tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/02/2015 : DENGUE FEVER - The Deepest Lake

DENGUE FEVER

The Deepest Lake

MusicCD
world music

[85/100]   

tuk tuk records
18/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from Los Angeles makes world music, with a female singer who sings in the style like one does in India or allied countries. But, it is more than that as their music is a mixture of lots of different styles: you hear echoes from Asia, American surf pop and there are some Latin-elements added. I must admit that I’m not quite keen on world music, but this CD can convince me nonetheless.

It is clear that this band's world music is heavily influenced by American styles. There are lots of nice tunes. One moment it feels like you are in the streets of India when hearing Tokay or Still Water Runs Deep, while a song like Rom Say Sok or Cardboard Castles gives you the feeling of having landed in some 60s movie, or even Grease! And of course there is a South-American feel too: just listen to the Latin beat in Ghost Voice.

A very strong album with not one weak song! And it is even recommended for those who actually don’t like world music!

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

NL

Deze zeskoppige band uit Los Angeles maakt wereldmuziek. De zangeres zingt in de stijl zoals men dat in India of aanverwante landen doet. Muzikaal is het een mengeling van heel wat verschillende invloeden: Azië, American surfpop en zelfs een vleugje Latin... Eerlijkheidshalve is wereldmuziek is niet meteen mijn ding, maar deze cd weet mij zonder meer te boeien. De muziek klinkt namelijk opzwepend en fris.

Het is wereldmuziek, maar wel gestoeld op een Amerikaanse leest. Aan leuke melodietjes is er ook geen gebrek, zo krijg je een album waarmee je je het ene moment in de straten van Cambodia of India waant (luister bijv. naar Tokay of Still Water Runs Deep ), op andere momenten lijkt het alsof je in een film uit de jaren zestig bent terechtgekomen, ik moet zelfs aan Grease of het universum van The B52’s denken (zoals in bijv. Rom Say Sok of Cardboard Castles). Daarnaast is er ook de Zuid-Amerikaanse stijl zoals in Ghost Voice: een heerlijke Latijnse Beat met Oosterse invloeden. Een heel sterk nummer, maar eigenlijk vind je geen zwakke of overbodige songs op dit album.

Dit knappe album vermengt op een originele manier een aantal wereldstijlen met elkaar en kan zeker ook mensen bekoren die niet echt fan zijn van wereldmuziek

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jz0EJTuacf8#t=20

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born