tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : GLOBELAMP - The Orange Glow

GLOBELAMP

The Orange Glow

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkIndie

[77/100]   

Wichita Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What happens if your mother raises you on a generous portion of glam rock and folk? Well, you will probably sound like Globelamp. The somewhat strange name is the alter ego of Elizabeth Le Fey who travelled across America with her first self-released album (Star Dust). The music of this Southern Californian musician has a high DIY content. This record was originally released by Wichita on tape and you can still hear the lo-fi approach on the (worldwide released) CD.

Although the album consists of 12 qualitative (dreamy) songs, there is no doubt that the fairytale-like and sometimes ominous voice of Elizabeth is the central factor of this project. You always recognize a 4AD touch, and it is no coincidence that she has been compared to folk greats like Joanna Newsom.

Love songs that not always end well. A lot of tracks are about her stranded relationship with Sam France with whom she originally formed the band. Sometimes dark, sometimes floaty, just like real life, and The Orange Glow is the perfect soundtrack

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Wat gebeurt er als je moeder je opzadelt met een flinke portie glamrock en folk? Wel, dan klink je waarschijnlijk als Globelamp. De wat vreemde naam is het alter ego van Elizabeth Le Fey die met haar eerste zelf opgenomen plaat (Star Dust) heel Amerika rondtrok. De muziek van deze Zuid-Californische muzikante heeft een hoog DIY-gehalte. Het album werd door Wichita in eerste instantie op tape gereleaset en die lo-fi-aanpak hoor je nog duidelijk op de cd die nu wereldwijd is uitgebracht.

Ofschoon het om 12 kwalitatieve (dromerige) songs gaat, staat het buiten kijf dat de sprookjesachtige, bij momenten onheilspellende stem van Elizabeth de centrale factor van dit project is. Je hoort er altijd wel ergens een vleugje 4AD in, en het is zeker geen toeval dat men haar al vergeleek met folkgrootheden als Joanna Newsom.

Liefdesliedjes die niet altijd goed aflopen. Zo gaan heel wat tracks over haar gestrande relatie met Sam France met wie ze oorspronkelijk de band oprichtte. Soms donker, dan weer zweverig, net zoals het echte leven. The Orange Glow is er de perfecte soundtrack voor.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: FOLK
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number