tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EXPONENTIA - Abend

EXPONENTIA

Abend

MusicCD
ElectroGothic

[78/100]   

Neris Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago, we reviewed the latest CD by Résonance Magnétique on our pages, which is one of the many projects of the Ludovic Dhenry. A busy bee, because only a few months later, the French centipede returns with Abend, the brand new CD from his other alter ego Exponentia. A French project, although Ludovic invites you to the dungeons of dark German gothic of the 90s.

Existenz contains the echoes of some good old songs by Goethes Erben. Just as Oswald Henke, Ludovic likes to tell weird fairy tales that consist of melancholic electro and macabre goth sounds. Die Schatten and Abend have some metal-like guitars that are combined with Clan Of Xymox-like keyboards. A strange combination indeed, but irresistible nonetheless!

In Neblig Und Kalt, you hear that Ludovic is a Lacrimosa fan. Simply because it could have been written by Mr. Tilo himself. Fliehen walks the path of Sopor Aeternus, while in Geister Im Traum the beats are accelerated and it is more danceable.

Exponentia is far from original, but that does not stop Ludovic to come up with some great songs that will please the fans of above mentioned bands!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Niet zo lang geleden bespraken we op onze pagina’s de nieuwste cd van Résonance Magnétique, één van de vele projecten van Ludovic Dhenry. Een bezig bijtje, want amper een paar maanden later is de Franse duizendpoot er alweer met Abend, de nieuwste cd van diens ander alter ego Exponentia. Een Frans project dus, ofschoon Ludovic je gewoon mee voert (zeg maar eerder meesleurt) naar de donkere Duitse gothic van de jaren 90.

Zo is bijv. Existenz schatplichtig aan Goethes Erben, net zoals Oswald Henke dat graag doet, vertelt ook Ludovic in deze song een bizar sprookje door middel van melancholische elektro en macabere gothklanken. Die Schatten en Abend hebben meer metalachtige gitaren die gecombineerd worden met Clan Of Xymox-achtige keyboards. Een iewat vreemde combinatie, maar best lekker! Natuurlijk!

In Neblig Und Kalt hoor je zeer duidelijk dat Ludovic een Lacrimosa-fan is. Tja, dit lied kon door Tilo zelf geschreven zijn. Fliehen bewandelt dan weer het pad van Sopor Aeternus, terwijl in Geister Im Traum de beats wat worden versneld waardoor het wat meer dansbaar wordt.

Exponentia is verre van origineel, maar dat weerhoudt Ludovic er niet van om met een resem fantastische songs voor de dag te komen! Voor iedereen die van Duitse 90s gothelektro houdt: aanstippen die naam!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
JO QUAIL & POPPY ACKROYD • St. John on Bethnal Green, London, 19.03.2016
ECHO BEATTY • Nonetheless
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)

 

Other reviews from EXPONENTIA
EXPONENTIA • Allein

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + GOTHIC
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
DINE ON ASHES • On Being Sane In Insane Places
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Till Dawn Do Us Part / BE
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp