tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : IRIS VON GUL - Iris Von Gul

IRIS VON GUL

Iris Von Gul

MusicCD
Industrial Rock

[68/100]   

We.are.vicious
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

First I played the CD by Iris Von Gul in my car, but it didn’t work. The bass was too prominent and the intros too silent, but at home, with my headphones on, the album sounded a lot better.

Breaker starts with an intro that reminds me of Absolute Body Control, but then it becomes industrial. Just think of NIN, the later Gary Numan or Virgin Prunes in an industrial mood. Artemis, which was available as a single, is good as well.

All I Love begins with a piano. After one beat of silence, the song explodes with guitar, synths and screaming. At first hearing there’s not a link between the two parts. All Day Long seems to develop further on the melodies and rhythms of All I Love.

Kill You lacks a real structure. Anyway, after several spins it’s stronger than we actually thought. Sweet Baby's Gone is the sixth and last song. It lasts ten minutes, but in fact only five, as during the last five ones you hear a replay of the synth sound. Don’t ask us why…

The album of this young French band has some good moments, especially the first two songs. If it manages to come up with songs like Breaker and All I Love in the future, then perhaps everything will end well…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De cd van Iris Von Gul weerklonk eerder in mijn auto, maar daar kwam het album niet tot zijn recht. Te overheersende basklanken en te stille intro’s, maar thuis, met de hoofdtelefoon, klonk het materiaal een heel stuk beter.

Breaker start met een intro dat mij wat doet denken aan Absolute Body Control, maar het slaat daarna de industrial weg in. Denk aan NIN, de hedendaagse Gary Numan of Virgin Prunes in een industrial jasje. Ook Artemis (dat als single verkrijgbaar was) vind ik een geslaagde song. Een gothrockachtige intro die ontaardt in industrial rock.

All I Love begint met pianowerk. Na één tel stilte ontploft de song met gitaar, synths en geschreeuw. Zeer apart en op het eerste gehoor is er niet echt een verband tussen de twee delen. All Day Long lijkt voort te borduren op de melodieën en ritmes van All I Love.

Kill You lijkt eerder vanuit de onderbuik te komen dan dat er aan opbouw werd gedacht, maar blijkt na meerdere luisterbeurten toch sterker te zijn dan verwacht. Sweet Baby’s Gone is het zesde en laatste liedje dat tien minuten duurt, maar in feite is het een song van vijf minuten omdat we na vijf minuten een replay van de synthsound krijgen. De reden ervan ontsnapt mij want er wordt niets bijgedragen.

Het album van deze jonge Franse band bevat een paar goede momenten (vooral de eerste twee songs). Half goed werk dus, maar als hij erin slaagt om een album te maken met songs als Breaker en All I Love, dan komt alles misschien wel goed.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer