tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/05/2011 : M. OSTERMEIER - The Rules of Another Small World

M. OSTERMEIER

The Rules of Another Small World

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalJazzNeoclassical

[71/100]   
03/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Does someone remember all those brilliant records which have been released in the Made To Measure-series?

Somewhere you could say it was neoclassical with a dark touch and it was exactly that feeling I got when I heard the cd by the American composer M. Ostermeier.

This man is a bit known (in a manner of speaking) in the underground as he is the co-founder from the Words On Music-label and you also can find him in the band Should.

The solo work that Mr. M. Ostermeier is releasing can be best described as some weird mixture from electro-acoustic, neo-classical, jazz, ambient and drone.

By this, “The rules of another small world” became a breathtaking experimental piece in where the piano was making it all a bit melodic though.

A tip for anyone who likes neo-classical stuff with an experimental touch.

Take also a look at the cover from the cd which shows a picture from the desolate Taiwanese San-Zhr Pod Village.


M. Ostermeier

Didier BECU
03/05/2011


NL

Herinnert er zich nog iemand die mooie platen die ooit uitgebracht werden onder de noemer Made To Measure? Het was grotendeels rustgevende neoklassieke muziek met tegelijk een donker kantje en het was net dat gevoel die ik kreeg toen ik de cd van de Amerikaan M. Ostermeier in mijn handen kreeg.

Hij is in de undergroundwereld een beetje bekend (nou ja) omdat hij naast medeoprichter van het Words On Music-label ook nog eens lid is van de groep Should is.

Voor zijn solowerk nam de heer M. Ostermeier echter allerlei elementen van electro-akoestiek, neoklassiek, jazz, ambient en drone samen. Met deze mengeling werd tegelijkertijd “The rules of another small world” een beklijvend werkje waar je experimentele muziek hoort dat weliswaar door allerlei mooie pianoklanken melodisch overkomt.

Een zeer beklijvend werkje en aan te raden voor éénieder die van neoklassiek met een experimenteel tintje houdt.

Let ook eens op de hoes die een Taiwans dorpje, San-Zhr Pod, toont.

 

M. Ostermeier

Didier BECU
03/05/2011


 

Next reviews
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions
FABIO ORSI • Wo ist Behle?
MERZBOW & BALAZS PANDI • Live at Fluc Wanne, Vienna 2010/05/18
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Mohalepte

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
MOTOR!K • 4
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure