tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : 1476 - Wildwood/The Nightside

1476

Wildwood/The Nightside

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

1476 was a year in which much happened: the Duke of Milan was murdered, the Spanish king ascended the throne, book printing was introduced in England, Columbus was shipwrecked off the Portuguese coast... But you're not here for a history lesson... 1476 is also the name of an American art-rock duo. The music is broader than art rock because it contain some darkwave, folk and indie elements. Thanks to the use of acoustic guitar for example.

The release is a reissue of two albums from 2012: Wildwood and the EP The Nightside (second CD in the package). The vinyl is a double LP. In fact, Prophecy releases the entire back catalog of this underground band (four albums). OK, no new work but tracks that absolutely need to be discovered if you do not know them yet. Opener Black Cross-Death Rune begins with a long dark intro and turns into a fine indie rocker with a lovely humming bass and a pleasant singing voice. Watchers sounds like gothic/folk rock. The Dagger is an extension of Watchers, while Banners in Bohemia sounds quite natural and organic. The combination of acoustic instruments and synths creates a very rich atmosphere. On Good Morning Blackbird is pure rock. Horse Dysphoria begins as a tender and fragile song about a runaway horse/soul. There are 11 gems in Wildwood, all strong songs with a special atmosphere and stamp. The Nightside continues in the same vein as Wildwood, but it sounds more organic. The alternative version of Goodmorning Blackbird is not as strong as the version on Wildwood. It's the only criticism on this release.

Prophecy Productions has found a golden nugget with 1476. This reissue is important and will undoubtedly remain in our CD player for a while.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

1476 was een jaar waarin veel gebeurde: de hertog van Milaan werd vermoord, de Spaanse koning besteeg de troon, de Engelse boekdrukkunst bloeide, Columbus leed schipbreuk voor de kust van Portugal… Maar je bent hier natuurlijk niet voor een geschiedenisles…1476 is ook de naam van een Amerikaanse artrockduo. De muziek is ruimer te omschrijven dan artrock want ze bevat ook wat darkwave, folk en indie-elementen. Mede dankzij het gebruik van een akoestische gitaar bijvoorbeeld.

De release is een heruitgave van twee aparte uitgaven uit 2012: Wildwood en de ep The Nightside, die als tweede cd in het pakket zit. De vinylrelease is een dubbelalbum. In feite brengt Prophecy de volledige back catalogue van deze underground band uit (vier albums). OK, geen nieuw werk maar tracks die beslist ontdekt dienen te worden indien je ze nog niet kent. Opener Black Cross-Death Rune begint met een lange duistere intro en gaat over in een fijne indierocker met een heerlijk brommende bas en een aangename zangstem. Watchers klinkt een beetje als gothic/folkrock. The Dagger ligt in het verlengde van Watchers, terwijl Banners in Bohemia vrij naturel en organisch klinkt.

De combinatie van akoestische instrumenten en synths is heel sfeerrijk. Good Morning Blackbird klinkt dan weer als echte rock. Horse Dysphoria begint als een tedere en breekbare track over een weggelopen paard/ziel. Zo horen we op Wildwood 11 pareltjes: stuk voor stuk sterke songs met een eigen sfeer en stempel. The Nightside gaat voort op hetzelfde elan als Wildwood maar klinkt nog iets organischer. De alternatieve versie van Good Morning Blackbird kan niet tippen aan de versie op Wildwood, maar dat is dan ook het enige punt van kritiek die ik kan geven.

Prophecy Productions heeft met 1476 een goudklompje in z'n handen. Deze heruitgaveis meer dan de moeite waard en zal ongetwijfeld nog een tijdje in de lader blijven zitten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You