tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent

ROBERT STROMBERG

Maleficent

Movie


[90/100]   

Walt Disney
19/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

After Marvel and Star Wars, it seems like the filming of ancient fairy tales has become the new goose with the golden eggs for Disney. Soon you may expect Cinderella with Lily James, but first there is of course the story of Sleeping Beauty. The introductory voice tells us that we do not know the real story: that is a task for Robert Stromberg, who previously was working as a designer of visual effects for big blockbusters (The Hunger Games, The Pirates Of The Caribbean).

The young Maleficent (Isobelle Molloy) is a fairy that protects the Moors against the cruel human beings. The intention is that no man enters their country, but as Maleficent’s heart melts for the young runaway Stefan (Michael Higgins0), the two promise to marry each other. Unfortunately the hunger for power is greater than for love. While making love, Stefan cut her wings off, forwards them to the dying king and in return is promised the throne. Maleficent, who meanwhile has grown up as a cruel bitch (Angelina Jolie), speaks a curse on the newborn princess Aurora (Elle Fanning): at the age of sixteen she will prick herself on a spinning wheel and then sleep forever, unless she gets a kiss that demonstrates true love.

For a while we thought that we had becoming a grandpa reading some fairy tale, but Stromberg manages to create a black story that is very uncommon for the Disney studios. The film is a colourful mix of Avatar and the darkest Tim Burton elements,whereby you are not a second annoyed by the silly story. Of course Maleficent is in the first place an Angelina Jolie-film. The role of the gothic bitch (well, actually she is more a victim) is perfect for Jolie. Strange as it may seem, it is probably her best role to date, which says perhaps more about her acting talent than about Maleficent, but anyway... It is clear that Stromberg was obliged to choose a midway between the Disney-corniness and his own urge to create something very dark. A pity, because in our opinion the story could even look more black, but the audience target of Disney just is children. But do not worry, even if you have nausea when walking through a fairy tale attraction park: Maleficent is a tip.

Didier BECU
19/02/2015


NL

Het verfilmen van stokoude sprookjes lijkt na Marvel en Star Wars de nieuwe kip met de gouden eieren voor Disney. Binnenkort mag je Cinderella met Lily James verwachten, maar eerst was er natuurlijk het verhaal over de schone slaapster. De inleidende stem vertelt ons echter dat we het echte verhaal niet kennen, een opgave voor Robert Stromberg die hiermee zijn filmdebuut maakt en die vroeger aan de slawg was als designer van visuele effects voor de grootste blockbusters (van The Hunger Games tot The Pirates Of The Carribean).

De jonge Maleficent (Isobelle Molloy) is een fee die de Moors beschermt tegen de wrede mensen. De bedoeling is dat geen mens hun land betreedt, maar als zij als kind de jonge weggelopen Stefan (Michael Higgins) ziet, smelt haar hart. De twee beloven elkaar eeuwige trouw, helaas is de honger naar macht groter dan die naar de liefde. Tijdens een vrijpartij knipt Stefan haar vleugels af, bezorgt die aan de stervende mensenkoning en in ruil mag hij voortaan op de troon zitten. Maleficent die ondertussen is opgegroeid als een wreedaardige feeks (Angelina Jolie) spreekt een vloek uit over de pas geboren prinses Aurora (Elle Fanning): op haar zestiende zal zij zich prikken aan een spinnewiel om vervolgens voor altijd te slapen, tenzij zij een kus krijgt die getuigt van echte liefde.

Voor eventjes dachten we dat we tante Terry zaliger imiteerden, maar Stromberg is er evenwel in geslaagd om een gitzwart sprookje te scheppen dat bijna ongehoord is voor de Disney-studio’s. De film is een bonte mix van de Avatar-ongein en het donkerste van wat ooit Tim Burton op het witte doek toverde, en daardoor zal je je dan ook geen seconde aan het lullige verhaaltje ergeren. Natuurlijk is Maleficent in de eerste plaats een Angelina Jolie-film. De rol van gotische feeks (nou ja, eigenlijk is zij gewoon het slachtoffer) is op Jolies lijf geschreven. Hoe raar het ook mag klinken: het is waarschijnlijk haar beste rol tot op heden, wat wellicht meer over haar acteertalent zegt dan over Maleficent, maar goed… Het is duidelijk dat Stromberg verplicht werd om een middenweg te kiezen tussen de Disney-meligheid en de drang om iets zeer donkers te scheppen. Jammer, want wat ons betreft mocht het verhaal er beslist nog wat zwarter uitzien, maar de doelgroep van Disney blijft nu eenmaal kinderen. Maar niet getreurd, zelfs indien je braakneigingen krijgt als je door De Efteling wandelt: Maleficent is een tip.

Didier BECU
19/02/2015


19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent 19/02/2015 : ROBERT STROMBERG - Maleficent

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis