tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XOTOX - Essentials

XOTOX

Essentials

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndustrialPower ElectronicsTechno Body Music

[80/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Xotox, the industrial project by Andreas David almost exists for twenty years. Music that is characterized by both relentless beats and an irresistible rhythm. A golden combination that made Xotox one of the greatest in the genre. Time to release a compilation, thirty five tracks spread on two discs and added (so the loyal fans also have something) with remixes and demos. It is an impossible task to describe all the tracks, so we picked the highlights (at least for us). Essentials is indeed the ideal opportunity for the industrial fans to explore Xotox, although we do not think there are many indus fans around who do not know this German band.

Lichtlos, the title track from the album that appeared in 2003 immediately leads you to the dance floor. This is power noise with an industrial sound that works on our dance muscles. From the same album you get Nothing, a track that consists almost of beats only. You can’t hear anything more dark. Eisenkiller sounds, just like Zweischlicht and Mechanische Unruhe (from the ep Die Unruhe) very macabre. Very hard indus beats with icy German lyrics.

Sometimes Xotox is experimental, but it is also perfect stuff for the alternative dance floor. The beats (you better say sledgehammers) at Nasse Wände are hard to keep track of, this is music that keeps you awake!

What makes Xotox so great (and popular among the indus fans) is the variation Andreas David uses in his compositions, Dunkelheit (those titles) has a high Aphex Twin content, this assault on your ears (Xo)Toxic is excellent power noise.

Sometimes it's funny as Rhythmuskaputt, or harsh electro like Industrial Madness (a name that needs no explanation). Everyone will have his own favorite, my choice is the gloomy Das Verlies (in the demo version), as well as D-Day 2001 in which you still can hear David’s wave influences.

It's just how you consider things of course, but Ewig sounds quite poppy. Genieß nor so long da es are the words of Schwanengesang, what follows after is pure destruction.

Maybe three hours is a bit too much, however, Essentials is an absolute must.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Xotox, het indusproject van Andreas Davids, bestaat bijna twintig jaar. Muziek die gekenmerkt wordt door zowel meedogenloze beats als een onweerstaanbaar ritme. Een gouden combinatie die ervoor zorgde dat Xotox één van de allergrootste in het genre werd. Hoog tijd dus om een degelijke compilatie uit te brengen, vijfendertig tracks verspreid over twee schijfjes en aangevuld (zodat ook de trouwe fan er iets aan heeft) met remixes en demos. Het is een onmogelijke taak om alle tracks te beschrijven, wij kozen er de hoogtepunten uit (althans voor ons). Essentials is dan ook de ideale mogelijkheid voor de industrial liefhebber om Xotox te ontdekken, ofschoon we niet denken dat er veel indusfans rondlopen die deze Duitse act niet kennen.

Lichtlos, de titeltrack uit de in 2003 verschenen cd en tevens opener, drijft je meteen de dansvloer op. Dit is powernoise met een industrialgeluid dat op de dansspieren werkt. Uit diezelfde cd komt ook Nothing, een track die bijna uit louter beats bestaat. Donkerder kan moeilijk. Eisenkiller klinkt, net als Zweischlicht en Mechanische Unruhe (van de ep Die Unruhe), zeer macaber. Loeiharde indusbeats met ijskoude Duitse lyrics.

Soms gaat Xotox de experimentele toer op, maar het is tevens voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer. De beats (zeg maar mokerslagen) op Nasse Wände zijn nauwelijks bij te houden, dit is muziek die je wakker houdt!

Wat Xotox zo groots (en populair bij de indusfans maakt) is de variatie die Andreas Davids in zijn composities gebruikt, Dunkelheit (die titels) heeft een hoog Aphex Twin-gehalte en de aanslag op je oren die (Xo)Toxic is, kun je onderbrengen als niet te versmaden powernoise.

Soms is het ook grappig zoals Rhythmuskaputt, of wordt het harsh electro zoals op Industrial Madness (een naam zonder uitleg). Iedereen zal wel zijn eigen favoriet hebben, mijn keuze is de sombere Das Verlies (in een demoversie), maar ook D-Day 2001 waarin je duidelijk nog de wave-invloeden van Davids hoort.

Het is maar hoe je het bekijkt natuurlijk,eigenlijk klinkt Ewig best poppy. Geniess noch so lange da es zijn de woorden van Schwanengesang, wat nadien volgt is pure destructie.

Misschien is drie uur wat te veel van het goede, toch een absolute aanrader.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Other reviews from XOTOX
XOTOX • Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers