tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/08/2011 : LAWRENCE ENGLISH + STEPHEN VITIELLO - Acute Inbetweens

LAWRENCE ENGLISH + STEPHEN VITIELLO

Acute Inbetweens

MusicCD
Electronics

[85/100]   
01/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

In other reviews, I have already written that in the creation and perception of soundscapes, the step to video art or other visual art is not that big. This has to do with the intangible, sometimes the ethereal, often the captivating effect of music. This could be called the musical power of abstraction. Music is abstract in data (you cannot see it) but music has also the power to abstract (get rid of the determinant). This abstraction is, when applied in an artistic context, an illustration and a support of tangible, tactile elements and of recognizable visual images. The musical abstractions, the soundscapes, help to fragment, defragment, and shape. Note that shape’ is used here in the conceptual meaning of the word.

It is this reflection that overtakes me when I put on the CD Acute Inbetweens to carefully listen to, in order to write, for this platform, a meaningful story. However, it remains very difficult to put into words what sound can do. Yet from the first notes it is clear that this record is far beyond the average. Very far. The composers worked with layers, using compilations of sound recordings. Experiment and surprise is dosed.

Both artists, Lawrence English (Australia) and Stephen Vitiello (USA), are active as composer, media and sound artist. They met for the first time in 2006. Acute Inbetweens was developed through long-distance consultations and discussions, passing sound files back and forth. The compositions contain both analogue sources and found sound. Each piece is built up and elaborated in a rigorous way. Each track is a compelling exploration.

Bernadette ALLAERT
01/08/2011


NL

In andere besprekingen heb ik al geschreven dat bij de creatie en de beleving van soundscapes de stap naar video- of andere beeldende kunst helemaal niet zo groot is. Dat heeft te maken met het niet-tastbare, soms vluchtige, vaak beklijvende van muziek. Men zou dat het abstractievermogen van de muziek kunnen noemen. Muziek is abstract in gegeven (je kan het niet zien) maar heeft tevens de kracht om te abstraheren (te ontdoen van het bepalende). Deze abstractie is, wanneer toegepast in een artistiek kader, een illustratie en een ondersteuning van tastbare, tactiele elementen en herkenbare visuele beelden. De muzikale abstracties, de soundscapes, helpen als het ware fragmenteren, defragmenteren, vormgeven. Let wel, ‘vorm’ wordt hier in de conceptuele betekenis van het woord gebruikt.

Het is die reflectie die mij overvalt wanneer ik de CD Acute Inbetweens opzet om aandachtig te luisteren om, voor dit platform, een zinvol verhaal te schrijven. Maar, het blijft heel moeilijk om in woorden te vatten wat klanken kunnen doen. Toch is vanaf de eerste tonen duidelijk dat deze opname ver uitstijgt boven het gemiddelde. Heel ver. Hier wordt met lagen gewerkt, met compilaties van geluidsopnames. Experiment en verrassing worden gedoseerd.

Beide artiesten, Lawrence English (Australië) en Stephen Vitiello (VS), zijn actief als componist, media- en geluidskunstenaar. Zij ontmoetten elkaar voor het eerst in 2006. Acute Inbetweens werd ontwikkeld via long distance besprekingen en overleg, waarbij geluidsbestanden heen en weer werden gestuurd. De composities bevatten zowel analoge opnames als registraties van omgevingsgeluiden. Elk stuk is op een nauwgezette manier opgebouwd en uitgewerkt. Elke track is een meeslepende verkenning.

Bernadette ALLAERT
01/08/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel