tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

GURGUBUREK

Old Postcards

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNoise

[70/100]   

DOF
05/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Gurguburek, it sounds a bit like the bubbling of water in a clogged sink, but fortunately, the album Old Postcards sounds completely different, although the press release decribes Cristiano Bocci (electronics, acoustic guitar, theremin) and Tobia Bondesan (tenor saxophone, flute) as "... an extreme and cacophonous duo...". The six compositions on Old Postcards are improvisations, in which guitar and saxophone sounds are combined with electronics and samples. Because of the presence of a tenor saxophone, the tracks sound very jazzy, but also very experimental and chaotic, for there is no question of any preconceived structure.

Santa Barbara is a tribute to the forty-three workers who died in the mine explosion in Ribolla (Italy) on May 4, 1954, and by extension it is a tribute to the miners everywhere and at all times, according to the press release. While listening to the track, one has the impression of hearing collapsing mine shafts, the fire and then the blowing dust, while the desperate men are seeking a way out. Chaos and cacophony, how else would you give voice to such an event?

Apart from that, it is of course the question why you would pick up the album? Granted, there are melodic fragments between the sometimes bizarre and alienating soundscapes, and at times, the saxophone, the guitar and electronics create an interesting atmosphere. Moreover, the whole sounds exciting and often convincing. But it remains a difficult exercise that will particularly interest the fans of jazz and modernist experiments. We can imagine Old Postcards as a soundtrack in an art gallery, where work by Cobra and Zero is shown, or the Cubists and contemporary experimental artists. No, Old Postcards is no muzak, but it definitely is no album for the masses. But listen for yourself.

Tracklist:
1. Into the Storm
2. Dead Frogs in the Road
3. God Save the Sax
4. Santa Barbara
5. Across the Deserts of Persia
6. Ballad for a Ghost Town

https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/across-the-deserts-of-persia
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/ballad-for-a-ghost-town

http://doflabel.com/releases/oldpostcards/oldpostcards.htm
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/album/old-postcards

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


NL

Gurguburek, het klinkt een beetje als het borrelen van water in een verstopte gootsteen, maar zo klinkt het album Old Postcards niet echt, alhoewel het persbericht de tandem Cristiano Bocci (elektronica, akoestische gitaar, theremin) en Tobia Bondesan (tenorsaxofoon, fluit) wel degelijk omschrijft als een “… extreem en kakofonisch duo…”. De zes composities op Old Postcards zijn improvisaties waarin gitaargeluid en saxofoon gecombineerd worden met elektronica en samples. Wegens de aanwezigheid van een tenorsaxofoon, klinkt het allemaal heel jazzy, maar tegelijk ook heel experimenteel en chaotisch, want van enige vooropgezette structuur is geen sprake.

Santa Barbara is geschreven als een eerbetoon aan de drieënveertig werknemers die omkwamen in de mijnexplosie in Ribolla (Italië) op 4 mei 1954 en bij uitbreiding aan de mijnwerkers van overal en van alle tijden, aldus de perstekst, en tijdens het beluisteren heb je meermaals de indruk dat je de mijnschachten hoort instorten, het vuur hoort oplaaien en vervolgens de stofwolken ziet opstuiven terwijl de radeloze mannen een uitweg zoeken. Chaos en kakofonie dus, hoe zou je anders een dergelijk gebeuren verklanken?

Afgezien daarvan is het uiteraard de vraag waarom je het album in huis zou halen? Toegegeven, er zitten melodische fragmenten tussen de soms bizarre en vervreemdende soundscapes en de saxofoon, de gitaar en de electronics creëren bij momenten ook een interessante atmosfeer. Bovendien klinkt het geheel vaak spannend en overtuigend. Maar het blijft een moeilijke oefening die eerder fans van jazz en modernistische experimenten zal interesseren. Wij kunnen ons Old Postcards voorstellen achter soundtrack in een kunstgalerie, waar werk van Cobra of Zero wordt getoond, van de Kubisten of van hedendaagse experimentele kunstenaars. Waarmee we niet willen beweren dat Old Postcards het label muzak verdient, maar wel dat dit geen spek is voor ieders bek. Maar luistert u vooral zelf.

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

 

Next reviews
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
ONMENS • Witruimte

Music reviews

17
07
THE ART OF NOISE
In Visible Silence
15
07
KRAFTWERK
3-D Catalogue
13
07
DER PLAN
Unkapitulierbar
11
07
PENGUIN CAFE
The Imperfect Sea
09
07
PIG
Prey & Obey (EP)
05
07
SPECTRA PARIS
Retromachine Betty

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
07
INFEST 2017 LINE-UP COMPLETE with DIE KRUPPS & They Called him Zone!
20
07
BLACK LINE, the new (EBM) all - star band featuring Nitzer Ebb's Douglas McCarthy & Bon Harris!
19
07
Industrial Goth/Rock band PORN is back with their third album : The Ogre inside
18
07
New single from Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin’ online!
18
07
Tuxedomoon's bassist and co-composer, Peter Principle Dachert, died at the age of 63
17
07
Hot town - amphi in the city - part 3 final (PARTY / VARIOUS)

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA / SPECTRA*PARIS)
I can in total freedom listen to Joy Division, SPK, Muse and Britney Spears...
12
07
NYTT LAND
‘OUR MAIN SOURCES OF INSPIRATION ARE THE SIBERIAN NATURE’
10
07
LIFELESS PAST
'In October 2017 we are going on our first international tour. We are going for 10 days to California in October. We will play in L.A., Oakland, San Francisco and San Diego.'
16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’

PHOTOS

02
07
COVENANT
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
02
07
MILDREDA
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
07
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
23
07
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE
21
07
PSYCHE
Eternal
20
07
BLACK LINE
Snap
19
07
BLONDIE
Long Time
18
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
17
07
XOTOX
Eisenkiller