tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TOMMIGUN - Wooden Son

TOMMIGUN

Wooden Son

MusicCD
Dark PopIndie

[75/100]   

9000 Records
11/12/2016, Sarah GOMMERS

EN

Sometimes you know it for sure while looking at the cover art. Without even hearing one note of the record, your whole system reacts. It’s called a blink-reaction. I couldn’t wait another day to add this pearl by Tommigun to my vinyl collection. The album opens with Chant, a bizarre way of chanting enforced by deformed voices, coming from the hellhole of the guy on the cover.

The guitar riffs on Turn Over underline the rock image of Tommigun on previous releases. Again, like the opening song, the timbre of the singers is bizarre and diatonic. When you feel that the harmony will be lost, everything turns into harmony again. I love this kind of tension. Whowho: ‘would I like it? I’m sure I never will’. The lyrics don’t reflect my opinion. A simple rhythm based on a simple snare, putting just enough accent. The song evolves towards a solid drive, creating the energy to beg for more.

The title song has a smart opening tune on the edge of indie pop, enough to wander around in your mind for another day. ‘With my own heavy heart…’ resonates. To shape Send Me, lead singer and bass drum work together smoothly. And the electronic part adds a dark touch to it.The subtle importance of singer Kaat Arnaert becomes crystal clear. Everything on this album is in balance, it is an impressive achievement of producer Koen Gisen.

Big Wave is the last track on the A-side (see video): you are pushed into the abyss by deep organ sounds and they invite you to accept the dark sides of life. On the B-side, Lady Low is the best song of the album, it sticks in every way. That one piano key in the middle followed by ‘I told you so…’. Majestic...

Sarah GOMMERS
11/12/2016


NL

Soms weet je het als je de coverart bekijkt, Je voelt de adrealine al door je aders stromen zonder iets gehoord te hebben. Dit fenomeen heet blink en het overkomt mij soms, en het is altijd juist. Dus mijn blink volgend stapte ik naar Consouling om dit kleinood te kunnen bezitten. Het album opent met Chant, een bizarre samenzang, bijna a capella, vervormde stemmen uit het hellegat van de man op de cover.

Het rock verleden van deze band wordt door het gitaarspel van Turn Over benadrukt. De samenzang volgt de teneur van de opener: bizarre diatonische harmonieën. Je hebt het gevoel dat ze er net naast zullen zitten en toch blijft het juist klinken. Ik hou van dit soort spanning. Whowho : ‘would I like it? I’m sure I never will’. Deze lyrics gaan in tegen mijn gevoel. Ik hou er wel van. Eenvoudig ritme met een snare die net voldoende accentueert. Deze track evolueert naar een stevige onderliggende drive en geeft je net voldoende energie om smekend ‘I want more’ te prevelen.

De titelsong heeft een heerlijk openingsdeuntje, op het randje van indiepop, voldoende om te blijven hangen. Het schurend geluid in het midden van de song is heel erg goed gevonden. Het is net die verrassing die het verschil maakt. ‘With my own heavy heart…’ blijft resoneren. Basdrum en zanger werken samen om Send me vorm te geven. En dat streepje electronica geeft er die donkere toets aan. Hier merk je hoe Kaat Arnaert heel subtiel van op de achtergrond haar stempel drukt. Alles in dit album is gewikt en gewogen, schitterende productie van Koen Gisen.

Big Wave mag de A-side afsluiten (zie ook video). De diepe orgelklanken duwen je de diepte in en nodigen uit om het leven ook eens van die andere kant, de dark side, te bekijken. De samenzang zou rechtstreeks van één of ander monnikengezelschap kunnen komen.

Ik spring naar Lady Low, een track die kleeft, in alle opzichten, hét kippenvelmoment van dit album. Die ene pianotoets in het midden, die maakt het verschil. ‘I told you so…’ wordt er gezongen en dat is ook mijn afsluiter. Ik heb het je gezegd, mijn blink was juist.

Sarah GOMMERS
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless