tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

Berlin-Ouest is a young Belgian band that already is a solid name in the local post-punk scene. We asked one of the founders, Nicolas Van Damme, to present the ten records that changed his life.

1. QUEEN - Greatest Hits I & II 
This is my first album, two in one, I was 9 years old. I was a big fan of Queen, and afterwards rock 'n roll became a passion (those guys were gods).

2. U2 - The Joshua Tree 
Magical tracks, and Bono had a real voice at the time. If you travel to other countries in all seasons, listen to The Joshua Tree, it is brilliant.

3. JOY DIVISION – The Best Of 
I learned to love post-punk with this album : energy, emotion, magic and rage. The kind of music I always was looking for, and Joy Division is the bible for this kind of music to me, and I'm not the only one to think so.

4. THE CURE – Pornography
After a lot of spins, this album is completely in my soul (laughs). A Strange Day is a great song and I've discovered cold wave this way.

5. LA FEMME – Psycho Tropical Berlin 
A real new wave revival, a mix of nostalgy and modernity in French, that is why I created my band Berlin-Ouest.

6. PLACEBO – Placebo
What a great rock band! Brian Molko and his guys cultivated ambiguity like David Bowie, but with more guitars and heavy drums.

7. RENAUD – Boucan d'Enfer
One of my heroes, a man who can change the world with words. When I think of his lyrics, I try to be like him, he’s a real inspiration since I’m 11. And this album is Renaud's come back after dark years of alcohol and self-destruct.

8. PIERRE RAPSAT – Tous Les Rêves
A live album, my father gave it to me after the death of Pierre Rapsat. For a lot of Belgians his death was a shock, beautiful songs and a great singer.

9. LED ZEPPELIN - I
I had a great passion for 70's rock when I was teenager, Jimmy Page was my favorite guitarist and I copied his guitar style. Now I've forgotten Led Zeppelin, but I know how great the band was.

10. DIRE STRAITS – On The Night
One of the albums that makes me cry with the saddest songs (laughs). A great live album and a perfect ending for this band. Dire Straits changed my musical perception and my life too.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart