tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

GURGUBUREK

Old Postcards

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazzNoise

[70/100]   

DOF
05/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Gurguburek, it sounds a bit like the bubbling of water in a clogged sink, but fortunately, the album Old Postcards sounds completely different, although the press release decribes Cristiano Bocci (electronics, acoustic guitar, theremin) and Tobia Bondesan (tenor saxophone, flute) as "... an extreme and cacophonous duo...". The six compositions on Old Postcards are improvisations, in which guitar and saxophone sounds are combined with electronics and samples. Because of the presence of a tenor saxophone, the tracks sound very jazzy, but also very experimental and chaotic, for there is no question of any preconceived structure.

Santa Barbara is a tribute to the forty-three workers who died in the mine explosion in Ribolla (Italy) on May 4, 1954, and by extension it is a tribute to the miners everywhere and at all times, according to the press release. While listening to the track, one has the impression of hearing collapsing mine shafts, the fire and then the blowing dust, while the desperate men are seeking a way out. Chaos and cacophony, how else would you give voice to such an event?

Apart from that, it is of course the question why you would pick up the album? Granted, there are melodic fragments between the sometimes bizarre and alienating soundscapes, and at times, the saxophone, the guitar and electronics create an interesting atmosphere. Moreover, the whole sounds exciting and often convincing. But it remains a difficult exercise that will particularly interest the fans of jazz and modernist experiments. We can imagine Old Postcards as a soundtrack in an art gallery, where work by Cobra and Zero is shown, or the Cubists and contemporary experimental artists. No, Old Postcards is no muzak, but it definitely is no album for the masses. But listen for yourself.

Tracklist:
1. Into the Storm
2. Dead Frogs in the Road
3. God Save the Sax
4. Santa Barbara
5. Across the Deserts of Persia
6. Ballad for a Ghost Town

https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/across-the-deserts-of-persia
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/track/ballad-for-a-ghost-town

http://doflabel.com/releases/oldpostcards/oldpostcards.htm
https://doflabel.bandcamp.com/album/old-postcards

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


NL

Gurguburek, het klinkt een beetje als het borrelen van water in een verstopte gootsteen, maar zo klinkt het album Old Postcards niet echt, alhoewel het persbericht de tandem Cristiano Bocci (elektronica, akoestische gitaar, theremin) en Tobia Bondesan (tenorsaxofoon, fluit) wel degelijk omschrijft als een “… extreem en kakofonisch duo…”. De zes composities op Old Postcards zijn improvisaties waarin gitaargeluid en saxofoon gecombineerd worden met elektronica en samples. Wegens de aanwezigheid van een tenorsaxofoon, klinkt het allemaal heel jazzy, maar tegelijk ook heel experimenteel en chaotisch, want van enige vooropgezette structuur is geen sprake.

Santa Barbara is geschreven als een eerbetoon aan de drieënveertig werknemers die omkwamen in de mijnexplosie in Ribolla (Italië) op 4 mei 1954 en bij uitbreiding aan de mijnwerkers van overal en van alle tijden, aldus de perstekst, en tijdens het beluisteren heb je meermaals de indruk dat je de mijnschachten hoort instorten, het vuur hoort oplaaien en vervolgens de stofwolken ziet opstuiven terwijl de radeloze mannen een uitweg zoeken. Chaos en kakofonie dus, hoe zou je anders een dergelijk gebeuren verklanken?

Afgezien daarvan is het uiteraard de vraag waarom je het album in huis zou halen? Toegegeven, er zitten melodische fragmenten tussen de soms bizarre en vervreemdende soundscapes en de saxofoon, de gitaar en de electronics creëren bij momenten ook een interessante atmosfeer. Bovendien klinkt het geheel vaak spannend en overtuigend. Maar het blijft een moeilijke oefening die eerder fans van jazz en modernistische experimenten zal interesseren. Wij kunnen ons Old Postcards voorstellen achter soundtrack in een kunstgalerie, waar werk van Cobra of Zero wordt getoond, van de Kubisten of van hedendaagse experimentele kunstenaars. Waarmee we niet willen beweren dat Old Postcards het label muzak verdient, maar wel dat dit geen spek is voor ieders bek. Maar luistert u vooral zelf.

William LIÉNARD
05/11/2015


05/11/2015 : GURGUBUREK - Old Postcards

 

Next reviews
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

Music reviews

24
09
MOGWAI
Every Country's Sun
22
09
CULT WITH NO NAME
Heir Of The Dog
20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
THE WEATHERMEN
The inside story of how The Weathermen's big hit 'Poison' was made...
19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs

PHOTOS

25
09
ASH CODE
Electrowerkz, London, UK
24
09
HONEYMOON COWBOYS
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
DA GEIST
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
GROUND NERO
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
SYGO CRIES
Liege New Wave Festival
24
09
HERMETIC ELECTRIC
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
24
09
DIE KRUPPS
Isolation
23
09
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
09
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
21
09
THE CURE
The Lovecats
20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love