tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : GLOBELAMP - The Orange Glow

GLOBELAMP

The Orange Glow

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolkIndie

[77/100]   

Wichita Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What happens if your mother raises you on a generous portion of glam rock and folk? Well, you will probably sound like Globelamp. The somewhat strange name is the alter ego of Elizabeth Le Fey who travelled across America with her first self-released album (Star Dust). The music of this Southern Californian musician has a high DIY content. This record was originally released by Wichita on tape and you can still hear the lo-fi approach on the (worldwide released) CD.

Although the album consists of 12 qualitative (dreamy) songs, there is no doubt that the fairytale-like and sometimes ominous voice of Elizabeth is the central factor of this project. You always recognize a 4AD touch, and it is no coincidence that she has been compared to folk greats like Joanna Newsom.

Love songs that not always end well. A lot of tracks are about her stranded relationship with Sam France with whom she originally formed the band. Sometimes dark, sometimes floaty, just like real life, and The Orange Glow is the perfect soundtrack

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Wat gebeurt er als je moeder je opzadelt met een flinke portie glamrock en folk? Wel, dan klink je waarschijnlijk als Globelamp. De wat vreemde naam is het alter ego van Elizabeth Le Fey die met haar eerste zelf opgenomen plaat (Star Dust) heel Amerika rondtrok. De muziek van deze Zuid-Californische muzikante heeft een hoog DIY-gehalte. Het album werd door Wichita in eerste instantie op tape gereleaset en die lo-fi-aanpak hoor je nog duidelijk op de cd die nu wereldwijd is uitgebracht.

Ofschoon het om 12 kwalitatieve (dromerige) songs gaat, staat het buiten kijf dat de sprookjesachtige, bij momenten onheilspellende stem van Elizabeth de centrale factor van dit project is. Je hoort er altijd wel ergens een vleugje 4AD in, en het is zeker geen toeval dat men haar al vergeleek met folkgrootheden als Joanna Newsom.

Liefdesliedjes die niet altijd goed aflopen. Zo gaan heel wat tracks over haar gestrande relatie met Sam France met wie ze oorspronkelijk de band oprichtte. Soms donker, dan weer zweverig, net zoals het echte leven. The Orange Glow is er de perfecte soundtrack voor.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest

 

Same genre: FOLK
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)