tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARADE GROUND - Parade Ground

PARADE GROUND

Parade Ground

MusicCD


[95/100]   

Daft Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Music fans don’t stop talking about Parade Ground. For most people, Jean-Marc and Pierre Pauly are just two musicians that had (in fact have) a connection with Daniel B. and Patrick Codenys of Front 242. Of course Parade Ground is much more than that! Perhaps no one manages to describe the definite sound of Parade Ground. Is it minimal synth pop? Perhaps, albeit with a very destructive side.

The original records by Parade Ground are sold out, and several compilations were released since on labels like Dark Entries Records, Other Voices Records and Infacted. However, the ultimate CD is now out on Daft Records, including all singles and maxi’s of the band, remastered by Eric Van Wonterghem.

The first release, Moan On The Sly, showed the typical sound that would become Parade Ground’s trademark: minimal synth with Dadaism. On the B-side of the debut, which was released on New Dance (a historical label as it released the early material of Front 242), it was clear that Jean-Marc and Pierre liked to experiment.

In Riddle In The Stained Glass Windows you recognize the influence of Minimal Compact that had released One By One a year earlier. When The Fever Stops was nothing more than the first sign that this band would play dirty games with your soul.

Parade Ground was never able to benefit from what was called Belpop (Belgian pop) in the 80s. Maybe it has something to do with the complicated structure of Belgium, but Parade Ground was mainly popular in its hometown Brussels, and only known by the freaks in Flanders. The second release Man In Trance appeared on Mask Music (known by record collectors, because this label released both Zwischenfall and Front 242).

Retired was more danceable, while on The Net you hear the influences of Geography.

The first two records by Parade Ground are indeed sublime, but certainly not the easiest ones. Difficult to describe, but at least the harbinger of a sound that was dominated by fear.

A year later Took Advantage appeared on Another Side (a sub-label of Les Disques du Crepuscule). Personally, I've always found it strange that Moral Support wasn’t the A-side. Not because the poppy Took Advantage is bad, but simply because Moral Support is one of the best tracks by Parade Ground.

And then in 1987: the big breakthrough (or what it should have been). Jean-Marc and Pierre were signed at PIAS, in the 80s a real wave label with releases from bands like Dole, The Weathermen and Trisomie 21. The first maxi was Dual Perspective with a B-side that was produced by Colin Newman of Wire (the A-side by Daniel B.). Gold Rush is without doubt one of the most famous compositions the Pauly brothers ever made.

It doesn't sound original, but Strange World is for me the best song by Parade Ground... probably because synthpop (or whatever it is !) never sounded so perfect.

The compilation ends with Hollywood (including the original remix The Sexiest Fish, which was also on the 12”). And then it was over. Do not worry though, as nine years later they would rise again, and how!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Parade Ground, het is een legende waarover heel wat muziekfans (gelukkig) niet uitgepraat raken. In het grote (oppervlakkige) boek van de muziekgeschiedenis zal je wel ergens kunnen lezen dat Jean-Marc en Pierre Pauly een connectie met Daniel B. en Patrick Codenys van Front 242 hadden (en nog altijd hebben). Natuurlijk is Parade Ground meer dan dat! Wellicht zal niemand erin slagen om het geluid van deze Brusselse band precies te omschrijven. Minimale synthpop? Wellicht wel, maar dan wel met een zeer destructief kantje.

De originele platen van Parade Ground zijn ondertussen al lang uitverkocht en in het kielzog van deze zoektocht verschenen er op Dark Entries Records, Other Voices Records en Infacted, drie verschillende compilaties. De ultieme cd is nu echter op Daft Records verschenen met daarop alle singles en maxi’s van de band, volledig geremasterd door Eric Van Wonterghem.

De debuutsingle Moan On The Sly had meteen het typische geluid dat het handelsmerk werd van de broertjes Pauly: minimale synth vermengd met Dadaïsme. Op het B-kantje van het debuut op New Dance (het historische label waarop ook de eerste releases van Front 242 verschenen) werd duidelijk dat Jean-Marc en Pierre van experimenteren houden.

In Riddle In The Stained Glass Windows herken je duidelijk invloeden van Minimal Compact, dat net een jaartje eerder One By One had uitgebracht. When The Fever Stops was niet meer dan de voorbode van wat dat deze band met je ziel van plan was.

Parade Ground heeft nooit echt kunnen profiteren van de Belpop-explosie uit de jaren 80. Integendeel. Misschien heeft het iets te maken met de communautaire verschillen in dit land, maar Parade Ground was voornamelijk geliefd in zijn thuisstad Brussel, maar in Vlaanderen zo goed als onbekend (behalve bij kenners natuurlijk). De tweede release Man In Trance verscheen op Mask Music (bekend bij platenverzamelaars, want daarop verschenen zowel de releases van Zwischenfall als van Front 242).

Retired is iets meer dansbaar, terwijl je in The Net duidelijk de invloeden van Geography hoort.

De eerste twee platen van Parade Ground zijn weliswaar subliem, maar zeker niet de gemakkelijkste. Moeilijk te omschrijven, maar in ieder geval de voorbode van een geluid dat vooral werd gedomineerd door angst.

Een jaar later verscheen Took Advantage op Another Side (een sublabel van Les Disques Du Crépuscule). Zelf heb ik het steeds vreemd gevonden dat men destijds niet de B-kant (Moral Support) als hoofdtrack koos. Niet omdat het poppy Took Advantage slecht is, gewoon omdat Moral Support één van de betere songs van Parade Ground is.

En dan in 1987: de grote doorbraak (of wat het had moeten worden). Jean-Marc en Pierre belandden op PIAS, dat toen (in de jaren 80) een echt wavelabel was met releases van bands als Dole, The Weathermen en Trisomie 21.

De eerste maxi was Dual Perspective, waarvan de B-kant door Wire-frontman Colin Newman was geproducet (de A-kant door Daniel B.). Gold Rush is zonder twijfel één van de bekendste composities van de broertjes Pauly.

Origineel klinkt het niet, maar Strange World is voor mij het allerbeste nummer van Parade Ground... waarschijnlijk omdat synthpop (of wat het ook is!) voorheen nooit zo perfect klonk.

De compilatie wordt afgesloten met Hollywood (inclusief de originele remix The Sexiest Fish die ook op de maxi stond). En toen was het afgelopen, net als met de band. Geen nood echter, negen jaar later zouden ze verrijzen, en hoe!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire