tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : XOTOX - Essentials

XOTOX

Essentials

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndustrialPower ElectronicsTechno Body Music

[80/100]   

Dark Dimensions
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Xotox, the industrial project by Andreas David almost exists for twenty years. Music that is characterized by both relentless beats and an irresistible rhythm. A golden combination that made Xotox one of the greatest in the genre. Time to release a compilation, thirty five tracks spread on two discs and added (so the loyal fans also have something) with remixes and demos. It is an impossible task to describe all the tracks, so we picked the highlights (at least for us). Essentials is indeed the ideal opportunity for the industrial fans to explore Xotox, although we do not think there are many indus fans around who do not know this German band.

Lichtlos, the title track from the album that appeared in 2003 immediately leads you to the dance floor. This is power noise with an industrial sound that works on our dance muscles. From the same album you get Nothing, a track that consists almost of beats only. You can’t hear anything more dark. Eisenkiller sounds, just like Zweischlicht and Mechanische Unruhe (from the ep Die Unruhe) very macabre. Very hard indus beats with icy German lyrics.

Sometimes Xotox is experimental, but it is also perfect stuff for the alternative dance floor. The beats (you better say sledgehammers) at Nasse Wände are hard to keep track of, this is music that keeps you awake!

What makes Xotox so great (and popular among the indus fans) is the variation Andreas David uses in his compositions, Dunkelheit (those titles) has a high Aphex Twin content, this assault on your ears (Xo)Toxic is excellent power noise.

Sometimes it's funny as Rhythmuskaputt, or harsh electro like Industrial Madness (a name that needs no explanation). Everyone will have his own favorite, my choice is the gloomy Das Verlies (in the demo version), as well as D-Day 2001 in which you still can hear David’s wave influences.

It's just how you consider things of course, but Ewig sounds quite poppy. Genieß nor so long da es are the words of Schwanengesang, what follows after is pure destruction.

Maybe three hours is a bit too much, however, Essentials is an absolute must.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Xotox, het indusproject van Andreas Davids, bestaat bijna twintig jaar. Muziek die gekenmerkt wordt door zowel meedogenloze beats als een onweerstaanbaar ritme. Een gouden combinatie die ervoor zorgde dat Xotox één van de allergrootste in het genre werd. Hoog tijd dus om een degelijke compilatie uit te brengen, vijfendertig tracks verspreid over twee schijfjes en aangevuld (zodat ook de trouwe fan er iets aan heeft) met remixes en demos. Het is een onmogelijke taak om alle tracks te beschrijven, wij kozen er de hoogtepunten uit (althans voor ons). Essentials is dan ook de ideale mogelijkheid voor de industrial liefhebber om Xotox te ontdekken, ofschoon we niet denken dat er veel indusfans rondlopen die deze Duitse act niet kennen.

Lichtlos, de titeltrack uit de in 2003 verschenen cd en tevens opener, drijft je meteen de dansvloer op. Dit is powernoise met een industrialgeluid dat op de dansspieren werkt. Uit diezelfde cd komt ook Nothing, een track die bijna uit louter beats bestaat. Donkerder kan moeilijk. Eisenkiller klinkt, net als Zweischlicht en Mechanische Unruhe (van de ep Die Unruhe), zeer macaber. Loeiharde indusbeats met ijskoude Duitse lyrics.

Soms gaat Xotox de experimentele toer op, maar het is tevens voer voor de alternatieve dansvloer. De beats (zeg maar mokerslagen) op Nasse Wände zijn nauwelijks bij te houden, dit is muziek die je wakker houdt!

Wat Xotox zo groots (en populair bij de indusfans maakt) is de variatie die Andreas Davids in zijn composities gebruikt, Dunkelheit (die titels) heeft een hoog Aphex Twin-gehalte en de aanslag op je oren die (Xo)Toxic is, kun je onderbrengen als niet te versmaden powernoise.

Soms is het ook grappig zoals Rhythmuskaputt, of wordt het harsh electro zoals op Industrial Madness (een naam zonder uitleg). Iedereen zal wel zijn eigen favoriet hebben, mijn keuze is de sombere Das Verlies (in een demoversie), maar ook D-Day 2001 waarin je duidelijk nog de wave-invloeden van Davids hoort.

Het is maar hoe je het bekijkt natuurlijk,eigenlijk klinkt Ewig best poppy. Geniess noch so lange da es zijn de woorden van Schwanengesang, wat nadien volgt is pure destructie.

Misschien is drie uur wat te veel van het goede, toch een absolute aanrader.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
FABIO VITELLI (HIDDEN PLACE)
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
ERIC RANDOM • Words Made Flesh
OMD • Architecture and Morality / Dazzle Ships Live
SEVERED HEADS • Stretcher

 

Other reviews from XOTOX
XOTOX • Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench

 

Same genre: POWER ELECTRONICS
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
CRUISE (CTRL) • Let's Rock
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 25 Years of Hands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
ILLEGAL TRADE • Acid For The Royal Family
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan