tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

GURGUBUREK

Old Postcards

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNoise

[70/100]   

DOF
05/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Gurguburek, it sounds a bit like the bubbling of water in a clogged sink, but fortunately, the album Old Postcards sounds completely different, although the press release decribes Cristiano Bocci (electronics, acoustic guitar, theremin) and Tobia Bondesan (tenor saxophone, flute) as "... an extreme and cacophonous duo...". The six compositions on Old Postcards are improvisations, in which guitar and saxophone sounds are combined with electronics and samples. Because of the presence of a tenor saxophone, the tracks sound very jazzy, but also very experimental and chaotic, for there is no question of any preconceived structure.

Santa Barbara is a tribute to the forty-three workers who died in the mine explosion in Ribolla (Italy) on May 4, 1954, and by extension it is a tribute to the miners everywhere and at all times, according to the press release. While listening to the track, one has the impression of hearing collapsing mine shafts, the fire and then the blowing dust, while the desperate men are seeking a way out. Chaos and cacophony, how else would you give voice to such an event?

Apart from that, it is of course the question why you would pick up the album? Granted, there are melodic fragments between the sometimes bizarre and alienating soundscapes, and at times, the saxophone, the guitar and electronics create an interesting atmosphere. Moreover, the whole sounds exciting and often convincing. But it remains a difficult exercise that will particularly interest the fans of jazz and modernist experiments. We can imagine Old Postcards as a soundtrack in an art gallery, where work by Cobra and Zero is shown, or the Cubists and contemporary experimental artists. No, Old Postcards is no muzak, but it definitely is no album for the masses. But listen for yourself.

Tracklist:
1. Into the Storm
2. Dead Frogs in the Road
3. God Save the Sax
4. Santa Barbara
5. Across the Deserts of Persia
6. Ballad for a Ghost Town

https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/across-the-deserts-of-persia
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/ballad-for-a-ghost-town

http://doflabel.com/releases/oldpostcards/oldpostcards.htm
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/album/old-postcards

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


NL

Gurguburek, het klinkt een beetje als het borrelen van water in een verstopte gootsteen, maar zo klinkt het album Old Postcards niet echt, alhoewel het persbericht de tandem Cristiano Bocci (elektronica, akoestische gitaar, theremin) en Tobia Bondesan (tenorsaxofoon, fluit) wel degelijk omschrijft als een “… extreem en kakofonisch duo…”. De zes composities op Old Postcards zijn improvisaties waarin gitaargeluid en saxofoon gecombineerd worden met elektronica en samples. Wegens de aanwezigheid van een tenorsaxofoon, klinkt het allemaal heel jazzy, maar tegelijk ook heel experimenteel en chaotisch, want van enige vooropgezette structuur is geen sprake.

Santa Barbara is geschreven als een eerbetoon aan de drieënveertig werknemers die omkwamen in de mijnexplosie in Ribolla (Italië) op 4 mei 1954 en bij uitbreiding aan de mijnwerkers van overal en van alle tijden, aldus de perstekst, en tijdens het beluisteren heb je meermaals de indruk dat je de mijnschachten hoort instorten, het vuur hoort oplaaien en vervolgens de stofwolken ziet opstuiven terwijl de radeloze mannen een uitweg zoeken. Chaos en kakofonie dus, hoe zou je anders een dergelijk gebeuren verklanken?

Afgezien daarvan is het uiteraard de vraag waarom je het album in huis zou halen? Toegegeven, er zitten melodische fragmenten tussen de soms bizarre en vervreemdende soundscapes en de saxofoon, de gitaar en de electronics creëren bij momenten ook een interessante atmosfeer. Bovendien klinkt het geheel vaak spannend en overtuigend. Maar het blijft een moeilijke oefening die eerder fans van jazz en modernistische experimenten zal interesseren. Wij kunnen ons Old Postcards voorstellen achter soundtrack in een kunstgalerie, waar werk van Cobra of Zero wordt getoond, van de Kubisten of van hedendaagse experimentele kunstenaars. Waarmee we niet willen beweren dat Old Postcards het label muzak verdient, maar wel dat dit geen spek is voor ieders bek. Maar luistert u vooral zelf.

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards 05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

 

Next reviews
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL