tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/09/2015 : S4 - Cold Duck

S4

Cold Duck

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazz
Monotype records
18/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

 S4 is a group of four soprano saxophone players. They are together since 2010 and debuted at the Zoom-In festival for improvised music that same year. The only other time I did a soprano quartet was in 1987, says founding member John Butler, and so it was time for an update! After studying at the University of Surrey, Butler made conventional jazz and from there he moved towards freer forms, to improvised music, for which he experimented with amplifiers and overdubbing.

The album Cold Duck is the result of the collaboration between Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch and Urs Leimgruber: four soprano saxophones in dialogue with one another; sometimes melodious, but mostly weird sound compositions with an improvised structure. No melodies in the classical sense. This is a discussion at a high intellectual level and that's fodder for a mature audience that is limited to the small circle of jazz aficionados. The sound pattern is relatively smooth and monotonous, which means that the uninitiated will hardly find their way in the material.

In jazz circles Cold Duck gets good reviews and so we may assume that this is an excellent album, that we like to bring to the attention of those who are interested in the genre.

Tracklist:
1.I
2.II
3.III
4.IV
5.V
6.VI
7.VII
8.VIII
9.IX

youtube.com/watch?v=tlgr5VPiSr8
soundcloud.com/monotyperec/s4-cold-duck-mono096-preview

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


NL

S4 is een gezelschap van vier sopraansaxofoonspelers dat sinds 2010 muziek maakt. De Brit John Butler geldt een beetje als de bezieler van het kwartet waarmee hij op het Zoom In-festival voor geïmproviseerde muziek in datzelfde jaar debuteerde. Het is van 1987 geleden dat ik nog iets dergelijks deed, zegt hij daarover, en dus was het tijd voor een update! Na zijn studies aan de universiteit van Surrey begon Butler conventionele jazz te maken en vandaar evolueerde hij naar vrijere vormen, naar geïmproviseerde muziek, waarvoor hij experimenteerde met versterkers en overdubbings.

Op Cold Duck hoort u het resultaat van de samenwerking tussen Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch en Urs Leimgruber: vier sopraansaxofoons die met elkaar in dialoog treden en soms welluidende, maar meestal bizarre geluidscomposities afleveren met een geïmproviseerde structuur. Van melodieën is zo goed als geen sprake, dit is een discussie op hoog intellectueel niveau en dat is voer voor een geroutineerd publiek dat zich wellicht beperkt tot de kleine kring van jazz-liefhebbers. Het klankpatroon is vrij egaal en dat betekent dat er sprake is van een vrij monotoon klankbeeld waarin de niet ingewijde nauwelijks zijn weg vindt.

In de jazz-pers krijgt Cold Duck goede kritieken en dus mogen we ervan uitgaan dat het hier om een uitstekend album gaat dat we graag onder de aandacht brengen van wie interesse heeft voor het genre.

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


 

Next reviews
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
JAMES MCBAIN • Nephilim/Raven (7inch)
DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD • Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015
SINEAD O'CONNOR • The Foggy Dew
ISBELLS • Billy
ROSE MCDOWALL • Cut With The Cake Knife
FICTION 8 • Dark Star Disarray
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + JAZZ
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
SATAN IS MY BROTHER • A Forest Dark
KRENG • Grimoire
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland