tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : 1476 - Wildwood/The Nightside

1476

Wildwood/The Nightside

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

1476 was a year in which much happened: the Duke of Milan was murdered, the Spanish king ascended the throne, book printing was introduced in England, Columbus was shipwrecked off the Portuguese coast... But you're not here for a history lesson... 1476 is also the name of an American art-rock duo. The music is broader than art rock because it contain some darkwave, folk and indie elements. Thanks to the use of acoustic guitar for example.

The release is a reissue of two albums from 2012: Wildwood and the EP The Nightside (second CD in the package). The vinyl is a double LP. In fact, Prophecy releases the entire back catalog of this underground band (four albums). OK, no new work but tracks that absolutely need to be discovered if you do not know them yet. Opener Black Cross-Death Rune begins with a long dark intro and turns into a fine indie rocker with a lovely humming bass and a pleasant singing voice. Watchers sounds like gothic/folk rock. The Dagger is an extension of Watchers, while Banners in Bohemia sounds quite natural and organic. The combination of acoustic instruments and synths creates a very rich atmosphere. On Good Morning Blackbird is pure rock. Horse Dysphoria begins as a tender and fragile song about a runaway horse/soul. There are 11 gems in Wildwood, all strong songs with a special atmosphere and stamp. The Nightside continues in the same vein as Wildwood, but it sounds more organic. The alternative version of Goodmorning Blackbird is not as strong as the version on Wildwood. It's the only criticism on this release.

Prophecy Productions has found a golden nugget with 1476. This reissue is important and will undoubtedly remain in our CD player for a while.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

1476 was een jaar waarin veel gebeurde: de hertog van Milaan werd vermoord, de Spaanse koning besteeg de troon, de Engelse boekdrukkunst bloeide, Columbus leed schipbreuk voor de kust van Portugal… Maar je bent hier natuurlijk niet voor een geschiedenisles…1476 is ook de naam van een Amerikaanse artrockduo. De muziek is ruimer te omschrijven dan artrock want ze bevat ook wat darkwave, folk en indie-elementen. Mede dankzij het gebruik van een akoestische gitaar bijvoorbeeld.

De release is een heruitgave van twee aparte uitgaven uit 2012: Wildwood en de ep The Nightside, die als tweede cd in het pakket zit. De vinylrelease is een dubbelalbum. In feite brengt Prophecy de volledige back catalogue van deze underground band uit (vier albums). OK, geen nieuw werk maar tracks die beslist ontdekt dienen te worden indien je ze nog niet kent. Opener Black Cross-Death Rune begint met een lange duistere intro en gaat over in een fijne indierocker met een heerlijk brommende bas en een aangename zangstem. Watchers klinkt een beetje als gothic/folkrock. The Dagger ligt in het verlengde van Watchers, terwijl Banners in Bohemia vrij naturel en organisch klinkt.

De combinatie van akoestische instrumenten en synths is heel sfeerrijk. Good Morning Blackbird klinkt dan weer als echte rock. Horse Dysphoria begint als een tedere en breekbare track over een weggelopen paard/ziel. Zo horen we op Wildwood 11 pareltjes: stuk voor stuk sterke songs met een eigen sfeer en stempel. The Nightside gaat voort op hetzelfde elan als Wildwood maar klinkt nog iets organischer. De alternatieve versie van Good Morning Blackbird kan niet tippen aan de versie op Wildwood, maar dat is dan ook het enige punt van kritiek die ik kan geven.

Prophecy Productions heeft met 1476 een goudklompje in z'n handen. Deze heruitgaveis meer dan de moeite waard en zal ongetwijfeld nog een tijdje in de lader blijven zitten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day