tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : 1476 - Wildwood/The Nightside

1476

Wildwood/The Nightside

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolkIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

1476 was a year in which much happened: the Duke of Milan was murdered, the Spanish king ascended the throne, book printing was introduced in England, Columbus was shipwrecked off the Portuguese coast... But you're not here for a history lesson... 1476 is also the name of an American art-rock duo. The music is broader than art rock because it contain some darkwave, folk and indie elements. Thanks to the use of acoustic guitar for example.

The release is a reissue of two albums from 2012: Wildwood and the EP The Nightside (second CD in the package). The vinyl is a double LP. In fact, Prophecy releases the entire back catalog of this underground band (four albums). OK, no new work but tracks that absolutely need to be discovered if you do not know them yet. Opener Black Cross-Death Rune begins with a long dark intro and turns into a fine indie rocker with a lovely humming bass and a pleasant singing voice. Watchers sounds like gothic/folk rock. The Dagger is an extension of Watchers, while Banners in Bohemia sounds quite natural and organic. The combination of acoustic instruments and synths creates a very rich atmosphere. On Good Morning Blackbird is pure rock. Horse Dysphoria begins as a tender and fragile song about a runaway horse/soul. There are 11 gems in Wildwood, all strong songs with a special atmosphere and stamp. The Nightside continues in the same vein as Wildwood, but it sounds more organic. The alternative version of Goodmorning Blackbird is not as strong as the version on Wildwood. It's the only criticism on this release.

Prophecy Productions has found a golden nugget with 1476. This reissue is important and will undoubtedly remain in our CD player for a while.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

1476 was een jaar waarin veel gebeurde: de hertog van Milaan werd vermoord, de Spaanse koning besteeg de troon, de Engelse boekdrukkunst bloeide, Columbus leed schipbreuk voor de kust van Portugal… Maar je bent hier natuurlijk niet voor een geschiedenisles…1476 is ook de naam van een Amerikaanse artrockduo. De muziek is ruimer te omschrijven dan artrock want ze bevat ook wat darkwave, folk en indie-elementen. Mede dankzij het gebruik van een akoestische gitaar bijvoorbeeld.

De release is een heruitgave van twee aparte uitgaven uit 2012: Wildwood en de ep The Nightside, die als tweede cd in het pakket zit. De vinylrelease is een dubbelalbum. In feite brengt Prophecy de volledige back catalogue van deze underground band uit (vier albums). OK, geen nieuw werk maar tracks die beslist ontdekt dienen te worden indien je ze nog niet kent. Opener Black Cross-Death Rune begint met een lange duistere intro en gaat over in een fijne indierocker met een heerlijk brommende bas en een aangename zangstem. Watchers klinkt een beetje als gothic/folkrock. The Dagger ligt in het verlengde van Watchers, terwijl Banners in Bohemia vrij naturel en organisch klinkt.

De combinatie van akoestische instrumenten en synths is heel sfeerrijk. Good Morning Blackbird klinkt dan weer als echte rock. Horse Dysphoria begint als een tedere en breekbare track over een weggelopen paard/ziel. Zo horen we op Wildwood 11 pareltjes: stuk voor stuk sterke songs met een eigen sfeer en stempel. The Nightside gaat voort op hetzelfde elan als Wildwood maar klinkt nog iets organischer. De alternatieve versie van Good Morning Blackbird kan niet tippen aan de versie op Wildwood, maar dat is dan ook het enige punt van kritiek die ik kan geven.

Prophecy Productions heeft met 1476 een goudklompje in z'n handen. Deze heruitgaveis meer dan de moeite waard en zal ongetwijfeld nog een tijdje in de lader blijven zitten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: FOLK
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid