tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : KRENG - Grimoire

KRENG

Grimoire

MusicCD
Dark AmbientExperimentalJazzSoundtrack

[82/100]   
13/07/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Kreng is the Belgian musical project of actor Pepijn Caudron. Creating music from existing music, sampling with a great sense of atmosphere and a very wide variety of interests leads to an incredibly intriguing soundtrack, a soundscape that engulfs you from the first until the last note.

A grimoire is a magical book with many recipes to heal certain ailments, to exorcise or recall demons, to make talismans and amulets, and to speak or remove curses. I consider the Grimoire of Kreng more appropriate to speak curses rather than to remove them.

"Le Bateleur" (the deceiver) makes me wander dazed in a old, dark & obscure toy shop. Almost completely obscured in the darkness I find my way through racks, looking for this grimoire. It drives me deeper into the shop. My heart is pounding at the tempo of the song, which I reluctantly and slowly move through the store, accompanied by pounding piano and trumpet. I frequently hear a puppet come to life or a toy airplane flying narrowly over my head. Time and again I stand rooted to the ground for a few seconds, but then the song drives me further again. Intense.

At "Petit Grimoire" I have now arrived in the back rooms. I hear someone coming behind me and see a looming shadow. I quickly twist between the shelves, my heart pounding continues, accelerates. Violins create an incredibly oppressive feeling. Because of my poor condition I am exhausted in no time when I arrive at a mini theater.

I am a "Wreck" and lie in a theater chair to recover from the physical exertion as the stage fills with strange creatures. A string ensemble playing a haunting and melancholic melody. Blazers soon join their musical battle. A surprising sadness is swallowed up in an electronic rage as only Coil could do in the past. Meanwhile there are already thirty artists on stage. The spotlight shifts back and on stage is a huge grand piano visible. As the spotlight intensifies the piano takes over and the rage decreases. The musicians all sit down together to listen to the piano and become calm, meditative calm, even silenced.

I long for the outdoors. The small theater is oppressive. Especially since the strange string quartet is performs an intense sad song, the "Ballet of the Blood Whores". Well, hardly a ballet with sparse and slow steps on a stage until they cringe by stepping drones and electronics.

"Queen of Outer Space" is projected against the side wall. Meanwhile, a dancing dwarf comes dancing through the red theater curtains in pure Twin Peaks style. Strangely he looks at me without stopping his freaky dance steps on the spacey and jazzy sounds.

Strange African noises, didgeridoo and drones accompany a jazz group on stage. I can hardly keep my eyes open and relax during "La Poule Noire" and "Balkop". However, the strange sound of crickets during "Satyriasis" makes me open my eyes again. The walls and roof of the theater are gone and I sit in my theatre seat outside in the heather. I hear the haunting jazz group in the distance compete with the electronics. I sit and stay frozen. The jazz group wins clearly, although the battle is extremely intense and all stops are pulled. The sky turns dark.

But suddenly the company is gone and the subtle electronic sounds come back closer. Surprising, conjuring. It's pitch black again. I just heard a male voice, "The Night Watch".

Bitch dark ambient trip is one of a kind. A wonderful symbiosis of classical instruments and electronics. If you read Peter's bio that he was influenced by the following artists, it is also logical that such a versatile and beautiful album is the result: Bernard Herrmann, JS Bach, Dmitri Shostakovich, John Zorn (almost all His work from Masada to Naked City), Charles Mingus, Alice & John Coltrane, John Barry, Tom Waits, Diamanda Galas, Nina Simone, Duke Ellington, Coil, Pan Sonic, Mike Patton, composers of the 50's' till 70's sci-fi and horror movies.

Another great gem that gives me a lovely but strange and oppressive feeling every time I listen to it, time and time again.

Ward DE PRINS
13/07/2011


NL

Kreng is het Belgische muzikale project van acteur Pepijn Caudron. Muziek creëren uit bestaande muziek, sampling met een fantastisch gevoel voor sfeer en een ontzettend ruime en diverse interesse leiden tot een waanzinnig intrigerende soundtrack, een geluidsbehang dat je verzwelgt van de eerste tot de laatste noot.

Een grimoire is een magisch boek met diverse recepten om bepaalde kwalen te genezen, demonen te bezweren of op te roepen, talismannen en amuletten te maken, en voor het uitspreken of verwijderen van vervloekingen. Het Grimoire van Kreng vind ik echter eerder gepast om deze vervloekingen uit te spreken dan wel om ze te verwijderen.

“Le Bateleur” (de verleider) doet me verdwaasd in een duister, obscuur speelgoedwinkeltje ronddwalen. Haast volledig in het duister verhuld, zoek ik mijn weg tussen te rekken, op zoek naar dit grimoire. Het drijft me steeds dieper de winkel in. Mijn hart bonst op het tempo van deze song, waarop ik me traag en schoorvoetend doorheen de winkel beweeg, begeleid door dreunen, piano & trompet. Regelmatig hoor ik een marionet tot leven komen of vliegt er een speelgoedvliegtuigje rakelings over mijn hoofd. Keer op keer sta ik enkele seconden aan de grond genageld, maar dan drijft de song me weer verder. Intens.

Tijdens “Petit Grimoire” ben ik intussen al aangekomen in de achterkamers. Ik hoor achter me iemand aankomen en zie een dreigende schim. Sneller kronkel ik tussen de rekken, mijn hart bonst steeds heviger, violen creëren een waanzinnig benauwend gevoel. Door mijn slechte conditie ben ik binnen de kortste keren uitgeput, wanneer ik aankom in een soort mini theater.

Ik ben een “Wrak” en lig in een theaterstoeltje te bekomen van de fysieke inspanning terwijl het podium zich vult met vreemde creaturen. Een strijkerensemble speelt een melancholische en bezwerende melodie. Blazers vervoegen hen al snel en gaan de muzikale strijd aan. Een bevreemdende intriestheid wordt verzwolgen in elektronische razernij zoals Coil die destijds ook tentoon kon spreiden. Intussen staan er reeds een dertigtal artiesten strijd te voeren op het podium. Het spotlicht verschuift en achteraan op het podium wordt een gigantische vleugelpiano zichtbaar. Terwijl het spotlicht intensifieert neemt het pianospel toe en de razernij af. De muzikanten zetten zich allen neer om samen met de piano tot rust, ultieme rust, én stilte te komen.

Ik verlang naar de buitenlucht. Het kleine theater is beklemmend. Temeer daar het vreemde strijkerkwartet inmiddels weer rechtstaat en er tijdens een weemoedige song een “Ballet van de Bloedhoeren” wordt opgevoerd. Nu ja, schaarse en trage pasjes over een podium tot ze in elkaar krimpen door de wederom intensifiërende drones en elektronica.

“Queen of Outer Space” wordt geprojecteerd op de zijmuur. Intussen danst een dwerg doorheen de rode theatergordijnen in pure Twin Peaks stijl. Bevreemdend kijkt hij mij aan zonder te stoppen met zijn freaky danspasjes op de spacy en jazzy geluiden.

Bevreemdende Afrikaanse geluiden, didgeridoo en drones begeleiden een jazz gezelschap op het podium. Ik kan mijn ogen haast niet openhouden en komt tot rust tijdens “La Poule Noire” en “Balkop”. Het bevreemdende krekelgeluid tijdens “Satyriasis” doet me echter terug mijn ogen openen. De muren en het dak van het theater zijn verdwenen en ik zit in mijn theaterstoeltje buiten in de heide. Ik hoor het bezwerende jazz gezelschap in de verte de strijd aangaan met de elektronica en blijf verstijfd zitten. Het jazz gezelschap wint duidelijk, al is de strijd intens en worden alle registers opengetrokken. De hemel kleurt donkerrood.

Doch plots is het gezelschap weg en de ijle elektronica klanken komen terug dichterbij. Bevreemdend, bezwerend. Het is terug pikdonker. Ik hoor enkel een mannenstem, “Watch The Night”.

Krengs dark ambient trip is er eentje om U tegen te zeggen. Een prachtige symbiose van klassieke instrumenten en electronica. Als je in Pieter's bio leest dat hij beïnvloed is door de volgende artiesten is het ook logisch dat een dergelijk veelzijdig en prachtig album het resultaat is: Bernard Herrmann, J.S. Bach, Dmitri Shostakovich, John Zorn (almost all his work from Masada to Naked City), Charles Mingus, Alice & John Coltrane, John Barry, Tom Waits, Diamanda Galas, Nina Simone, Duke Ellington, Coil, Pan Sonic, Mike Patton, the composers of 50's 'till 70's sci-fi & horror movies.

Wederom een fantastisch pareltje dat me bij elke luisterbeurt, keer op keer, een heerlijk doch bevreemdend en beklemmend gevoel geeft.

Ward DE PRINS
13/07/2011


 

Next reviews
AURA NOCTIS • Aura Noctis EP
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works
LIBEREZ • The letter
FLINT GLASS | POLARLICHT 4.1 | TRANSISTOR • Zoran's Equation
MECHANICAL CABARET • Disco Vandalism
JAH WOBBLE'S INVADERS OF THE HEART • Take me to God
THE HOUSE OF USHER • Pandora's box
BIOSPHERE • N-Plants
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • 1102 (FEATURING ROWETTA)
SEUCHENSTURM • Um jeder Preis

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
VAST
Touched
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution