tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EXPONENTIA - Abend

EXPONENTIA

Abend

MusicCD
ElectroGothic

[78/100]   

Neris Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago, we reviewed the latest CD by Résonance Magnétique on our pages, which is one of the many projects of the Ludovic Dhenry. A busy bee, because only a few months later, the French centipede returns with Abend, the brand new CD from his other alter ego Exponentia. A French project, although Ludovic invites you to the dungeons of dark German gothic of the 90s.

Existenz contains the echoes of some good old songs by Goethes Erben. Just as Oswald Henke, Ludovic likes to tell weird fairy tales that consist of melancholic electro and macabre goth sounds. Die Schatten and Abend have some metal-like guitars that are combined with Clan Of Xymox-like keyboards. A strange combination indeed, but irresistible nonetheless!

In Neblig Und Kalt, you hear that Ludovic is a Lacrimosa fan. Simply because it could have been written by Mr. Tilo himself. Fliehen walks the path of Sopor Aeternus, while in Geister Im Traum the beats are accelerated and it is more danceable.

Exponentia is far from original, but that does not stop Ludovic to come up with some great songs that will please the fans of above mentioned bands!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Niet zo lang geleden bespraken we op onze pagina’s de nieuwste cd van Résonance Magnétique, één van de vele projecten van Ludovic Dhenry. Een bezig bijtje, want amper een paar maanden later is de Franse duizendpoot er alweer met Abend, de nieuwste cd van diens ander alter ego Exponentia. Een Frans project dus, ofschoon Ludovic je gewoon mee voert (zeg maar eerder meesleurt) naar de donkere Duitse gothic van de jaren 90.

Zo is bijv. Existenz schatplichtig aan Goethes Erben, net zoals Oswald Henke dat graag doet, vertelt ook Ludovic in deze song een bizar sprookje door middel van melancholische elektro en macabere gothklanken. Die Schatten en Abend hebben meer metalachtige gitaren die gecombineerd worden met Clan Of Xymox-achtige keyboards. Een iewat vreemde combinatie, maar best lekker! Natuurlijk!

In Neblig Und Kalt hoor je zeer duidelijk dat Ludovic een Lacrimosa-fan is. Tja, dit lied kon door Tilo zelf geschreven zijn. Fliehen bewandelt dan weer het pad van Sopor Aeternus, terwijl in Geister Im Traum de beats wat worden versneld waardoor het wat meer dansbaar wordt.

Exponentia is verre van origineel, maar dat weerhoudt Ludovic er niet van om met een resem fantastische songs voor de dag te komen! Voor iedereen die van Duitse 90s gothelektro houdt: aanstippen die naam!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
JO QUAIL & POPPY ACKROYD • St. John on Bethnal Green, London, 19.03.2016
ECHO BEATTY • Nonetheless
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)

 

Other reviews from EXPONENTIA
EXPONENTIA • Allein

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + GOTHIC
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
DINE ON ASHES • On Being Sane In Insane Places
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Till Dawn Do Us Part / BE
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby