tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars

DAVID CRONENBERG

CINEMA: Maps To The Stars

MovieCinema
Arthouse 04/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

By the time you read this, you can visit the exhibition about David Cronenberg in the Amsterdam-based EYE. It’s an event that underlines the fact that the Canadian filmmaker is one of the most innovating persons who stood behind a camera. If the big audience understood this talent is another matter as two hands were enough to count the visitors in the theatre for his newest masterpiece Map To The Stars. That’s a sad fact, especially because Map To The Stars is one of the best movies from 2014 and if not, then it’s definitely the movie that kicks the human mind the hardest!

Just like Paul Schrader did last year with the very underrated The Canyons, Cronenberg (with the help from screenwriter Bruce Wagner) smashes the Hollywooddream to pieces. Nothing from the glamour is left. What remains is a bunch of sad people who are addicted to drugs, are prepared to humiliate themselves and whose life is in big contrast with the dream that they daily perform.

It takes a while before the viewer understands the role of all the strange personages that shows up in the picture. But once the puzzle is finished, Cronenberg is offering the viewer a genius psychological drama that is characterized by dark humour. You’ll be rolling across the floor because of the mean situations the stars are involved in, but at the same time you’re deeply ashamed that these people are part of humankind. Cronenberg is very hard, he doesn’t care to destroy the city that made his artform famous. All what remains is the empty (but attractive) box that tinseltown is.

Just like always Cronenberg knows very well how to take everything out of his actors. So watch out for brilliant performances by Julianne Moore (who gets every day more and more sexier!), Mia Wasikowska who once again proves she’s a great new talent, John Cusack who deserves more than the inferior B-movies he’s currently getting offered and of course Robert Pattinson who already showed the world in Cronenbergs previous movie (Cosmopolis) that there is life after Twilight.

Prepare yourself for the unexpected, or just prepare yourself for another Cronenberg-ride. Maps To The Stars is now out the theatres. Recommended!

Didier BECU
04/08/2014


NL

Momenteel kan je in het Amsterdamse EYE de expositie over David Cronenberg bekijken. Terecht, want deze Canadees is ongetwijfeld één van de meest innoverende mensen die ooit achter een camera hebben gestaan. Of het brede publiek dat talent heeft begrepen is een andere vraag, want tijdens de vertoning van zijn nieuwste meesterwerk Map To The Stars volstonden twee handen om het aantal bezoekers in de zaal te tellen. Foei, want Map To The Stars is misschien wel de beste film van 2014 geworden. En als hij dat niet is, dan zeker degene die het menselijke geweten het hardst een schop probeert te geven.

Net zoals veteraan Paul Schrader dat vorig jaar in de schandalig onderschatte The Canyons deed, tovert nu ook Cronenberg (met de hulp van scenarist Bruce Wagner) een beeld van Hollywood uit zijn mouw waarin alle glamour is verdwenen. Wat overblijft is een hoopje zielige mensen die hopeloos aan de drugs hangen, bereid zijn om zichzelf te vernederen en een leven leiden dat mijlenver van de droom staat die zij dagelijks vertolken.

Het duurt wel een tijdje vooraleer de kijker door heeft wat de rol is van de vele vreemde personages in het verhaal, maar eens de puzzelstukjes zijn gelegd, trakteert Cronenberg hem op een geniaal psychologisch drama dat vol zwarte humor zit. Je zit om de haverklap te bulderen om de brutale humor, ook al weet je dat je je tegelijkertijd als mens diep moet schamen. Cronenberg schopt alle heilige Hollywoodhuisjes omver en wat overblijft is de fameuze lege (maar o zo attractieve) lege doos die tinseltown is.

Cronenberg weet zoals altijd het beste uit zijn acteurs te halen. Nu ook weer zijn er briljante vertolkingen van Julianne Moore (die sexier met de dag wordt!), Mia Wasikowska die nog maar eens bevestigt, John Cusack die meer verdient dan de aftandse B-films waarvoor hij tegenwoordig wordt gevraagd en Robert Pattinson die ook al in Cronenbergs voorgaande film (Cosmopolis) aantoonde dat er beslist leven is na Twilight.

Bereid je voor op het onverwachte, of bereid je gewoon voor op een Cronenberg. Maps To The Stars loopt nu in de bios. Niet te missen.

Didier BECU
04/08/2014


04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars 04/08/2014 : DAVID CRONENBERG - CINEMA: Maps To The Stars

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock