tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : EXPONENTIA - Abend

EXPONENTIA

Abend

MusicCD
ElectroGothic

[78/100]   

Neris Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago, we reviewed the latest CD by Résonance Magnétique on our pages, which is one of the many projects of the Ludovic Dhenry. A busy bee, because only a few months later, the French centipede returns with Abend, the brand new CD from his other alter ego Exponentia. A French project, although Ludovic invites you to the dungeons of dark German gothic of the 90s.

Existenz contains the echoes of some good old songs by Goethes Erben. Just as Oswald Henke, Ludovic likes to tell weird fairy tales that consist of melancholic electro and macabre goth sounds. Die Schatten and Abend have some metal-like guitars that are combined with Clan Of Xymox-like keyboards. A strange combination indeed, but irresistible nonetheless!

In Neblig Und Kalt, you hear that Ludovic is a Lacrimosa fan. Simply because it could have been written by Mr. Tilo himself. Fliehen walks the path of Sopor Aeternus, while in Geister Im Traum the beats are accelerated and it is more danceable.

Exponentia is far from original, but that does not stop Ludovic to come up with some great songs that will please the fans of above mentioned bands!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Niet zo lang geleden bespraken we op onze pagina’s de nieuwste cd van Résonance Magnétique, één van de vele projecten van Ludovic Dhenry. Een bezig bijtje, want amper een paar maanden later is de Franse duizendpoot er alweer met Abend, de nieuwste cd van diens ander alter ego Exponentia. Een Frans project dus, ofschoon Ludovic je gewoon mee voert (zeg maar eerder meesleurt) naar de donkere Duitse gothic van de jaren 90.

Zo is bijv. Existenz schatplichtig aan Goethes Erben, net zoals Oswald Henke dat graag doet, vertelt ook Ludovic in deze song een bizar sprookje door middel van melancholische elektro en macabere gothklanken. Die Schatten en Abend hebben meer metalachtige gitaren die gecombineerd worden met Clan Of Xymox-achtige keyboards. Een iewat vreemde combinatie, maar best lekker! Natuurlijk!

In Neblig Und Kalt hoor je zeer duidelijk dat Ludovic een Lacrimosa-fan is. Tja, dit lied kon door Tilo zelf geschreven zijn. Fliehen bewandelt dan weer het pad van Sopor Aeternus, terwijl in Geister Im Traum de beats wat worden versneld waardoor het wat meer dansbaar wordt.

Exponentia is verre van origineel, maar dat weerhoudt Ludovic er niet van om met een resem fantastische songs voor de dag te komen! Voor iedereen die van Duitse 90s gothelektro houdt: aanstippen die naam!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
JO QUAIL & POPPY ACKROYD • St. John on Bethnal Green, London, 19.03.2016
ECHO BEATTY • Nonetheless
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)

 

Other reviews from EXPONENTIA
EXPONENTIA • Allein

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + GOTHIC
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
DINE ON ASHES • On Being Sane In Insane Places
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Till Dawn Do Us Part / BE
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
AD VITAM • The Crush EP

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)