tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TOMMIGUN - Wooden Son

TOMMIGUN

Wooden Son

MusicCD
Dark PopIndie

[75/100]   

9000 Records
11/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Sometimes you know it for sure while looking at the cover art. Without even hearing one note of the record, your whole system reacts. It’s called a blink-reaction. I couldn’t wait another day to add this pearl by Tommigun to my vinyl collection. The album opens with Chant, a bizarre way of chanting enforced by deformed voices, coming from the hellhole of the guy on the cover.

The guitar riffs on Turn Over underline the rock image of Tommigun on previous releases. Again, like the opening song, the timbre of the singers is bizarre and diatonic. When you feel that the harmony will be lost, everything turns into harmony again. I love this kind of tension. Whowho: ‘would I like it? I’m sure I never will’. The lyrics don’t reflect my opinion. A simple rhythm based on a simple snare, putting just enough accent. The song evolves towards a solid drive, creating the energy to beg for more.

The title song has a smart opening tune on the edge of indie pop, enough to wander around in your mind for another day. ‘With my own heavy heart…’ resonates. To shape Send Me, lead singer and bass drum work together smoothly. And the electronic part adds a dark touch to it.The subtle importance of singer Kaat Arnaert becomes crystal clear. Everything on this album is in balance, it is an impressive achievement of producer Koen Gisen.

Big Wave is the last track on the A-side (see video): you are pushed into the abyss by deep organ sounds and they invite you to accept the dark sides of life. On the B-side, Lady Low is the best song of the album, it sticks in every way. That one piano key in the middle followed by ‘I told you so…’. Majestic...

Sarah GOMMERS
11/12/2016


NL

Soms weet je het als je de coverart bekijkt, Je voelt de adrealine al door je aders stromen zonder iets gehoord te hebben. Dit fenomeen heet blink en het overkomt mij soms, en het is altijd juist. Dus mijn blink volgend stapte ik naar Consouling om dit kleinood te kunnen bezitten. Het album opent met Chant, een bizarre samenzang, bijna a capella, vervormde stemmen uit het hellegat van de man op de cover.

Het rock verleden van deze band wordt door het gitaarspel van Turn Over benadrukt. De samenzang volgt de teneur van de opener: bizarre diatonische harmonieën. Je hebt het gevoel dat ze er net naast zullen zitten en toch blijft het juist klinken. Ik hou van dit soort spanning. Whowho : ‘would I like it? I’m sure I never will’. Deze lyrics gaan in tegen mijn gevoel. Ik hou er wel van. Eenvoudig ritme met een snare die net voldoende accentueert. Deze track evolueert naar een stevige onderliggende drive en geeft je net voldoende energie om smekend ‘I want more’ te prevelen.

De titelsong heeft een heerlijk openingsdeuntje, op het randje van indiepop, voldoende om te blijven hangen. Het schurend geluid in het midden van de song is heel erg goed gevonden. Het is net die verrassing die het verschil maakt. ‘With my own heavy heart…’ blijft resoneren. Basdrum en zanger werken samen om Send me vorm te geven. En dat streepje electronica geeft er die donkere toets aan. Hier merk je hoe Kaat Arnaert heel subtiel van op de achtergrond haar stempel drukt. Alles in dit album is gewikt en gewogen, schitterende productie van Koen Gisen.

Big Wave mag de A-side afsluiten (zie ook video). De diepe orgelklanken duwen je de diepte in en nodigen uit om het leven ook eens van die andere kant, de dark side, te bekijken. De samenzang zou rechtstreeks van één of ander monnikengezelschap kunnen komen.

Ik spring naar Lady Low, een track die kleeft, in alle opzichten, hét kippenvelmoment van dit album. Die ene pianotoets in het midden, die maakt het verschil. ‘I told you so…’ wordt er gezongen en dat is ook mijn afsluiter. Ik heb het je gezegd, mijn blink was juist.

Sarah GOMMERS
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!
15
10
Holygram announces debut 'Modern Cults' album!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
14
10
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling