tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/08/2011 : ASTRID WILLIAMSON - Pulse

ASTRID WILLIAMSON

Pulse

MusicCD
Dark PopIndieSinger Songwriter

[82/100]   
04/08/2011, Didier BECU

To be quite honest I'd never heard from this Scottish singer-songwriter before but her latest album immediately grabbed my attention.

I mean, if an artist claims to be influenced by the likes of Talk Talk and Joni Mitchell then this is more than just a green light to give it a go.

Williamson's crystal clear voice is beautifully wrapped in ten angst-ridden pop songs in which there's loads of space for musical adventure and that's no coincidence if you see that Leo Abrahams is involved in this project.

Williamson decided to team up with this ambient artist after she saw him performing at the 2010 Brighton Festival as part of Brian Eno's Pure Scenius-project. The collaboration is a golden one as every track seems to be created to join Williamson's voice that has the sex appeal of say Heather Nova but also capturing the sanity of Beth Gibbons.

"Pulse" is first and foremost an auditive experience as there's no instant hit to be found here and this might be a oversight for the hip radio stations to get this on our airwaves. But at the same time, another reason to add this to your (undoubtedly) magnificent record collection. Almost brilliant.

 

Didier BECU
04/08/2011


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Forms Of Hands 2011
LAWRENCE ENGLISH + STEPHEN VITIELLO • Acute Inbetweens
LIFE IN SODOM • The Hollow and Haunted House EP
DAVOS • Tender Loving Care EP
DEAD HAND PROJEKT • Horror (EP)
SHOTGUN CLUB • Love under the gun
SIX TIMES ZERO • Stuffed Animals Never Think Of Suicide
GOJA MOON ROCKAH • Libido Cowboys
DECLAN DE BARRA • Fragments, Footprints and the Forgotten
LEICHENWETTER • Legende

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock