tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XOTOX - Essentials

XOTOX

Essentials

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndustrialPower ElectronicsTechno Body Music

[80/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Xotox, the industrial project by Andreas David almost exists for twenty years. Music that is characterized by both relentless beats and an irresistible rhythm. A golden combination that made Xotox one of the greatest in the genre. Time to release a compilation, thirty five tracks spread on two discs and added (so the loyal fans also have something) with remixes and demos. It is an impossible task to describe all the tracks, so we picked the highlights (at least for us). Essentials is indeed the ideal opportunity for the industrial fans to explore Xotox, although we do not think there are many indus fans around who do not know this German band.

Lichtlos, the title track from the album that appeared in 2003 immediately leads you to the dance floor. This is power noise with an industrial sound that works on our dance muscles. From the same album you get Nothing, a track that consists almost of beats only. You can’t hear anything more dark. Eisenkiller sounds, just like Zweischlicht and Mechanische Unruhe (from the ep Die Unruhe) very macabre. Very hard indus beats with icy German lyrics.

Sometimes Xotox is experimental, but it is also perfect stuff for the alternative dance floor. The beats (you better say sledgehammers) at Nasse Wände are hard to keep track of, this is music that keeps you awake!

What makes Xotox so great (and popular among the indus fans) is the variation Andreas David uses in his compositions, Dunkelheit (those titles) has a high Aphex Twin content, this assault on your ears (Xo)Toxic is excellent power noise.

Sometimes it's funny as Rhythmuskaputt, or harsh electro like Industrial Madness (a name that needs no explanation). Everyone will have his own favorite, my choice is the gloomy Das Verlies (in the demo version), as well as D-Day 2001 in which you still can hear David’s wave influences.

It's just how you consider things of course, but Ewig sounds quite poppy. Genieß nor so long da es are the words of Schwanengesang, what follows after is pure destruction.

Maybe three hours is a bit too much, however, Essentials is an absolute must.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Xotox, het indusproject van Andreas Davids, bestaat bijna twintig jaar. Muziek die gekenmerkt wordt door zowel meedogenloze beats als een onweerstaanbaar ritme. Een gouden combinatie die ervoor zorgde dat Xotox één van de allergrootste in het genre werd. Hoog tijd dus om een degelijke compilatie uit te brengen, vijfendertig tracks verspreid over twee schijfjes en aangevuld (zodat ook de trouwe fan er iets aan heeft) met remixes en demos. Het is een onmogelijke taak om alle tracks te beschrijven, wij kozen er de hoogtepunten uit (althans voor ons). Essentials is dan ook de ideale mogelijkheid voor de industrial liefhebber om Xotox te ontdekken, ofschoon we niet denken dat er veel indusfans rondlopen die deze Duitse act niet kennen.

Lichtlos, de titeltrack uit de in 2003 verschenen cd en tevens opener, drijft je meteen de dansvloer op. Dit is powernoise met een industrialgeluid dat op de dansspieren werkt. Uit diezelfde cd komt ook Nothing, een track die bijna uit louter beats bestaat. Donkerder kan moeilijk. Eisenkiller klinkt, net als Zweischlicht en Mechanische Unruhe (van de ep Die Unruhe), zeer macaber. Loeiharde indusbeats met ijskoude Duitse lyrics.

Soms gaat Xotox de experimentele toer op, maar het is tevens voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer. De beats (zeg maar mokerslagen) op Nasse Wände zijn nauwelijks bij te houden, dit is muziek die je wakker houdt!

Wat Xotox zo groots (en populair bij de indusfans maakt) is de variatie die Andreas Davids in zijn composities gebruikt, Dunkelheit (die titels) heeft een hoog Aphex Twin-gehalte en de aanslag op je oren die (Xo)Toxic is, kun je onderbrengen als niet te versmaden powernoise.

Soms is het ook grappig zoals Rhythmuskaputt, of wordt het harsh electro zoals op Industrial Madness (een naam zonder uitleg). Iedereen zal wel zijn eigen favoriet hebben, mijn keuze is de sombere Das Verlies (in een demoversie), maar ook D-Day 2001 waarin je duidelijk nog de wave-invloeden van Davids hoort.

Het is maar hoe je het bekijkt natuurlijk,eigenlijk klinkt Ewig best poppy. Geniess noch so lange da es zijn de woorden van Schwanengesang, wat nadien volgt is pure destructie.

Misschien is drie uur wat te veel van het goede, toch een absolute aanrader.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Other reviews from XOTOX
XOTOX • Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked