tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/05/2011 : M. OSTERMEIER - The Rules of Another Small World

M. OSTERMEIER

The Rules of Another Small World

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalJazzNeoclassical

[71/100]   
03/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Does someone remember all those brilliant records which have been released in the Made To Measure-series?

Somewhere you could say it was neoclassical with a dark touch and it was exactly that feeling I got when I heard the cd by the American composer M. Ostermeier.

This man is a bit known (in a manner of speaking) in the underground as he is the co-founder from the Words On Music-label and you also can find him in the band Should.

The solo work that Mr. M. Ostermeier is releasing can be best described as some weird mixture from electro-acoustic, neo-classical, jazz, ambient and drone.

By this, “The rules of another small world” became a breathtaking experimental piece in where the piano was making it all a bit melodic though.

A tip for anyone who likes neo-classical stuff with an experimental touch.

Take also a look at the cover from the cd which shows a picture from the desolate Taiwanese San-Zhr Pod Village.


M. Ostermeier

Didier BECU
03/05/2011


NL

Herinnert er zich nog iemand die mooie platen die ooit uitgebracht werden onder de noemer Made To Measure? Het was grotendeels rustgevende neoklassieke muziek met tegelijk een donker kantje en het was net dat gevoel die ik kreeg toen ik de cd van de Amerikaan M. Ostermeier in mijn handen kreeg.

Hij is in de undergroundwereld een beetje bekend (nou ja) omdat hij naast medeoprichter van het Words On Music-label ook nog eens lid is van de groep Should is.

Voor zijn solowerk nam de heer M. Ostermeier echter allerlei elementen van electro-akoestiek, neoklassiek, jazz, ambient en drone samen. Met deze mengeling werd tegelijkertijd “The rules of another small world” een beklijvend werkje waar je experimentele muziek hoort dat weliswaar door allerlei mooie pianoklanken melodisch overkomt.

Een zeer beklijvend werkje en aan te raden voor éénieder die van neoklassiek met een experimenteel tintje houdt.

Let ook eens op de hoes die een Taiwans dorpje, San-Zhr Pod, toont.

 

M. Ostermeier

Didier BECU
03/05/2011


 

Next reviews
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked
ANTAL SZERB • The Pendragon Legend | De Pendragonlegende
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Interplay
PAUL CHAMBERS • Stations/Absorptions
FABIO ORSI • Wo ist Behle?
MERZBOW & BALAZS PANDI • Live at Fluc Wanne, Vienna 2010/05/18
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Mohalepte

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'
13
01
The Weathermen have remastered and released their live backing track instrumentals!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.
22
12
MICHAEL MCKEEGAN
'We had to approach the songs in a different manner.'

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number