tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/02/2015 : LISA CUTHBERT - Paramour

LISA CUTHBERT

Paramour

MusicCD
Dark PopSinger Songwriter

[95/100]   

Self-released
16/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lisa Cuthbert is an Irish singer and composer who has a powerful and unique voice that navigates between Irish folk, electronics and Rock-pop. You may already have seen her on stage, for example at the Amphi Festival in 2012, where she joined The Sisters Of Mercy during This Corrosion.

Meanwhile, this album is already out for a year, but I want to put this obscure gem under the spotlight. The lyrics are inspired by the stories of former convicts, prostitutes, mentally ill and unmarried mothers from Ireland, who worked in the so called Magdalene Launderies. Surely not the finest time you can imagine, a mood that you hear on the album as there is a quite dark atmosphere that dominates the sound.

Opener Destitute almost last eight minutes and immediately shows what she is capable of. The song develops into an Irish traditional as we know them from Clannad, while the piano accompanies the ethereal and mystical music. There are some poppy influences of Tori Amos, Kate Bush or Sinéad O'Connor.

Coils of blue is a piano song with strings, that is sung in a very intense way. That is also the case in Run and Jump, but the strings are replaced by a sober organ. Gartan Mother's Lullaby is a beautifully Irish traditional.The Balancing Act begins as a tune from a music box, but turns out to be a dark song of about ten minutes. The Sooner You Know is again a song with a catchy chorus and the structure of a pop song. Party's Over begins with some light trip-hop beats and piano, a successful combination. An ideal end for an album full of pain and sorrow.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/02/2015


NL

Lisa Cuthbert is een Ierse zangeres en componiste met een krachtige en unieke stem die op haar tweede album moeiteloos laveert tussen Ierse folk, elektronica en rockpop. Misschien heb je haar al eens aan het werk gezien. Op het Amphi-festival stond ze in 2012 op het podium met The Sisters Of Mercy met This Corrosion.

Intussen is het album al een jaar verkrijgbaar, maar toch wil ik dit obscure juweeltje absoluut in de spotlights plaatsen. De teksten zijn geïnspireerd door de verhalen van o.a. ex-gedetineerden, prostituees, geesteszieken en ongehuwde moeders die in Ierland in de Magdalena-wasserijen werkten. Dat was geen prettige tijd en dat hoor je op het album, dat een donkere en beklemmende sfeer kreeg. 

Met opener Destitute dat bijna 8 minuten duurt, geeft de zangeres meteen haar visitekaartje af. De song begint heel organisch met hier en daar wat tromgeroffel en dierengeluiden, en ontwikkelt zich tot een Ierse traditional zoals we die ook van Clannad kennen. De piano begeleidt de zweverige en mystieke muziek. Het nummer krijgt halfweg opeens een andere wending dankzij toegevoegde elektronica en drumwerk. Het tempo wordt opgevoerd en er komen popaccenten bij zoals we die ook van Tori Amos, Kate Bush of Sinéad O’ Connor kennen.

Coils of blue is een pianosong met strijkinstrumenten, dat heel intens wordt gezongen, net zoals Run and Jump, maar de strijkers zijn vervangen door een stemmig orgeltje.

Gartan Mother’s Lullaby is een mooi bewerkte Ierse traditional. Je snuift er de sfeer van het oude Ierland op dat toen nog onder de knoet van de Katholieke kerk zat.The Balancing Act begint als een deuntje van een muziekdoosje, maar ontpopt zich dan wel tot een donker nummer van zo’n tien minuten. Persoonlijk ligt de openingssong me nauwer aan het hart, toch is dat niet meer dan een kwestie van smaak.

The Sooner You Know is dan weer een nummer met een pakkend refrein, dat eerder de normale opbouw en structuur van een popsong heeft. Madame’s Secret Pain is een beetje vergelijkbaar met Destitute, behalve dat de wending in het nummer hier meer op een traditionele manier verloopt.

Party’s Over begint met wat lichte trip-hopbeats en piano, een geslaagde combinatie. Een ideale afsluiter voor een album vol pijn en smart. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/02/2015


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
01
On this day, 37 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht