tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

18/09/2015 : KIM WILDE - Kim Wilde

KIM WILDE

Kim Wilde

MusicAlbum Classics
New wavePop

[92/100]   

Cherry Pop
18/09/2015, Didier BECU

Kim Wilde? Yes, Kim Wilde! Of course she was the hottest blonde of the 80s (sorry, Sharon Stone!), but she also made some genius stuff that is often forgotten. And besides, can you imagine the 80s without her? No, you easily can skip Glenn Medeiros, but not the daughter of 50's rocker Marty Wilde, who made all boys’ hearts go mad.

Her debut (that was later reissued on Cherry Red, but originally available on RAK) was a complete family affair. All tracks were written by her father and brother Ricky, who also produced the album.

It’s hard to categorize Kim Wilde. You can say she’s a British version of Debbie Harry, but in the end Kim is just Kim. The album was of course a bestseller because of Kids In America (an excellent song that is just too much played on the radio), but it’s more than that!

I remember that as a kid, apart from staring at the cover, I kept on playing the B-side from her N°1 hit. Tuning in Tuning On was indeed something completely different, a touch of new wave, even a bit industrial! The second single Chequered Love had the same Joan Jett rock sound as Kids In America had, but the other songs were a complete different matter!

Water On Glass almost sound like XTC (the band, not the drug) with sex, Our Town like a Marlon Brando rebel song (again with sex, but the whole album just sounds sexy!) and You’ll Never Be So Wrong probably the best 80’s pop tune that is never played. And yes, I admit, 2-6-5-8-0 is pure crap. If you find this at some flea market (and you will!), buy and rediscover Kim’s beauty. That also includes her music! 

Didier BECU
18/09/2015


Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]