tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : GLOBELAMP - The Orange Glow

GLOBELAMP

The Orange Glow

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkIndie

[77/100]   

Wichita Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What happens if your mother raises you on a generous portion of glam rock and folk? Well, you will probably sound like Globelamp. The somewhat strange name is the alter ego of Elizabeth Le Fey who travelled across America with her first self-released album (Star Dust). The music of this Southern Californian musician has a high DIY content. This record was originally released by Wichita on tape and you can still hear the lo-fi approach on the (worldwide released) CD.

Although the album consists of 12 qualitative (dreamy) songs, there is no doubt that the fairytale-like and sometimes ominous voice of Elizabeth is the central factor of this project. You always recognize a 4AD touch, and it is no coincidence that she has been compared to folk greats like Joanna Newsom.

Love songs that not always end well. A lot of tracks are about her stranded relationship with Sam France with whom she originally formed the band. Sometimes dark, sometimes floaty, just like real life, and The Orange Glow is the perfect soundtrack

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Wat gebeurt er als je moeder je opzadelt met een flinke portie glamrock en folk? Wel, dan klink je waarschijnlijk als Globelamp. De wat vreemde naam is het alter ego van Elizabeth Le Fey die met haar eerste zelf opgenomen plaat (Star Dust) heel Amerika rondtrok. De muziek van deze Zuid-Californische muzikante heeft een hoog DIY-gehalte. Het album werd door Wichita in eerste instantie op tape gereleaset en die lo-fi-aanpak hoor je nog duidelijk op de cd die nu wereldwijd is uitgebracht.

Ofschoon het om 12 kwalitatieve (dromerige) songs gaat, staat het buiten kijf dat de sprookjesachtige, bij momenten onheilspellende stem van Elizabeth de centrale factor van dit project is. Je hoort er altijd wel ergens een vleugje 4AD in, en het is zeker geen toeval dat men haar al vergeleek met folkgrootheden als Joanna Newsom.

Liefdesliedjes die niet altijd goed aflopen. Zo gaan heel wat tracks over haar gestrande relatie met Sam France met wie ze oorspronkelijk de band oprichtte. Soms donker, dan weer zweverig, net zoals het echte leven. The Orange Glow is er de perfecte soundtrack voor.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: FOLK
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me