tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : GLOBELAMP - The Orange Glow

GLOBELAMP

The Orange Glow

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkIndie

[77/100]   

Wichita Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What happens if your mother raises you on a generous portion of glam rock and folk? Well, you will probably sound like Globelamp. The somewhat strange name is the alter ego of Elizabeth Le Fey who travelled across America with her first self-released album (Star Dust). The music of this Southern Californian musician has a high DIY content. This record was originally released by Wichita on tape and you can still hear the lo-fi approach on the (worldwide released) CD.

Although the album consists of 12 qualitative (dreamy) songs, there is no doubt that the fairytale-like and sometimes ominous voice of Elizabeth is the central factor of this project. You always recognize a 4AD touch, and it is no coincidence that she has been compared to folk greats like Joanna Newsom.

Love songs that not always end well. A lot of tracks are about her stranded relationship with Sam France with whom she originally formed the band. Sometimes dark, sometimes floaty, just like real life, and The Orange Glow is the perfect soundtrack

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Wat gebeurt er als je moeder je opzadelt met een flinke portie glamrock en folk? Wel, dan klink je waarschijnlijk als Globelamp. De wat vreemde naam is het alter ego van Elizabeth Le Fey die met haar eerste zelf opgenomen plaat (Star Dust) heel Amerika rondtrok. De muziek van deze Zuid-Californische muzikante heeft een hoog DIY-gehalte. Het album werd door Wichita in eerste instantie op tape gereleaset en die lo-fi-aanpak hoor je nog duidelijk op de cd die nu wereldwijd is uitgebracht.

Ofschoon het om 12 kwalitatieve (dromerige) songs gaat, staat het buiten kijf dat de sprookjesachtige, bij momenten onheilspellende stem van Elizabeth de centrale factor van dit project is. Je hoort er altijd wel ergens een vleugje 4AD in, en het is zeker geen toeval dat men haar al vergeleek met folkgrootheden als Joanna Newsom.

Liefdesliedjes die niet altijd goed aflopen. Zo gaan heel wat tracks over haar gestrande relatie met Sam France met wie ze oorspronkelijk de band oprichtte. Soms donker, dan weer zweverig, net zoals het echte leven. The Orange Glow is er de perfecte soundtrack voor.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: FOLK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: INDIE
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning