tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XOTOX - Essentials

XOTOX

Essentials

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndustrialPower ElectronicsTechno Body Music

[80/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Xotox, the industrial project by Andreas David almost exists for twenty years. Music that is characterized by both relentless beats and an irresistible rhythm. A golden combination that made Xotox one of the greatest in the genre. Time to release a compilation, thirty five tracks spread on two discs and added (so the loyal fans also have something) with remixes and demos. It is an impossible task to describe all the tracks, so we picked the highlights (at least for us). Essentials is indeed the ideal opportunity for the industrial fans to explore Xotox, although we do not think there are many indus fans around who do not know this German band.

Lichtlos, the title track from the album that appeared in 2003 immediately leads you to the dance floor. This is power noise with an industrial sound that works on our dance muscles. From the same album you get Nothing, a track that consists almost of beats only. You can’t hear anything more dark. Eisenkiller sounds, just like Zweischlicht and Mechanische Unruhe (from the ep Die Unruhe) very macabre. Very hard indus beats with icy German lyrics.

Sometimes Xotox is experimental, but it is also perfect stuff for the alternative dance floor. The beats (you better say sledgehammers) at Nasse Wände are hard to keep track of, this is music that keeps you awake!

What makes Xotox so great (and popular among the indus fans) is the variation Andreas David uses in his compositions, Dunkelheit (those titles) has a high Aphex Twin content, this assault on your ears (Xo)Toxic is excellent power noise.

Sometimes it's funny as Rhythmuskaputt, or harsh electro like Industrial Madness (a name that needs no explanation). Everyone will have his own favorite, my choice is the gloomy Das Verlies (in the demo version), as well as D-Day 2001 in which you still can hear David’s wave influences.

It's just how you consider things of course, but Ewig sounds quite poppy. Genieß nor so long da es are the words of Schwanengesang, what follows after is pure destruction.

Maybe three hours is a bit too much, however, Essentials is an absolute must.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Xotox, het indusproject van Andreas Davids, bestaat bijna twintig jaar. Muziek die gekenmerkt wordt door zowel meedogenloze beats als een onweerstaanbaar ritme. Een gouden combinatie die ervoor zorgde dat Xotox één van de allergrootste in het genre werd. Hoog tijd dus om een degelijke compilatie uit te brengen, vijfendertig tracks verspreid over twee schijfjes en aangevuld (zodat ook de trouwe fan er iets aan heeft) met remixes en demos. Het is een onmogelijke taak om alle tracks te beschrijven, wij kozen er de hoogtepunten uit (althans voor ons). Essentials is dan ook de ideale mogelijkheid voor de industrial liefhebber om Xotox te ontdekken, ofschoon we niet denken dat er veel indusfans rondlopen die deze Duitse act niet kennen.

Lichtlos, de titeltrack uit de in 2003 verschenen cd en tevens opener, drijft je meteen de dansvloer op. Dit is powernoise met een industrialgeluid dat op de dansspieren werkt. Uit diezelfde cd komt ook Nothing, een track die bijna uit louter beats bestaat. Donkerder kan moeilijk. Eisenkiller klinkt, net als Zweischlicht en Mechanische Unruhe (van de ep Die Unruhe), zeer macaber. Loeiharde indusbeats met ijskoude Duitse lyrics.

Soms gaat Xotox de experimentele toer op, maar het is tevens voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer. De beats (zeg maar mokerslagen) op Nasse Wände zijn nauwelijks bij te houden, dit is muziek die je wakker houdt!

Wat Xotox zo groots (en populair bij de indusfans maakt) is de variatie die Andreas Davids in zijn composities gebruikt, Dunkelheit (die titels) heeft een hoog Aphex Twin-gehalte en de aanslag op je oren die (Xo)Toxic is, kun je onderbrengen als niet te versmaden powernoise.

Soms is het ook grappig zoals Rhythmuskaputt, of wordt het harsh electro zoals op Industrial Madness (een naam zonder uitleg). Iedereen zal wel zijn eigen favoriet hebben, mijn keuze is de sombere Das Verlies (in een demoversie), maar ook D-Day 2001 waarin je duidelijk nog de wave-invloeden van Davids hoort.

Het is maar hoe je het bekijkt natuurlijk,eigenlijk klinkt Ewig best poppy. Geniess noch so lange da es zijn de woorden van Schwanengesang, wat nadien volgt is pure destructie.

Misschien is drie uur wat te veel van het goede, toch een absolute aanrader.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Other reviews from XOTOX
XOTOX • Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
ROUGE • Ultimatum
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux