tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TANITA TIKARAM - Closer To The People

TANITA TIKARAM

Closer To The People

MusicCD


[66/100]   

Ear Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Tanita Tikaram, yes she is still around. For some she is nothing more than a flash in the pan, the lovely lady who had a massive hit with that lovely tune Twist In My Sobriety. Everyone has her wonderful debut Ancient Heart in his record collection, but with the sequel The Sweet Keeper it was pretty clear that Tanita and chart success was no longer a combination.

Despite the quality records that came later, Tanita Tikaram was for most just an icon of the 80s of whom no one knew that she still released records. Closer To The People is her ninth album, and what started on Sentimental ten years ago, is now fully extended: Tanita Tikaram goes jazz.

No difficult jazz however, even quite accessible and always with a nod to pop, but miles away from the commercial circuit she once was a part of. The first track Love Train Glass is misleading. It is a song that makes you think that her new album will be another one with alternative pop.

Nothing of the kind. Three minutes later, the British - with Indian roots - becomes a true jazz diva in Cool Waters. The influence of Diana Krall is always around, but thanks to Tanita’s typical deep voice, it gets a very own cachet.

The other tracks on Closer To The People follow the same route. It’s a jazz record which many jazz connoisseurs will dislike because it just too commercial. We still don’t know whether we are waiting on a disc as such, but it is beautiful.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tanita Tikaram, jawel ze is er nog steeds. Voor sommigen is ze niet meer dan een eendagsvlieg, de mooie dame van wie men het hitje Twist In My Sobriety nog eens graag meefluit, maar Tanita is meer dan dat. Iedereen heeft in zijn platenkast wellicht haar wondermooie debuut Ancient Heart staan, maar met de opvolger The Sweet Keeper bleek dat Tanita in de toekomst geen hitparadesucces meer zoumaken. Ondanks de kwaliteitsvolle platen die ze daarna uitbracht, werd Tanita Tikaram niet meer dan een icoon uit de jaren 80 van wie bijna niemand wist dat ze nog platen uitbracht.

Closer To The People is haar negende cd, en wat op Sentimental van zo’n tien jaar geleden al bleek, wordt nu volledig doorgetrokken: Tanita Tikaram koos voor jazz. Geen moeilijke jazz hoor, zelfs uiterst toegankelijk en steeds met een knipoog naar pop, wel mijlenver verwijderd van het commerciële circuit waarin ze ooit zat.

In de eerste track Glass Love Train zet Tanita je bijna letterlijk op het verkeerde been. Door deze opgewekte song ga je denken dat haar nieuwste album er eentje wordt waarop zij opnieuw de weg naar alternatieve pop zoekt. Niets is minder waar. Drie minuten nadien ontpopt de Britse zangeres met Indische roots zich in Cool Waters als een ware jazzdiva. De invloed van Diana Krall dwarrelt wel ergens rond, maar dankzij Tanita',s typische zware stem krijgt het allemaal een zeer eigen cachet. De andere tracks volgen dezelfde weg waardoor je kan zeggen dat Closer To The People een jazzplaat is waarvoor heel wat jazzkenners hun neus op zullen halen wegens de iets te commerciële aanpak. We zijn er ondertussen nog niet uit of we op zo’n plaat zitten te wachten of niet, mooi blijft het wel.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside