tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/02/2015 : DENGUE FEVER - The Deepest Lake

DENGUE FEVER

The Deepest Lake

MusicCD
world music

[85/100]   

tuk tuk records
18/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from Los Angeles makes world music, with a female singer who sings in the style like one does in India or allied countries. But, it is more than that as their music is a mixture of lots of different styles: you hear echoes from Asia, American surf pop and there are some Latin-elements added. I must admit that I’m not quite keen on world music, but this CD can convince me nonetheless.

It is clear that this band's world music is heavily influenced by American styles. There are lots of nice tunes. One moment it feels like you are in the streets of India when hearing Tokay or Still Water Runs Deep, while a song like Rom Say Sok or Cardboard Castles gives you the feeling of having landed in some 60s movie, or even Grease! And of course there is a South-American feel too: just listen to the Latin beat in Ghost Voice.

A very strong album with not one weak song! And it is even recommended for those who actually don’t like world music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

NL

Deze zeskoppige band uit Los Angeles maakt wereldmuziek. De zangeres zingt in de stijl zoals men dat in India of aanverwante landen doet. Muzikaal is het een mengeling van heel wat verschillende invloeden: Azië, American surfpop en zelfs een vleugje Latin... Eerlijkheidshalve is wereldmuziek is niet meteen mijn ding, maar deze cd weet mij zonder meer te boeien. De muziek klinkt namelijk opzwepend en fris.

Het is wereldmuziek, maar wel gestoeld op een Amerikaanse leest. Aan leuke melodietjes is er ook geen gebrek, zo krijg je een album waarmee je je het ene moment in de straten van Cambodia of India waant (luister bijv. naar Tokay of Still Water Runs Deep ), op andere momenten lijkt het alsof je in een film uit de jaren zestig bent terechtgekomen, ik moet zelfs aan Grease of het universum van The B52’s denken (zoals in bijv. Rom Say Sok of Cardboard Castles). Daarnaast is er ook de Zuid-Amerikaanse stijl zoals in Ghost Voice: een heerlijke Latijnse Beat met Oosterse invloeden. Een heel sterk nummer, maar eigenlijk vind je geen zwakke of overbodige songs op dit album.

Dit knappe album vermengt op een originele manier een aantal wereldstijlen met elkaar en kan zeker ook mensen bekoren die niet echt fan zijn van wereldmuziek

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.