tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

GURGUBUREK

Old Postcards

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNoise

[70/100]   

DOF
05/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Gurguburek, it sounds a bit like the bubbling of water in a clogged sink, but fortunately, the album Old Postcards sounds completely different, although the press release decribes Cristiano Bocci (electronics, acoustic guitar, theremin) and Tobia Bondesan (tenor saxophone, flute) as "... an extreme and cacophonous duo...". The six compositions on Old Postcards are improvisations, in which guitar and saxophone sounds are combined with electronics and samples. Because of the presence of a tenor saxophone, the tracks sound very jazzy, but also very experimental and chaotic, for there is no question of any preconceived structure.

Santa Barbara is a tribute to the forty-three workers who died in the mine explosion in Ribolla (Italy) on May 4, 1954, and by extension it is a tribute to the miners everywhere and at all times, according to the press release. While listening to the track, one has the impression of hearing collapsing mine shafts, the fire and then the blowing dust, while the desperate men are seeking a way out. Chaos and cacophony, how else would you give voice to such an event?

Apart from that, it is of course the question why you would pick up the album? Granted, there are melodic fragments between the sometimes bizarre and alienating soundscapes, and at times, the saxophone, the guitar and electronics create an interesting atmosphere. Moreover, the whole sounds exciting and often convincing. But it remains a difficult exercise that will particularly interest the fans of jazz and modernist experiments. We can imagine Old Postcards as a soundtrack in an art gallery, where work by Cobra and Zero is shown, or the Cubists and contemporary experimental artists. No, Old Postcards is no muzak, but it definitely is no album for the masses. But listen for yourself.

Tracklist:
1. Into the Storm
2. Dead Frogs in the Road
3. God Save the Sax
4. Santa Barbara
5. Across the Deserts of Persia
6. Ballad for a Ghost Town

https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/across-the-deserts-of-persia
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/ballad-for-a-ghost-town

http://doflabel.com/releases/oldpostcards/oldpostcards.htm
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/album/old-postcards

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


NL

Gurguburek, het klinkt een beetje als het borrelen van water in een verstopte gootsteen, maar zo klinkt het album Old Postcards niet echt, alhoewel het persbericht de tandem Cristiano Bocci (elektronica, akoestische gitaar, theremin) en Tobia Bondesan (tenorsaxofoon, fluit) wel degelijk omschrijft als een “… extreem en kakofonisch duo…”. De zes composities op Old Postcards zijn improvisaties waarin gitaargeluid en saxofoon gecombineerd worden met elektronica en samples. Wegens de aanwezigheid van een tenorsaxofoon, klinkt het allemaal heel jazzy, maar tegelijk ook heel experimenteel en chaotisch, want van enige vooropgezette structuur is geen sprake.

Santa Barbara is geschreven als een eerbetoon aan de drieënveertig werknemers die omkwamen in de mijnexplosie in Ribolla (Italië) op 4 mei 1954 en bij uitbreiding aan de mijnwerkers van overal en van alle tijden, aldus de perstekst, en tijdens het beluisteren heb je meermaals de indruk dat je de mijnschachten hoort instorten, het vuur hoort oplaaien en vervolgens de stofwolken ziet opstuiven terwijl de radeloze mannen een uitweg zoeken. Chaos en kakofonie dus, hoe zou je anders een dergelijk gebeuren verklanken?

Afgezien daarvan is het uiteraard de vraag waarom je het album in huis zou halen? Toegegeven, er zitten melodische fragmenten tussen de soms bizarre en vervreemdende soundscapes en de saxofoon, de gitaar en de electronics creëren bij momenten ook een interessante atmosfeer. Bovendien klinkt het geheel vaak spannend en overtuigend. Maar het blijft een moeilijke oefening die eerder fans van jazz en modernistische experimenten zal interesseren. Wij kunnen ons Old Postcards voorstellen achter soundtrack in een kunstgalerie, waar werk van Cobra of Zero wordt getoond, van de Kubisten of van hedendaagse experimentele kunstenaars. Waarmee we niet willen beweren dat Old Postcards het label muzak verdient, maar wel dat dit geen spek is voor ieders bek. Maar luistert u vooral zelf.

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards 05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

 

Next reviews
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS