tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : BIG HARE - Hasyayoga

BIG HARE

Hasyayoga

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalFunk/SoulPost Punk

[74/100]   

Blowpipe Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Dutch musicians Fraanje and Ottenhof won’t get rich with Big Hare, but at least they do something unusual. The band's name came about while the two studied a bottle of shampoo (big hair, if you understand the point). Some music was played in an empty squat in Utrecht (a building of the former Psychoanalytic Institute), which is now elaborated on the debut album Hasyayoga.

The cover tells exactly what you can expect: cut and paste with music, complemented with a generous portion of Dadaism. Not one track on this CD follows the classic pattern of a song. Everything is possible, nothing is necessary. The compositions are experimental without being elitist, because even if the due refuses to do any concessions, the music always will make your hips swing. Sometimes it’s funny, sometimes it’s just sheer nonsense.

If you want to compare Big Hare with any band, take Talking Heads as a reference, complemented with the sounds Brian Eno made during Before And After Science. Talking about good names!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rijk of beroemd zullen de Nederlanders Fraanje en Ottenhof met Big Hare niet worden, maar opvallen doen ze des te meer. De bandnaam ontstond nadat de twee een flesje shampoo bestudeerden (big hair, snap je hem?). Er werd wat muziek gespeeld in een leegstaand kraakpand in Utrecht, een gebouw waar trouwens ooit het Psychoanalytische Instituut was gehuisvest. Deze muzikale stukjes zijn nu uitgewerkt op hun debuutplaat Hasyayoga.

Het hoesje toont mooi wat je mag verwachten: knip- en plakwerk, aangevuld met een flinke portie Dadaïsme. Er is geen track op deze cd die het klassieke patroon van een lied volgt. Alles kan, maar niets moet. De composities zijn experimenteel zonder dat het ooit (te) elitair wordt, want hoe weinig toegevingen ze ook doen, blijft het wel heupwiegende muziek. Soms grappig, soms pure nonsens.

Hoe moeilijk het ook is, als je Big Hare dan toch met een band moet vergelijken, doe het dan met Talking Heads, aangevuld met wat Brian Eno deed tijdens Before And After Science. Als dat geen goede referenties zijn!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • Brussels, AB (20/03/16)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux