tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EXPONENTIA - Abend

EXPONENTIA

Abend

MusicCD
ElectroGothic

[78/100]   

Neris Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago, we reviewed the latest CD by Résonance Magnétique on our pages, which is one of the many projects of the Ludovic Dhenry. A busy bee, because only a few months later, the French centipede returns with Abend, the brand new CD from his other alter ego Exponentia. A French project, although Ludovic invites you to the dungeons of dark German gothic of the 90s.

Existenz contains the echoes of some good old songs by Goethes Erben. Just as Oswald Henke, Ludovic likes to tell weird fairy tales that consist of melancholic electro and macabre goth sounds. Die Schatten and Abend have some metal-like guitars that are combined with Clan Of Xymox-like keyboards. A strange combination indeed, but irresistible nonetheless!

In Neblig Und Kalt, you hear that Ludovic is a Lacrimosa fan. Simply because it could have been written by Mr. Tilo himself. Fliehen walks the path of Sopor Aeternus, while in Geister Im Traum the beats are accelerated and it is more danceable.

Exponentia is far from original, but that does not stop Ludovic to come up with some great songs that will please the fans of above mentioned bands!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Niet zo lang geleden bespraken we op onze pagina’s de nieuwste cd van Résonance Magnétique, één van de vele projecten van Ludovic Dhenry. Een bezig bijtje, want amper een paar maanden later is de Franse duizendpoot er alweer met Abend, de nieuwste cd van diens ander alter ego Exponentia. Een Frans project dus, ofschoon Ludovic je gewoon mee voert (zeg maar eerder meesleurt) naar de donkere Duitse gothic van de jaren 90.

Zo is bijv. Existenz schatplichtig aan Goethes Erben, net zoals Oswald Henke dat graag doet, vertelt ook Ludovic in deze song een bizar sprookje door middel van melancholische elektro en macabere gothklanken. Die Schatten en Abend hebben meer metalachtige gitaren die gecombineerd worden met Clan Of Xymox-achtige keyboards. Een iewat vreemde combinatie, maar best lekker! Natuurlijk!

In Neblig Und Kalt hoor je zeer duidelijk dat Ludovic een Lacrimosa-fan is. Tja, dit lied kon door Tilo zelf geschreven zijn. Fliehen bewandelt dan weer het pad van Sopor Aeternus, terwijl in Geister Im Traum de beats wat worden versneld waardoor het wat meer dansbaar wordt.

Exponentia is verre van origineel, maar dat weerhoudt Ludovic er niet van om met een resem fantastische songs voor de dag te komen! Voor iedereen die van Duitse 90s gothelektro houdt: aanstippen die naam!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem
IRIS VON GUL • Iris Von Gul
JO QUAIL & POPPY ACKROYD • St. John on Bethnal Green, London, 19.03.2016
ECHO BEATTY • Nonetheless
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
EPHYRA • Along The Path
ILL WICKER • Untamed
AMON AMARTH • Jomsviking
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
STEAK NUMBER EIGHT • Kortrijk, De Kreun (18/03/16)

 

Other reviews from EXPONENTIA
EXPONENTIA • Allein

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + GOTHIC
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
DINE ON ASHES • On Being Sane In Insane Places
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Till Dawn Do Us Part / BE
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh