tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

03/05/2011 : CULT OF YOUTH - Cult of Youth

CULT OF YOUTH

Cult of Youth

MusicVinyl
Folk / Ethnic / Tribal

[71/100]   
03/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Neo-folk, American style.

Cult of Youth is a former solo-project of multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sean Ragon from Brooklyn (NY). In the recent past Sean gathered some fine musicians around him and “Cult of Youth” is the first album they made as a band. It was released in 2010 by Sacred Bones Records.

Cult of Youth is one of the first American bands to play this kind of music. Their sound? Expect a tormented voice, wonderful violin playing by Christiana Key and acoustic guitars.

The website of Sacred Bones Records states that “Cult of Youth” is a “neo-folk masterpiece”. This is somewhat exaggerated, but fans of Sol Invictus, Current 93 and Death In June probably won’t regret buying this album. It seems to get better the more you listen to it, also a plus.

My favourite songs? Starter “New West”, a song about exploring new (personal) horizons, “Lorelei” and the powerful “Lace Up Your Boots”, a song about dealing with your problems and getting on with your life.

Didier PIETERS
03/05/2011


NL

Neo-folk op Amerikaanse wijze.

Cult of Youth, voorheen een soloproject van multi-instrumentalist en songwriter Sean Ragon uit Brooklyn (NY), is anno 2011 een volwaardige groep. “Cult of Youth” is hun eerste album en werd uitgebracht in 2010, door het Amerikaanse Sacred Bones Records.

Cult of Youth is één van de eerste Amerikaanse bands die met dit soort muziek komen. Akoestische gitaar, getormenteerde zang en naar mijn gevoel ook het virtuoze vioolspel van Christiana Key, bepalen het geluid van deze groep. De occasionele blazers zijn een leuke extra.

Volgens de website van Sacred Bones Records gaat het om een “neo-folk masterpiece”. Dat is het volgens mij niet geworden. Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van Death In June, Current 93 en Sol Invictus is het wel! En bovendien ook een “groeiplaat”.

Mijn favoriete nummers? Openingssong “New West” over het verkennen van nieuwe persoonlijke horizonten, “Lorelei” en het krachtige “Lace Up Your Boots”, een opkikker voor wie het even niet meer ziet zitten en een meer dan waardige afsluiter!

Didier PIETERS
03/05/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)