tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : BIG HARE - Hasyayoga

BIG HARE

Hasyayoga

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalFunk/SoulPost Punk

[74/100]   

Blowpipe Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Dutch musicians Fraanje and Ottenhof won’t get rich with Big Hare, but at least they do something unusual. The band's name came about while the two studied a bottle of shampoo (big hair, if you understand the point). Some music was played in an empty squat in Utrecht (a building of the former Psychoanalytic Institute), which is now elaborated on the debut album Hasyayoga.

The cover tells exactly what you can expect: cut and paste with music, complemented with a generous portion of Dadaism. Not one track on this CD follows the classic pattern of a song. Everything is possible, nothing is necessary. The compositions are experimental without being elitist, because even if the due refuses to do any concessions, the music always will make your hips swing. Sometimes it’s funny, sometimes it’s just sheer nonsense.

If you want to compare Big Hare with any band, take Talking Heads as a reference, complemented with the sounds Brian Eno made during Before And After Science. Talking about good names!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Rijk of beroemd zullen de Nederlanders Fraanje en Ottenhof met Big Hare niet worden, maar opvallen doen ze des te meer. De bandnaam ontstond nadat de twee een flesje shampoo bestudeerden (big hair, snap je hem?). Er werd wat muziek gespeeld in een leegstaand kraakpand in Utrecht, een gebouw waar trouwens ooit het Psychoanalytische Instituut was gehuisvest. Deze muzikale stukjes zijn nu uitgewerkt op hun debuutplaat Hasyayoga.

Het hoesje toont mooi wat je mag verwachten: knip- en plakwerk, aangevuld met een flinke portie Dadaïsme. Er is geen track op deze cd die het klassieke patroon van een lied volgt. Alles kan, maar niets moet. De composities zijn experimenteel zonder dat het ooit (te) elitair wordt, want hoe weinig toegevingen ze ook doen, blijft het wel heupwiegende muziek. Soms grappig, soms pure nonsens.

Hoe moeilijk het ook is, als je Big Hare dan toch met een band moet vergelijken, doe het dan met Talking Heads, aangevuld met wat Brian Eno deed tijdens Before And After Science. Als dat geen goede referenties zijn!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • Brussels, AB (20/03/16)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE KVB • Of Desire
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)