Drexler calls himself the fixer. And yes, all of Los Angeles knows that he is the person to contact when you do not want to see your face on the cover of some magazine the day after.

As it is often the case with such figures, Ray is a great talker, but he fails to solve his own problems at home. While Donovan ensures that everything runs smoothly for rich families, his own personal life is a mess. His marriage with Abby (Paula Malcomson) is anything but flawless and his three brothers do not make it easy for him. His eldest brother Terry (Eddie Marsan) suffers from Parkinson's disease, while Brendan (Dash Mihok) likes to drink. The main problem arises when Ray's father, the gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), is released from prison after twenty years.

The first season of Ray Donovan offers the viewer more than ten hours of top television. The series plays on two fronts: the issues he needs to solve as an employee and his own problems. You really need time as is not always easy to get used to the sometimes complex story structures. After Weeds, Dexter and Homeland, Showtime has again a hit in its catalogue (the pilot of Ray Donovan was even a record). Of course, there is the splendid performance of Liev Schreiber who you know of the Scream-trilogy, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine and Salt. Of course we already knew that Jon Voight, the star of Deliverance and Angelina Jolie's dad, could act.

On both the DVD and Blu-ray you find these extras:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where's Ray?

The first season of Ray Donovan is released on Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


NL

Het was David Cronenberg die er ons begin dit jaar in Maps To The Stars (wellicht de beste film van 2014) op wees dat beroemdheden ook maar mensen zijn die net zoals jij en ik problemen hebben. Het grote verschil is natuurlijk dat elke misstap van een vedette voer voor riooljournalisten is, waardoor sterren erbij gebaat zijn dat het allemaal geheim blijft.

Indien je problemen hebt, en vooral ook veel poen, dan is Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) de geschikte man om die op te lossen. Hij noemt zichzelf de fixer van het advocatenbureau Goldman & Drexler. En jawel, heel Los Angeles weet dat hij de persoon is bij wie je moet aankloppen als je niet wil dat je gezicht de volgende dag op de cover van een boulevardblaadje staat.

Zoals dat wel vaker het geval is bij dergelijke figuren is Ray er ook eentje die het goed uit kan leggen, maar er thuis zelf niks van bakt. Terwijl hij ervoor zorgt dat alles bij de rijke families gesmeerd loopt, is zijn eigen privéleven een puinhoop. Zijn huwelijk met Abby (Paula Malcomson) kun je allesbehalve geslaagd noemen en ook zijn drie broers maken het hem niet echt gemakkelijk. Zijn oudste broer Terry (Eddie Marsan) lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, terwijl Brendan (Dash Mihok) graag aan de fles zit. De grootste probleem ontstaan als Ray’s vader, de gangster Mickey Donovan (Jon Voight), na twintig jaar uit de gevangenis wordt ontslagen.

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan biedt de kijker meer dan tien uur toptelevisie. De serie speelt zich op twee fronten af (de zaken die hij moet oplossen voor zijn werkgever en zijn eigen problemen) waardoor het in de eerste afleveringen wat wennen is aan de niet altijd eenvoudige verhaalstructuur. Eens je die onder de knie hebt dan heb je wederom een degelijke serie in handen van Showtime, dat na Weeds, Dexter en Homeland opnieuw een hit in zijn catalogus heeft (de pilot van Ray Donovan was zelfs een record voor de zender). Natuurlijk zijn er ook nog de vertolkingen van Liev Schreiber die je zonder twijfel kent uit de Scream-trilogie, The Sum of All Fears, X-Men Origins: Wolverine en Salt. Dat Jon Voight, de ster uit Deliverance en de papa van Angelina Jolie kon acteren, dat wisten we natuurlijk al langer.

Op zowel de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra’s:

Episode 1: Dissecting a scene
The Way Ray runs a Meeting
The Way Ray Breaks
Video Diary with Pooch Hall: Part 1 & 2
Hanging with Jon Voight
Kate Moennig Fan Questions
Hand to Hand, Fist to Fist
Dressing Ray Donovan
Where’s Ray?

Het eerste seizoen van Ray Donovan is uitgebracht op Universal.

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)