tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS - Person A

EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS

Person A

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[75/100]   

Community
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros consists of strange boys (and there are ten of them!). Since the debut album Up From Below, they invented the fictional name Edward Sharpe, and apparently the American indie folk band is bored with this joke, because on the newest CD, the alter ego of Alex Ebert is simply deleted with a red marker on the cover.

No problem, as Ebert himself is still there, even though not everyone will like it. The front man sees himself as a savior and the music of this new messiah is contemporary gospel with influences from psychedelia, folk, soul and thousand other styles. The band considers the music as sacred and often plays in the strangest locations you can imagine (from cathedrals to rail cars that are no longer used). It's been said and written before, but the music is often compared with the British counterpart The Polyphonic Spree, or at worst with Mumford & Sons.

Even though the music is quite accessible (former tracks were often used in commercials, even for IKEA), the band uses so many ingredients that sometimes it’s just too much. This band from California does not follow any rules and on stage you often hear improvisations. It’s certainly impressive, but it sometimes sounds too bombastic (and somewhat pretentious), even though you will find some gems in it. Sometimes Ebert is like Donovan who walks through the surreal wonderland of Mercury Rev (Hot Coals), sometimes it is jazzy (Wake Up The Sun) or alternative experimental folk (Uncomfortable).

Certainly not a record for everybody, that's for sure, but what's stopping you to give it a try?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vreemde jongens (en dat zijn er tien!) zijn het bij Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros. Sinds de debuutplaat Up From Below hebben ze de naam Edward Sharpe gewoon verzonnen. Blijkbaar heeft de Amerikaanse indiefolkband het gehad met dit grapje, want het alter ego van Alex Ebert wordt op het hoesje van de nieuwe cd gewoon met de rode stift geschrapt.

Geen nood, Ebert zelf is er nog steeds, ook al zal niet iedereen dat even leuk vinden. De frontman ziet zichzelf als een soort van verlosser en de muziek die deze hedendaagse Messias brengt, kan je gewoon als hedendaagse gospel omschrijven die verwant is met psychedelica, folk, soul en duizend andere stijlen. Ze beschouwen hun muziek als sacraal en treden vaak op in de meest vreemde locaties (van kathedralen tot afgedankte treinstellen). Het is al eerder gezegd en geschreven, maar deze vreemde trip wordt vaak vergeleken met hun Britse evenknie The Polyphonic Spree, of in het slechtste geval met Mumford & Sons.

Ook al blijft de muziek uiterst toegankelijk (in het verleden zijn de tracks vaak gebruikt voor reclamespots, zelfs eentje voor IKEA), stopt de band zo veel ingrediënten in z'n muziek dat je soms door het bos de bomen niet meer ziet. Deze band uit Californië houdt inderdaad niet van regeltjes en op het podium mondt dat vaak uit in pure improvisaties. Hoewel vaak imponerend, klinkt het soms net iets te bombastisch (om niet te zeggen pretentieus), maar je vindt er gelukkig ook wat pareltjes in. Soms klinkt Ebert als een hedendaagse Donovan die door het surrealistische sprookjeslandschap van Mercury Rev wandelt (Hot Coals), dan is het weer wat jazzy (Wake Up The Sun) of experimentele alternatieve folk (Uncomfortable).

Zeker geen plaatje voor iedereen dus, zoveel is zeker, maar wat houd je tegen om het eens uit te proberen? Gedurfd is het in ieder geval wel!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure