tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XOTOX - Essentials

XOTOX

Essentials

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndustrialPower ElectronicsTechno Body Music

[80/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Xotox, the industrial project by Andreas David almost exists for twenty years. Music that is characterized by both relentless beats and an irresistible rhythm. A golden combination that made Xotox one of the greatest in the genre. Time to release a compilation, thirty five tracks spread on two discs and added (so the loyal fans also have something) with remixes and demos. It is an impossible task to describe all the tracks, so we picked the highlights (at least for us). Essentials is indeed the ideal opportunity for the industrial fans to explore Xotox, although we do not think there are many indus fans around who do not know this German band.

Lichtlos, the title track from the album that appeared in 2003 immediately leads you to the dance floor. This is power noise with an industrial sound that works on our dance muscles. From the same album you get Nothing, a track that consists almost of beats only. You can’t hear anything more dark. Eisenkiller sounds, just like Zweischlicht and Mechanische Unruhe (from the ep Die Unruhe) very macabre. Very hard indus beats with icy German lyrics.

Sometimes Xotox is experimental, but it is also perfect stuff for the alternative dance floor. The beats (you better say sledgehammers) at Nasse Wände are hard to keep track of, this is music that keeps you awake!

What makes Xotox so great (and popular among the indus fans) is the variation Andreas David uses in his compositions, Dunkelheit (those titles) has a high Aphex Twin content, this assault on your ears (Xo)Toxic is excellent power noise.

Sometimes it's funny as Rhythmuskaputt, or harsh electro like Industrial Madness (a name that needs no explanation). Everyone will have his own favorite, my choice is the gloomy Das Verlies (in the demo version), as well as D-Day 2001 in which you still can hear David’s wave influences.

It's just how you consider things of course, but Ewig sounds quite poppy. Genieß nor so long da es are the words of Schwanengesang, what follows after is pure destruction.

Maybe three hours is a bit too much, however, Essentials is an absolute must.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Xotox, het indusproject van Andreas Davids, bestaat bijna twintig jaar. Muziek die gekenmerkt wordt door zowel meedogenloze beats als een onweerstaanbaar ritme. Een gouden combinatie die ervoor zorgde dat Xotox één van de allergrootste in het genre werd. Hoog tijd dus om een degelijke compilatie uit te brengen, vijfendertig tracks verspreid over twee schijfjes en aangevuld (zodat ook de trouwe fan er iets aan heeft) met remixes en demos. Het is een onmogelijke taak om alle tracks te beschrijven, wij kozen er de hoogtepunten uit (althans voor ons). Essentials is dan ook de ideale mogelijkheid voor de industrial liefhebber om Xotox te ontdekken, ofschoon we niet denken dat er veel indusfans rondlopen die deze Duitse act niet kennen.

Lichtlos, de titeltrack uit de in 2003 verschenen cd en tevens opener, drijft je meteen de dansvloer op. Dit is powernoise met een industrialgeluid dat op de dansspieren werkt. Uit diezelfde cd komt ook Nothing, een track die bijna uit louter beats bestaat. Donkerder kan moeilijk. Eisenkiller klinkt, net als Zweischlicht en Mechanische Unruhe (van de ep Die Unruhe), zeer macaber. Loeiharde indusbeats met ijskoude Duitse lyrics.

Soms gaat Xotox de experimentele toer op, maar het is tevens voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer. De beats (zeg maar mokerslagen) op Nasse Wände zijn nauwelijks bij te houden, dit is muziek die je wakker houdt!

Wat Xotox zo groots (en populair bij de indusfans maakt) is de variatie die Andreas Davids in zijn composities gebruikt, Dunkelheit (die titels) heeft een hoog Aphex Twin-gehalte en de aanslag op je oren die (Xo)Toxic is, kun je onderbrengen als niet te versmaden powernoise.

Soms is het ook grappig zoals Rhythmuskaputt, of wordt het harsh electro zoals op Industrial Madness (een naam zonder uitleg). Iedereen zal wel zijn eigen favoriet hebben, mijn keuze is de sombere Das Verlies (in een demoversie), maar ook D-Day 2001 waarin je duidelijk nog de wave-invloeden van Davids hoort.

Het is maar hoe je het bekijkt natuurlijk,eigenlijk klinkt Ewig best poppy. Geniess noch so lange da es zijn de woorden van Schwanengesang, wat nadien volgt is pure destructie.

Misschien is drie uur wat te veel van het goede, toch een absolute aanrader.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Other reviews from XOTOX
XOTOX • Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer