tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/07/2011 : SHOTGUN CLUB - Love under the gun

SHOTGUN CLUB

Love under the gun

MusicCD
Post Punk

[72/100]   

Stupido Records
31/07/2011, Didier BECU

Stupido Records is a quite well known Finnish label that specializes, in what can be best described as, minimal post-punk. That information can't be supplied on the internet, but the information that can be found online, is written in Finnish and so far there are no Peek-A-Boo reviewers who speak Finnish, at least not that I know of.

Never judge an album by its first track, as opener "Flight Of Fear" sounds like some dirty blues rock coming straight out of an album by The Gun Club, but as soon as the next track "Casino" starts we hear something like a beat. Not a discobeat and if it’s one, than it’s a dirty disco-one (ha!) similar to Section 25, as this kind of track would fit well on “Always now”.

More postpunk-riffs are to be heard in "Late Spring" while "Play Dead" contains a typical Suicide-riff, not even mentioning that we expect, every minute, to be confronted with the ghost of Ian Curtis in "Black Hills".

You see, we can compare every track with something else and at first sight it might give the impression that this Finnish band is a bit of a faceless one, but they’re not: they just have a great taste in music, that’s all!

"Love Under The Gun" might reveal a bit too much its origins grip onto you. Still a very fine post punk release from the underground nontheless!

 

Didier BECU
31/07/2011


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela