tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/02/2015 : DENGUE FEVER - The Deepest Lake

DENGUE FEVER

The Deepest Lake

MusicCD
world music

[85/100]   

tuk tuk records
18/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from Los Angeles makes world music, with a female singer who sings in the style like one does in India or allied countries. But, it is more than that as their music is a mixture of lots of different styles: you hear echoes from Asia, American surf pop and there are some Latin-elements added. I must admit that I’m not quite keen on world music, but this CD can convince me nonetheless.

It is clear that this band's world music is heavily influenced by American styles. There are lots of nice tunes. One moment it feels like you are in the streets of India when hearing Tokay or Still Water Runs Deep, while a song like Rom Say Sok or Cardboard Castles gives you the feeling of having landed in some 60s movie, or even Grease! And of course there is a South-American feel too: just listen to the Latin beat in Ghost Voice.

A very strong album with not one weak song! And it is even recommended for those who actually don’t like world music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

NL

Deze zeskoppige band uit Los Angeles maakt wereldmuziek. De zangeres zingt in de stijl zoals men dat in India of aanverwante landen doet. Muzikaal is het een mengeling van heel wat verschillende invloeden: Azië, American surfpop en zelfs een vleugje Latin... Eerlijkheidshalve is wereldmuziek is niet meteen mijn ding, maar deze cd weet mij zonder meer te boeien. De muziek klinkt namelijk opzwepend en fris.

Het is wereldmuziek, maar wel gestoeld op een Amerikaanse leest. Aan leuke melodietjes is er ook geen gebrek, zo krijg je een album waarmee je je het ene moment in de straten van Cambodia of India waant (luister bijv. naar Tokay of Still Water Runs Deep ), op andere momenten lijkt het alsof je in een film uit de jaren zestig bent terechtgekomen, ik moet zelfs aan Grease of het universum van The B52’s denken (zoals in bijv. Rom Say Sok of Cardboard Castles). Daarnaast is er ook de Zuid-Amerikaanse stijl zoals in Ghost Voice: een heerlijke Latijnse Beat met Oosterse invloeden. Een heel sterk nummer, maar eigenlijk vind je geen zwakke of overbodige songs op dit album.

Dit knappe album vermengt op een originele manier een aantal wereldstijlen met elkaar en kan zeker ook mensen bekoren die niet echt fan zijn van wereldmuziek

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams