tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TANITA TIKARAM - Closer To The People

TANITA TIKARAM

Closer To The People

MusicCD


[66/100]   

Ear Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Tanita Tikaram, yes she is still around. For some she is nothing more than a flash in the pan, the lovely lady who had a massive hit with that lovely tune Twist In My Sobriety. Everyone has her wonderful debut Ancient Heart in his record collection, but with the sequel The Sweet Keeper it was pretty clear that Tanita and chart success was no longer a combination.

Despite the quality records that came later, Tanita Tikaram was for most just an icon of the 80s of whom no one knew that she still released records. Closer To The People is her ninth album, and what started on Sentimental ten years ago, is now fully extended: Tanita Tikaram goes jazz.

No difficult jazz however, even quite accessible and always with a nod to pop, but miles away from the commercial circuit she once was a part of. The first track Love Train Glass is misleading. It is a song that makes you think that her new album will be another one with alternative pop.

Nothing of the kind. Three minutes later, the British - with Indian roots - becomes a true jazz diva in Cool Waters. The influence of Diana Krall is always around, but thanks to Tanita’s typical deep voice, it gets a very own cachet.

The other tracks on Closer To The People follow the same route. It’s a jazz record which many jazz connoisseurs will dislike because it just too commercial. We still don’t know whether we are waiting on a disc as such, but it is beautiful.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tanita Tikaram, jawel ze is er nog steeds. Voor sommigen is ze niet meer dan een eendagsvlieg, de mooie dame van wie men het hitje Twist In My Sobriety nog eens graag meefluit, maar Tanita is meer dan dat. Iedereen heeft in zijn platenkast wellicht haar wondermooie debuut Ancient Heart staan, maar met de opvolger The Sweet Keeper bleek dat Tanita in de toekomst geen hitparadesucces meer zoumaken. Ondanks de kwaliteitsvolle platen die ze daarna uitbracht, werd Tanita Tikaram niet meer dan een icoon uit de jaren 80 van wie bijna niemand wist dat ze nog platen uitbracht.

Closer To The People is haar negende cd, en wat op Sentimental van zo’n tien jaar geleden al bleek, wordt nu volledig doorgetrokken: Tanita Tikaram koos voor jazz. Geen moeilijke jazz hoor, zelfs uiterst toegankelijk en steeds met een knipoog naar pop, wel mijlenver verwijderd van het commerciële circuit waarin ze ooit zat.

In de eerste track Glass Love Train zet Tanita je bijna letterlijk op het verkeerde been. Door deze opgewekte song ga je denken dat haar nieuwste album er eentje wordt waarop zij opnieuw de weg naar alternatieve pop zoekt. Niets is minder waar. Drie minuten nadien ontpopt de Britse zangeres met Indische roots zich in Cool Waters als een ware jazzdiva. De invloed van Diana Krall dwarrelt wel ergens rond, maar dankzij Tanita',s typische zware stem krijgt het allemaal een zeer eigen cachet. De andere tracks volgen dezelfde weg waardoor je kan zeggen dat Closer To The People een jazzplaat is waarvoor heel wat jazzkenners hun neus op zullen halen wegens de iets te commerciële aanpak. We zijn er ondertussen nog niet uit of we op zo’n plaat zitten te wachten of niet, mooi blijft het wel.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains