tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/02/2015 : DENGUE FEVER - The Deepest Lake

DENGUE FEVER

The Deepest Lake

MusicCD
world music

[85/100]   

tuk tuk records
18/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from Los Angeles makes world music, with a female singer who sings in the style like one does in India or allied countries. But, it is more than that as their music is a mixture of lots of different styles: you hear echoes from Asia, American surf pop and there are some Latin-elements added. I must admit that I’m not quite keen on world music, but this CD can convince me nonetheless.

It is clear that this band's world music is heavily influenced by American styles. There are lots of nice tunes. One moment it feels like you are in the streets of India when hearing Tokay or Still Water Runs Deep, while a song like Rom Say Sok or Cardboard Castles gives you the feeling of having landed in some 60s movie, or even Grease! And of course there is a South-American feel too: just listen to the Latin beat in Ghost Voice.

A very strong album with not one weak song! And it is even recommended for those who actually don’t like world music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

NL

Deze zeskoppige band uit Los Angeles maakt wereldmuziek. De zangeres zingt in de stijl zoals men dat in India of aanverwante landen doet. Muzikaal is het een mengeling van heel wat verschillende invloeden: Azië, American surfpop en zelfs een vleugje Latin... Eerlijkheidshalve is wereldmuziek is niet meteen mijn ding, maar deze cd weet mij zonder meer te boeien. De muziek klinkt namelijk opzwepend en fris.

Het is wereldmuziek, maar wel gestoeld op een Amerikaanse leest. Aan leuke melodietjes is er ook geen gebrek, zo krijg je een album waarmee je je het ene moment in de straten van Cambodia of India waant (luister bijv. naar Tokay of Still Water Runs Deep ), op andere momenten lijkt het alsof je in een film uit de jaren zestig bent terechtgekomen, ik moet zelfs aan Grease of het universum van The B52’s denken (zoals in bijv. Rom Say Sok of Cardboard Castles). Daarnaast is er ook de Zuid-Amerikaanse stijl zoals in Ghost Voice: een heerlijke Latijnse Beat met Oosterse invloeden. Een heel sterk nummer, maar eigenlijk vind je geen zwakke of overbodige songs op dit album.

Dit knappe album vermengt op een originele manier een aantal wereldstijlen met elkaar en kan zeker ook mensen bekoren die niet echt fan zijn van wereldmuziek

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes