tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

ROLAND BEELEN

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Peek-A-Boo is very honored with Roland Beelen's Ten Albums that left a mark on his life. Roland was involved in nearly everything that was Belgian (from Siglo XX to Nacht Und Nebel). He was one of the driving forces behind the new beat and of course the CEO of Antler Records.

I prefer to name the 10 albums that changed my life in a chronological order. 10 albums that more or less determined my life, 10 albums that left strong memories and that carved my soul because they made me the person that I am today. It starts in 1971 when I was a longhaired controversial 15 year old boy.

1. YOKO ONO - Fly
A double album, still carrying the split of the Beatles in its grooves and containing mostly avant-gardistic tracks, build around the primal scream of Yoko (it made my mother crazy). This album was my first introduction to avant-garde in art, to PopArt, to Andy Warhol, The Velvet Underground, Nico and so much more that I still fancy a lot, even after all these years. Favourite tracks: Don’t worry Kyoko and Mindtrain.

2. JOHN LENNON - Sometime in New York City
What else could it be after I digested the first one. With this album I discovered my social engagement, my left wing side. The record showed the wounds of the world's social injustice and to me it was an invitation to join the barricades. With this album I first got to know Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention, featured on side 4 of this double album in a jam session with Lennon and Ono. Favourite tracks: Angela (Davis) and Sunday Bloody Sunday.

Back to 1977-1978, Punk was the next big thing since 2 years. My discovery trip through numerous bands like Sex Pistols, The Clash, Elvis Costello, The Buzzcocks and many, many others brought me to one memorable album, and probably the best punk album ever.

3. THE ADVERTS - Crossing The Red Sea
Songs like Bored Teenagers, and Gary Gilmore’s Eyes still sound like hymns to me. The Adverts, a bunch of punks learning to play guitar and bass, made the one album that threw all barriers over board for those who wanted to make music themselves. From that moment on, my life would only be about music, playing, producing, releasing records, etc. 35 years later I got to know TV Smith personally and I discovered a fine man, a great songwriter and performer (250 gigs a year) playing his musical legacy all over Europe. His last album I Delete is a masterpiece.

4. BRIAN ENO - Before and After Science
I discovered this album from 1977 on a CD re-release in 1985. Right after I consciencely got burried in the complete works of Eno, with an overwhelming fascination for sound and taperecorders. Favourite tracks: Here He Comes and By this River.

5. DAVID BOWIE -Low
As I could sing (read recite) the complete Bowie discography from start to finish, this album Low of 1977 was a real smack in the face. Eno’s contributions to the album were simply fascinating and after a series of masterpieces Low was definitely the most innovating album he ever made and until 2016 certainly his best album to me. Favourite Tracks: Warszawa and Be my Wife.

6. JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleasures
This album certainly was the next smack in the face. There were so many cool bands coming from the then very famous Manchester scene, and this led me to a completely new discovery trip along UK New Wave bands and labels. Martin Hannett developed a sound that became a totally new worldwide trend in new wave. Favourite Tracks: She’s Lost Control and Shadowplay.

7. SIGLO XX - Siglo XX, double album studiosides en Live Sides.
After several years of intense collaboration with the band, this record is their most memorable to me. During the time I was working in Manchester on the Album Libreville by Biting Tongues, and with Suns of Arqa on the album Wadada Magic, this Siglo XX album was born. On the Studio Sides of this double album by Siglo XX I got really creatively involved in the making of the record (besides producing it). I travelled from Antwerp to London and Manchester with a 24 track tape and recorded overdubs with Eric Random, Howard Walmsley, Mohammad Omar, Mohammad Wali, Michael Wadada, Uli Krâmer and Tony Tundell. All fine musicians performing together on this album. Favourite Tracks: Some Have a Laughter and Guild and Desire.

8. AUGUSTUS PABLO - East of the River Nile
I discovered this reggae album only in 1985. Apart from the fact that East of the River Nile, a very beautiful album, got my full attention, it also led me indirectly to the On-U-Sound label and more particular to Adrian Sherwood. From then on, I got completely hooked on his label and his work with numerous artists. He seriously was of big influence on my work as a producer and live sound engineer.

9. THE ART OF NOISE - Who’s Afraid of the Art of Noise
The sound of Trevor Horn, Mr. Art of Noise, but also his work with Propaganda, Frankie Goes to Hollywood and Yes, was not always a proof of great musical taste, but his label ZTT was revolutionary at the time regarding mixing, sound production, sounds, effects and transparency in sound image. His work as a producer and sound engineer was groundbreaking for generations after him.

10. THE BROTHERS - The Brothers on Acid
An experiment of sound, EBM and oh so weird. I still love it. This album was the end of an era in the studio, recording, producing, mixing with numerous artists, too many to name. I am still very grateful to have worked with them all those years. After my time with Poesie Noire (Tales of Doom, Tetra, and multiple 12 inches), we founded the producers Trio Morton Sherman and Bellucci during the New Beat period. The Brothers was my last work with Casters and Gillis and also my farewell to the studio as a creator of sound and producer. From then on, the record company that I had founded with Maurice Engelen needed my full attention as a CEO. A wise, but nevertheless painfull decision.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Peek-A-Boo is zeer vereerd dat het aan Roland Beelen mocht vragen welke de tien platen zijn die een stempel op zijn leven hebben gedrukt. Hij was betrokken bij zowat alles wat Belgisch is (van Siglo XX tot Nacht Und Nebel). Hij was één van de drijvende krachten achter de new beat en natuurlijk ook het opperhoofd van Antler Records

Als ik 10 albums that changed my Life op een rijtje moet zetten, wil ik dat graag chronologisch doen. 10 albums die een wending hebben gegeven aan mijn leven, 10 albums die veel herinneringen nalaten, 10 albums die zelfs nu nog sporen achterlaten op mijn ziel omdat ze me voor een groot deel gemaakt hebben zoals ik nu ben.

Ik begin in 1971, ik was toen als langharige controversiële scholier 15 jaar oud.

1. YOKO ONO - Fly
Een dubbelalbum dat in zijn groeven de split van de Beatles meesleurt en dat vooral veel avant-gardistische tracks bevat, opgebouwd rond de primal scream van Yoko (mijn moeder werd er gek van). Het was mijn introductie tot de avant-garde in de kunst, tot de Pop-Art, tot Warhol, tot The Velvet Underground en nog zoveel meer waarvoor ik nu nog warm loop. Favoriete tracks: Don’t worry Kyoko en Mindtrain.

2. JOHN LENNON - Sometime in New York City
Een logisch vervolg op mijn nummer 1. Dit album duwde mij richting sociaal engagement, linkse rakker. De plaat was een vinger in de wonde van het sociaal onrecht en een dwingende uitnodiging om mee op de barricade te staan. Het was ook mijn eerste kennismaking met Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention die één kant van deze dubbelaar mochten vol jammen samen met Lennon en Ono. Favoriete tracks: Angela (over Angela Davis) en Sunday Bloody Sunday.

Ik ga naar 1977-1978: punk was al twee jaar the next big thing. En mijn ontdekkingsreis langs talloze bands, van de Sex Pistols tot The Clash, van Elvis Costello tot the Buzzcocks, bracht me bij één memorabel album en wellicht ook het beste punkalbum ooit...

3. THE ADVERTS - Crossing The Red Sea
Songs als Bored Teenagers, en Gary Gilmore’s Eyes zijn nog steeds hymnes voor mij. The Adverts, een stelletje punks dat net gitaar en bas leerde spelen, maakte de plaat die voor mij alle drempels wegnam om zelf muziek te maken. Vanaf nu zou mijn leven alleen nog uit muziek bestaan. 35 jaar later leerde ik TV Smith persoonlijk kennen, en ontdekte ik een fantastische songwriter en muzikant die nog steeds à rato van 250 keer per jaar zijn muzikale legacy opvoert in heel Europa. Zijn laatste album I Delete is een echt meesterwerk.

4. BRIAN ENO - Before and After Science
Ik ontdekte deze plaat uit 1977 van de cd-re-release in 1985. Hierna heb ik mij ondergedompeld in het complete werk van Eno, met een onweerstaanbare fascinatie voor geluid en bandopnametoestellen. Favoriete tracks: Here He Comes en By this River.

5. DAVID BOWIE - Low
Toen ik de volledige discografie van David Bowie al helemaal uit mijn hoofd kende en van al zijn platen de teksten kon citeren, was in 1977 Low een echte slag in het gezicht. Vooral het werk van Brian Eno op dit album was voor mij een ware ontdekking. Dit album van Bowie is na een hele reeks meesterwerken het meest vernieuwende en tot en met 2016 het beste dat hij ooit heeft gemaakt. Favoriete tracks: Warszawa en Be my Wife.

6. JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleasures
Dit album was nog een slag in het gezicht. Er kwamen zoveel goede bands uit de toenmalige Manchesterscène, wat leidde tot een totaal nieuwe ontdekkingstocht naar Britse new wave en labels. Vooral het werk en de sound van Martin Hannett was erg bepalend voor een nieuwe wereldwijde trend in de new wave. Favoriete tracks: She’s Lost Control en Shadowplay.

7. SIGLO XX - Siglo XX, dubbel album studiosides en Live Sides.
Na enkele jaren van intense samenwerking met Siglo XX, is deze plaat voor mij de meest memorabele. In de periode dat ik in Manchester aan het album LibreVille van Biting Tongues meewerkte en met Suns Of Arqa aan het album Wadada Magic, vond dit album zijn oorsprong. De StudioSides van het dubbelalbum is de plaat die ik samen met de band maakte en waar ik zelf het zwaarst mijn creatieve stempel op heb gedrukt. Er werd opgenomen in Manchester, Londen en Antwerpen. Ik kreeg topmuzikanten zoals Eric Random, Howard Walmsley, Mohammad Omar, Mohammad Wali, Michael Wadada, Uli Kramer en Tony Tundell samen op deze plaat en het geheel is nog steeds mijn favoriete Siglo XX-plaat. Favoriete Tracks: Some Have a Laughter en Guild and Desire.

8. AUGUSTUS PABLO - East of the River Nile
Ik ontdekte dit reggaealbum pas in 1985. Behalve het feit dat dit een echte mooie reggaeplaat is, leidde ze mij onrechtstreeks naar het On-U-Sound label en bovenal naar Adrian Sherwood. Vanaf toen was ik volledig verknocht aan het label en zijn producer. Het beïnvloedde mijn werk als producer en live sound engineer gedurende vele jaren.

9. THE ART OF NOISE - Who’s Afraid of the Art of Noise
De sound van Trevor Horn “Mr Art of Noise”, maar ook zijn werk met Propaganda, Frankie Goes to Hollywood en Yes, getuigt vaak niet alleen van een goede muzikale smaak, maar zijn ZTT-label was revolutionair voor wat betreft productie, sounds en effects. Zijn werk lag aan de basis van een heel nieuwe stijl van sound engineering en mixing.

10. THE BROTHERS - The Brothers on Acid
Een geluidsexperiment, EBM, and oh so weird. Ik hou er nog steeds van. Dit album was het einde van een era in de studio, recording, producing, mixing met talloze artiesten. Te veel om op te noemen. Ik ben ze nog steeds dankbaar met ze gewerkt te hebben. Na mijn periode van intense samenwerking met Poesie Noire (Tales of Doom, Tetra en een veelvoud van 12 inches) en het oprichten van het producerstrio Morton Sherman and Bellucci tijdens de new beat periode, was dit mijn laatste werk met Casters en Gillis, en ook mijn laatste werk als producer en creator of sound. Vanaf dan vroeg het platenlabel, door mij en Maurice Engelen opgericht, mijn volle aandacht als CEO. Een wijze, maar ook wel pijnlijke keuze.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : ROLAND BEELEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue