tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/02/2015 : SAINT SAVIOUR - In the Seams

SAINT SAVIOUR

In the Seams

MusicCD
AcousticFolkIndie

[88/100]   

surface area
22/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Becky Jones, aka Saint Saviour, is an English musician. She was formerly a member of the electro band The RGB and toured between 2009 and 2011 with Groove Armada, where she took care of the lead vocals. However, both musical projects have nothing in common with her solo work, which immediately proves her versatility.

In The Seams is her second solo album and contains folky indie songs, mostly with an acoustic guitar and sometimes with piano, percussion and a few strings in the background. But she mainly uses her voice and guitar to tell her stories, a bit like Isobel Campbell does.

Intro (sorry) is a beautiful intro of about five minutes. On Let it Go a piano, some drums and strings add atmosphere, a top song! Bang is her latest single and starts slowly, but it is worth waiting for because at the end a fine melody is unfolded.. No obvious choice for a single, but a perfect way to show what she stands for. I remember would be the more obivious choice for a single. James makes a good start with some xylophone or marimba and some wonderful vocals. St Malo is rather dark, due to the guitar parts.

An album that sounds more introverted than Union from 2012, with personal lyrics and a voice that can perform a lot of emotions.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/02/2015


NL

Becky Jones, alias Saint Saviour, is een Engelse muzikante. Ze was voorheen lid van de electroband The RGB’s en toerde tussen 2009 en 2011 met Groove Armada waar ze de vocals verzorgde. Maar, beide muzikale projecten hebben niets gemeen met haar solowerk, wat meteen haar veelzijdigheid aantoont.

In The Seams is haar tweede soloalbum en het bevat voornamelijk folkachtige indieliedjes. Soms wat zweverig, maar vooral eenvoudige muziek met een akoestische gitaar en soms wat piano, percussie en strijkers op de achtergrond. Maar ze gebruikt vooral stem en gitaar om haar verhaaltjes te vertellen, een beetje zoals Isobel Campbell dat doet.

 Intro (sorry) is een mooi opgebouwde intro/sfeerstukje van zo’n vijf minuten. Op Let it Go zorgen piano, spaarzaam drumwerk en strijkers voor de sfeer, een topnummer! Bang is haar nieuwste single en komt traag op gang, maar is het wachten waard want op het einde ontvouwt zich een fijne melodie. Geen evidente singlekeuze, wel een ideale manier om te tonen waar ze voor staat. I remember zou een evidentere singlekeuze zijn. Op James zorgt een xylofoon of marimba samen met heerlijke zanglijnen voor een goed begin. Even dreigt dat ineen te vallen, gelukkig krikken de strijkers het nummer op tijd weer op. St Malo is eerder donker vanwege de gitaar.

Zo krijgen we een album dat nog introverter klinkt dan Union uit 2012. Persoonlijke teksten en een stem die heel veel emoties kan vertolken. Je krijgt in totaal twaalf kleine nummers op een groot(s) album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/02/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire