tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TANITA TIKARAM - Closer To The People

TANITA TIKARAM

Closer To The People

MusicCD


[66/100]   

Ear Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Tanita Tikaram, yes she is still around. For some she is nothing more than a flash in the pan, the lovely lady who had a massive hit with that lovely tune Twist In My Sobriety. Everyone has her wonderful debut Ancient Heart in his record collection, but with the sequel The Sweet Keeper it was pretty clear that Tanita and chart success was no longer a combination.

Despite the quality records that came later, Tanita Tikaram was for most just an icon of the 80s of whom no one knew that she still released records. Closer To The People is her ninth album, and what started on Sentimental ten years ago, is now fully extended: Tanita Tikaram goes jazz.

No difficult jazz however, even quite accessible and always with a nod to pop, but miles away from the commercial circuit she once was a part of. The first track Love Train Glass is misleading. It is a song that makes you think that her new album will be another one with alternative pop.

Nothing of the kind. Three minutes later, the British - with Indian roots - becomes a true jazz diva in Cool Waters. The influence of Diana Krall is always around, but thanks to Tanita’s typical deep voice, it gets a very own cachet.

The other tracks on Closer To The People follow the same route. It’s a jazz record which many jazz connoisseurs will dislike because it just too commercial. We still don’t know whether we are waiting on a disc as such, but it is beautiful.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tanita Tikaram, jawel ze is er nog steeds. Voor sommigen is ze niet meer dan een eendagsvlieg, de mooie dame van wie men het hitje Twist In My Sobriety nog eens graag meefluit, maar Tanita is meer dan dat. Iedereen heeft in zijn platenkast wellicht haar wondermooie debuut Ancient Heart staan, maar met de opvolger The Sweet Keeper bleek dat Tanita in de toekomst geen hitparadesucces meer zoumaken. Ondanks de kwaliteitsvolle platen die ze daarna uitbracht, werd Tanita Tikaram niet meer dan een icoon uit de jaren 80 van wie bijna niemand wist dat ze nog platen uitbracht.

Closer To The People is haar negende cd, en wat op Sentimental van zo’n tien jaar geleden al bleek, wordt nu volledig doorgetrokken: Tanita Tikaram koos voor jazz. Geen moeilijke jazz hoor, zelfs uiterst toegankelijk en steeds met een knipoog naar pop, wel mijlenver verwijderd van het commerciële circuit waarin ze ooit zat.

In de eerste track Glass Love Train zet Tanita je bijna letterlijk op het verkeerde been. Door deze opgewekte song ga je denken dat haar nieuwste album er eentje wordt waarop zij opnieuw de weg naar alternatieve pop zoekt. Niets is minder waar. Drie minuten nadien ontpopt de Britse zangeres met Indische roots zich in Cool Waters als een ware jazzdiva. De invloed van Diana Krall dwarrelt wel ergens rond, maar dankzij Tanita',s typische zware stem krijgt het allemaal een zeer eigen cachet. De andere tracks volgen dezelfde weg waardoor je kan zeggen dat Closer To The People een jazzplaat is waarvoor heel wat jazzkenners hun neus op zullen halen wegens de iets te commerciële aanpak. We zijn er ondertussen nog niet uit of we op zo’n plaat zitten te wachten of niet, mooi blijft het wel.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You