tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/07/2011 : SHOTGUN CLUB - Love under the gun

SHOTGUN CLUB

Love under the gun

MusicCD
Post Punk

[72/100]   

Stupido Records
31/07/2011, Didier BECU

Stupido Records is a quite well known Finnish label that specializes, in what can be best described as, minimal post-punk. That information can't be supplied on the internet, but the information that can be found online, is written in Finnish and so far there are no Peek-A-Boo reviewers who speak Finnish, at least not that I know of.

Never judge an album by its first track, as opener "Flight Of Fear" sounds like some dirty blues rock coming straight out of an album by The Gun Club, but as soon as the next track "Casino" starts we hear something like a beat. Not a discobeat and if it’s one, than it’s a dirty disco-one (ha!) similar to Section 25, as this kind of track would fit well on “Always now”.

More postpunk-riffs are to be heard in "Late Spring" while "Play Dead" contains a typical Suicide-riff, not even mentioning that we expect, every minute, to be confronted with the ghost of Ian Curtis in "Black Hills".

You see, we can compare every track with something else and at first sight it might give the impression that this Finnish band is a bit of a faceless one, but they’re not: they just have a great taste in music, that’s all!

"Love Under The Gun" might reveal a bit too much its origins grip onto you. Still a very fine post punk release from the underground nontheless!

 

Didier BECU
31/07/2011


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted