tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/09/2015 : S4 - Cold Duck

S4

Cold Duck

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazz
Monotype records
18/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

 S4 is a group of four soprano saxophone players. They are together since 2010 and debuted at the Zoom-In festival for improvised music that same year. The only other time I did a soprano quartet was in 1987, says founding member John Butler, and so it was time for an update! After studying at the University of Surrey, Butler made conventional jazz and from there he moved towards freer forms, to improvised music, for which he experimented with amplifiers and overdubbing.

The album Cold Duck is the result of the collaboration between Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch and Urs Leimgruber: four soprano saxophones in dialogue with one another; sometimes melodious, but mostly weird sound compositions with an improvised structure. No melodies in the classical sense. This is a discussion at a high intellectual level and that's fodder for a mature audience that is limited to the small circle of jazz aficionados. The sound pattern is relatively smooth and monotonous, which means that the uninitiated will hardly find their way in the material.

In jazz circles Cold Duck gets good reviews and so we may assume that this is an excellent album, that we like to bring to the attention of those who are interested in the genre.

Tracklist:
1.I
2.II
3.III
4.IV
5.V
6.VI
7.VII
8.VIII
9.IX

youtube.com/watch?v=tlgr5VPiSr8
soundcloud.com/monotyperec/s4-cold-duck-mono096-preview

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


NL

S4 is een gezelschap van vier sopraansaxofoonspelers dat sinds 2010 muziek maakt. De Brit John Butler geldt een beetje als de bezieler van het kwartet waarmee hij op het Zoom In-festival voor geïmproviseerde muziek in datzelfde jaar debuteerde. Het is van 1987 geleden dat ik nog iets dergelijks deed, zegt hij daarover, en dus was het tijd voor een update! Na zijn studies aan de universiteit van Surrey begon Butler conventionele jazz te maken en vandaar evolueerde hij naar vrijere vormen, naar geïmproviseerde muziek, waarvoor hij experimenteerde met versterkers en overdubbings.

Op Cold Duck hoort u het resultaat van de samenwerking tussen Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch en Urs Leimgruber: vier sopraansaxofoons die met elkaar in dialoog treden en soms welluidende, maar meestal bizarre geluidscomposities afleveren met een geïmproviseerde structuur. Van melodieën is zo goed als geen sprake, dit is een discussie op hoog intellectueel niveau en dat is voer voor een geroutineerd publiek dat zich wellicht beperkt tot de kleine kring van jazz-liefhebbers. Het klankpatroon is vrij egaal en dat betekent dat er sprake is van een vrij monotoon klankbeeld waarin de niet ingewijde nauwelijks zijn weg vindt.

In de jazz-pers krijgt Cold Duck goede kritieken en dus mogen we ervan uitgaan dat het hier om een uitstekend album gaat dat we graag onder de aandacht brengen van wie interesse heeft voor het genre.

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


 

Next reviews
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
JAMES MCBAIN • Nephilim/Raven (7inch)
DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD • Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015
SINEAD O'CONNOR • The Foggy Dew
ISBELLS • Billy
ROSE MCDOWALL • Cut With The Cake Knife
FICTION 8 • Dark Star Disarray
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + JAZZ
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
SATAN IS MY BROTHER • A Forest Dark
KRENG • Grimoire
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself