tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : GLOBELAMP - The Orange Glow

GLOBELAMP

The Orange Glow

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkIndie

[77/100]   

Wichita Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What happens if your mother raises you on a generous portion of glam rock and folk? Well, you will probably sound like Globelamp. The somewhat strange name is the alter ego of Elizabeth Le Fey who travelled across America with her first self-released album (Star Dust). The music of this Southern Californian musician has a high DIY content. This record was originally released by Wichita on tape and you can still hear the lo-fi approach on the (worldwide released) CD.

Although the album consists of 12 qualitative (dreamy) songs, there is no doubt that the fairytale-like and sometimes ominous voice of Elizabeth is the central factor of this project. You always recognize a 4AD touch, and it is no coincidence that she has been compared to folk greats like Joanna Newsom.

Love songs that not always end well. A lot of tracks are about her stranded relationship with Sam France with whom she originally formed the band. Sometimes dark, sometimes floaty, just like real life, and The Orange Glow is the perfect soundtrack

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Wat gebeurt er als je moeder je opzadelt met een flinke portie glamrock en folk? Wel, dan klink je waarschijnlijk als Globelamp. De wat vreemde naam is het alter ego van Elizabeth Le Fey die met haar eerste zelf opgenomen plaat (Star Dust) heel Amerika rondtrok. De muziek van deze Zuid-Californische muzikante heeft een hoog DIY-gehalte. Het album werd door Wichita in eerste instantie op tape gereleaset en die lo-fi-aanpak hoor je nog duidelijk op de cd die nu wereldwijd is uitgebracht.

Ofschoon het om 12 kwalitatieve (dromerige) songs gaat, staat het buiten kijf dat de sprookjesachtige, bij momenten onheilspellende stem van Elizabeth de centrale factor van dit project is. Je hoort er altijd wel ergens een vleugje 4AD in, en het is zeker geen toeval dat men haar al vergeleek met folkgrootheden als Joanna Newsom.

Liefdesliedjes die niet altijd goed aflopen. Zo gaan heel wat tracks over haar gestrande relatie met Sam France met wie ze oorspronkelijk de band oprichtte. Soms donker, dan weer zweverig, net zoals het echte leven. The Orange Glow is er de perfecte soundtrack voor.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery