tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : EXPONENTIA - Abend

EXPONENTIA

Abend

MusicCD
ElectroGothic

[78/100]   

Neris Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago, we reviewed the latest CD by Résonance Magnétique on our pages, which is one of the many projects of the Ludovic Dhenry. A busy bee, because only a few months later, the French centipede returns with Abend, the brand new CD from his other alter ego Exponentia. A French project, although Ludovic invites you to the dungeons of dark German gothic of the 90s.

Existenz contains the echoes of some good old songs by Goethes Erben. Just as Oswald Henke, Ludovic likes to tell weird fairy tales that consist of melancholic electro and macabre goth sounds. Die Schatten and Abend have some metal-like guitars that are combined with Clan Of Xymox-like keyboards. A strange combination indeed, but irresistible nonetheless!

In Neblig Und Kalt, you hear that Ludovic is a Lacrimosa fan. Simply because it could have been written by Mr. Tilo himself. Fliehen walks the path of Sopor Aeternus, while in Geister Im Traum the beats are accelerated and it is more danceable.

Exponentia is far from original, but that does not stop Ludovic to come up with some great songs that will please the fans of above mentioned bands!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Niet zo lang geleden bespraken we op onze pagina’s de nieuwste cd van Résonance Magnétique, één van de vele projecten van Ludovic Dhenry. Een bezig bijtje, want amper een paar maanden later is de Franse duizendpoot er alweer met Abend, de nieuwste cd van diens ander alter ego Exponentia. Een Frans project dus, ofschoon Ludovic je gewoon mee voert (zeg maar eerder meesleurt) naar de donkere Duitse gothic van de jaren 90.

Zo is bijv. Existenz schatplichtig aan Goethes Erben, net zoals Oswald Henke dat graag doet, vertelt ook Ludovic in deze song een bizar sprookje door middel van melancholische elektro en macabere gothklanken. Die Schatten en Abend hebben meer metalachtige gitaren die gecombineerd worden met Clan Of Xymox-achtige keyboards. Een iewat vreemde combinatie, maar best lekker! Natuurlijk!

In Neblig Und Kalt hoor je zeer duidelijk dat Ludovic een Lacrimosa-fan is. Tja, dit lied kon door Tilo zelf geschreven zijn. Fliehen bewandelt dan weer het pad van Sopor Aeternus, terwijl in Geister Im Traum de beats wat worden versneld waardoor het wat meer dansbaar wordt.

Exponentia is verre van origineel, maar dat weerhoudt Ludovic er niet van om met een resem fantastische songs voor de dag te komen! Voor iedereen die van Duitse 90s gothelektro houdt: aanstippen die naam!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
JO QUAIL & POPPY ACKROYD • St. John on Bethnal Green, London, 19.03.2016
ECHO BEATTY • Nonetheless
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)

 

Other reviews from EXPONENTIA
EXPONENTIA • Allein

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + GOTHIC
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
DINE ON ASHES • On Being Sane In Insane Places
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Till Dawn Do Us Part / BE
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading