tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent

ROBERT STROMBERG

Maleficent

Movie


[90/100]   

Walt Disney
19/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

After Marvel and Star Wars, it seems like the filming of ancient fairy tales has become the new goose with the golden eggs for Disney. Soon you may expect Cinderella with Lily James, but first there is of course the story of Sleeping Beauty. The introductory voice tells us that we do not know the real story: that is a task for Robert Stromberg, who previously was working as a designer of visual effects for big blockbusters (The Hunger Games, The Pirates Of The Caribbean).

The young Maleficent (Isobelle Molloy) is a fairy that protects the Moors against the cruel human beings. The intention is that no man enters their country, but as Maleficent’s heart melts for the young runaway Stefan (Michael Higgins0), the two promise to marry each other. Unfortunately the hunger for power is greater than for love. While making love, Stefan cut her wings off, forwards them to the dying king and in return is promised the throne. Maleficent, who meanwhile has grown up as a cruel bitch (Angelina Jolie), speaks a curse on the newborn princess Aurora (Elle Fanning): at the age of sixteen she will prick herself on a spinning wheel and then sleep forever, unless she gets a kiss that demonstrates true love.

For a while we thought that we had becoming a grandpa reading some fairy tale, but Stromberg manages to create a black story that is very uncommon for the Disney studios. The film is a colourful mix of Avatar and the darkest Tim Burton elements,whereby you are not a second annoyed by the silly story. Of course Maleficent is in the first place an Angelina Jolie-film. The role of the gothic bitch (well, actually she is more a victim) is perfect for Jolie. Strange as it may seem, it is probably her best role to date, which says perhaps more about her acting talent than about Maleficent, but anyway... It is clear that Stromberg was obliged to choose a midway between the Disney-corniness and his own urge to create something very dark. A pity, because in our opinion the story could even look more black, but the audience target of Disney just is children. But do not worry, even if you have nausea when walking through a fairy tale attraction park: Maleficent is a tip.

Didier BECU
19/02/2015


NL

Het verfilmen van stokoude sprookjes lijkt na Marvel en Star Wars de nieuwe kip met de gouden eieren voor Disney. Binnenkort mag je Cinderella met Lily James verwachten, maar eerst was er natuurlijk het verhaal over de schone slaapster. De inleidende stem vertelt ons echter dat we het echte verhaal niet kennen, een opgave voor Robert Stromberg die hiermee zijn filmdebuut maakt en die vroeger aan de slawg was als designer van visuele effects voor de grootste blockbusters (van The Hunger Games tot The Pirates Of The Carribean).

De jonge Maleficent (Isobelle Molloy) is een fee die de Moors beschermt tegen de wrede mensen. De bedoeling is dat geen mens hun land betreedt, maar als zij als kind de jonge weggelopen Stefan (Michael Higgins) ziet, smelt haar hart. De twee beloven elkaar eeuwige trouw, helaas is de honger naar macht groter dan die naar de liefde. Tijdens een vrijpartij knipt Stefan haar vleugels af, bezorgt die aan de stervende mensenkoning en in ruil mag hij voortaan op de troon zitten. Maleficent die ondertussen is opgegroeid als een wreedaardige feeks (Angelina Jolie) spreekt een vloek uit over de pas geboren prinses Aurora (Elle Fanning): op haar zestiende zal zij zich prikken aan een spinnewiel om vervolgens voor altijd te slapen, tenzij zij een kus krijgt die getuigt van echte liefde.

Voor eventjes dachten we dat we tante Terry zaliger imiteerden, maar Stromberg is er evenwel in geslaagd om een gitzwart sprookje te scheppen dat bijna ongehoord is voor de Disney-studio’s. De film is een bonte mix van de Avatar-ongein en het donkerste van wat ooit Tim Burton op het witte doek toverde, en daardoor zal je je dan ook geen seconde aan het lullige verhaaltje ergeren. Natuurlijk is Maleficent in de eerste plaats een Angelina Jolie-film. De rol van gotische feeks (nou ja, eigenlijk is zij gewoon het slachtoffer) is op Jolies lijf geschreven. Hoe raar het ook mag klinken: het is waarschijnlijk haar beste rol tot op heden, wat wellicht meer over haar acteertalent zegt dan over Maleficent, maar goed… Het is duidelijk dat Stromberg verplicht werd om een middenweg te kiezen tussen de Disney-meligheid en de drang om iets zeer donkers te scheppen. Jammer, want wat ons betreft mocht het verhaal er beslist nog wat zwarter uitzien, maar de doelgroep van Disney blijft nu eenmaal kinderen. Maar niet getreurd, zelfs indien je braakneigingen krijgt als je door De Efteling wandelt: Maleficent is een tip.

Didier BECU
19/02/2015


19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem