tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TOMMIGUN - Wooden Son

TOMMIGUN

Wooden Son

MusicCD
Dark PopIndie

[75/100]   

9000 Records
11/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Sometimes you know it for sure while looking at the cover art. Without even hearing one note of the record, your whole system reacts. It’s called a blink-reaction. I couldn’t wait another day to add this pearl by Tommigun to my vinyl collection. The album opens with Chant, a bizarre way of chanting enforced by deformed voices, coming from the hellhole of the guy on the cover.

The guitar riffs on Turn Over underline the rock image of Tommigun on previous releases. Again, like the opening song, the timbre of the singers is bizarre and diatonic. When you feel that the harmony will be lost, everything turns into harmony again. I love this kind of tension. Whowho: ‘would I like it? I’m sure I never will’. The lyrics don’t reflect my opinion. A simple rhythm based on a simple snare, putting just enough accent. The song evolves towards a solid drive, creating the energy to beg for more.

The title song has a smart opening tune on the edge of indie pop, enough to wander around in your mind for another day. ‘With my own heavy heart…’ resonates. To shape Send Me, lead singer and bass drum work together smoothly. And the electronic part adds a dark touch to it.The subtle importance of singer Kaat Arnaert becomes crystal clear. Everything on this album is in balance, it is an impressive achievement of producer Koen Gisen.

Big Wave is the last track on the A-side (see video): you are pushed into the abyss by deep organ sounds and they invite you to accept the dark sides of life. On the B-side, Lady Low is the best song of the album, it sticks in every way. That one piano key in the middle followed by ‘I told you so…’. Majestic...

Sarah GOMMERS
11/12/2016


NL

Soms weet je het als je de coverart bekijkt, Je voelt de adrealine al door je aders stromen zonder iets gehoord te hebben. Dit fenomeen heet blink en het overkomt mij soms, en het is altijd juist. Dus mijn blink volgend stapte ik naar Consouling om dit kleinood te kunnen bezitten. Het album opent met Chant, een bizarre samenzang, bijna a capella, vervormde stemmen uit het hellegat van de man op de cover.

Het rock verleden van deze band wordt door het gitaarspel van Turn Over benadrukt. De samenzang volgt de teneur van de opener: bizarre diatonische harmonieën. Je hebt het gevoel dat ze er net naast zullen zitten en toch blijft het juist klinken. Ik hou van dit soort spanning. Whowho : ‘would I like it? I’m sure I never will’. Deze lyrics gaan in tegen mijn gevoel. Ik hou er wel van. Eenvoudig ritme met een snare die net voldoende accentueert. Deze track evolueert naar een stevige onderliggende drive en geeft je net voldoende energie om smekend ‘I want more’ te prevelen.

De titelsong heeft een heerlijk openingsdeuntje, op het randje van indiepop, voldoende om te blijven hangen. Het schurend geluid in het midden van de song is heel erg goed gevonden. Het is net die verrassing die het verschil maakt. ‘With my own heavy heart…’ blijft resoneren. Basdrum en zanger werken samen om Send me vorm te geven. En dat streepje electronica geeft er die donkere toets aan. Hier merk je hoe Kaat Arnaert heel subtiel van op de achtergrond haar stempel drukt. Alles in dit album is gewikt en gewogen, schitterende productie van Koen Gisen.

Big Wave mag de A-side afsluiten (zie ook video). De diepe orgelklanken duwen je de diepte in en nodigen uit om het leven ook eens van die andere kant, de dark side, te bekijken. De samenzang zou rechtstreeks van één of ander monnikengezelschap kunnen komen.

Ik spring naar Lady Low, een track die kleeft, in alle opzichten, hét kippenvelmoment van dit album. Die ene pianotoets in het midden, die maakt het verschil. ‘I told you so…’ wordt er gezongen en dat is ook mijn afsluiter. Ik heb het je gezegd, mijn blink was juist.

Sarah GOMMERS
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell