tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/02/2015 : DENGUE FEVER - The Deepest Lake

DENGUE FEVER

The Deepest Lake

MusicCD
world music

[85/100]   

tuk tuk records
18/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from Los Angeles makes world music, with a female singer who sings in the style like one does in India or allied countries. But, it is more than that as their music is a mixture of lots of different styles: you hear echoes from Asia, American surf pop and there are some Latin-elements added. I must admit that I’m not quite keen on world music, but this CD can convince me nonetheless.

It is clear that this band's world music is heavily influenced by American styles. There are lots of nice tunes. One moment it feels like you are in the streets of India when hearing Tokay or Still Water Runs Deep, while a song like Rom Say Sok or Cardboard Castles gives you the feeling of having landed in some 60s movie, or even Grease! And of course there is a South-American feel too: just listen to the Latin beat in Ghost Voice.

A very strong album with not one weak song! And it is even recommended for those who actually don’t like world music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

NL

Deze zeskoppige band uit Los Angeles maakt wereldmuziek. De zangeres zingt in de stijl zoals men dat in India of aanverwante landen doet. Muzikaal is het een mengeling van heel wat verschillende invloeden: Azië, American surfpop en zelfs een vleugje Latin... Eerlijkheidshalve is wereldmuziek is niet meteen mijn ding, maar deze cd weet mij zonder meer te boeien. De muziek klinkt namelijk opzwepend en fris.

Het is wereldmuziek, maar wel gestoeld op een Amerikaanse leest. Aan leuke melodietjes is er ook geen gebrek, zo krijg je een album waarmee je je het ene moment in de straten van Cambodia of India waant (luister bijv. naar Tokay of Still Water Runs Deep ), op andere momenten lijkt het alsof je in een film uit de jaren zestig bent terechtgekomen, ik moet zelfs aan Grease of het universum van The B52’s denken (zoals in bijv. Rom Say Sok of Cardboard Castles). Daarnaast is er ook de Zuid-Amerikaanse stijl zoals in Ghost Voice: een heerlijke Latijnse Beat met Oosterse invloeden. Een heel sterk nummer, maar eigenlijk vind je geen zwakke of overbodige songs op dit album.

Dit knappe album vermengt op een originele manier een aantal wereldstijlen met elkaar en kan zeker ook mensen bekoren die niet echt fan zijn van wereldmuziek

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

Music reviews

27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures
06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone