tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS - Person A

EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS

Person A

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[75/100]   

Community
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros consists of strange boys (and there are ten of them!). Since the debut album Up From Below, they invented the fictional name Edward Sharpe, and apparently the American indie folk band is bored with this joke, because on the newest CD, the alter ego of Alex Ebert is simply deleted with a red marker on the cover.

No problem, as Ebert himself is still there, even though not everyone will like it. The front man sees himself as a savior and the music of this new messiah is contemporary gospel with influences from psychedelia, folk, soul and thousand other styles. The band considers the music as sacred and often plays in the strangest locations you can imagine (from cathedrals to rail cars that are no longer used). It's been said and written before, but the music is often compared with the British counterpart The Polyphonic Spree, or at worst with Mumford & Sons.

Even though the music is quite accessible (former tracks were often used in commercials, even for IKEA), the band uses so many ingredients that sometimes it’s just too much. This band from California does not follow any rules and on stage you often hear improvisations. It’s certainly impressive, but it sometimes sounds too bombastic (and somewhat pretentious), even though you will find some gems in it. Sometimes Ebert is like Donovan who walks through the surreal wonderland of Mercury Rev (Hot Coals), sometimes it is jazzy (Wake Up The Sun) or alternative experimental folk (Uncomfortable).

Certainly not a record for everybody, that's for sure, but what's stopping you to give it a try?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vreemde jongens (en dat zijn er tien!) zijn het bij Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros. Sinds de debuutplaat Up From Below hebben ze de naam Edward Sharpe gewoon verzonnen. Blijkbaar heeft de Amerikaanse indiefolkband het gehad met dit grapje, want het alter ego van Alex Ebert wordt op het hoesje van de nieuwe cd gewoon met de rode stift geschrapt.

Geen nood, Ebert zelf is er nog steeds, ook al zal niet iedereen dat even leuk vinden. De frontman ziet zichzelf als een soort van verlosser en de muziek die deze hedendaagse Messias brengt, kan je gewoon als hedendaagse gospel omschrijven die verwant is met psychedelica, folk, soul en duizend andere stijlen. Ze beschouwen hun muziek als sacraal en treden vaak op in de meest vreemde locaties (van kathedralen tot afgedankte treinstellen). Het is al eerder gezegd en geschreven, maar deze vreemde trip wordt vaak vergeleken met hun Britse evenknie The Polyphonic Spree, of in het slechtste geval met Mumford & Sons.

Ook al blijft de muziek uiterst toegankelijk (in het verleden zijn de tracks vaak gebruikt voor reclamespots, zelfs eentje voor IKEA), stopt de band zo veel ingrediënten in z'n muziek dat je soms door het bos de bomen niet meer ziet. Deze band uit Californië houdt inderdaad niet van regeltjes en op het podium mondt dat vaak uit in pure improvisaties. Hoewel vaak imponerend, klinkt het soms net iets te bombastisch (om niet te zeggen pretentieus), maar je vindt er gelukkig ook wat pareltjes in. Soms klinkt Ebert als een hedendaagse Donovan die door het surrealistische sprookjeslandschap van Mercury Rev wandelt (Hot Coals), dan is het weer wat jazzy (Wake Up The Sun) of experimentele alternatieve folk (Uncomfortable).

Zeker geen plaatje voor iedereen dus, zoveel is zeker, maar wat houd je tegen om het eens uit te proberen? Gedurfd is het in ieder geval wel!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire