tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

Berlin-Ouest is a young Belgian band that already is a solid name in the local post-punk scene. We asked one of the founders, Nicolas Van Damme, to present the ten records that changed his life.

1. QUEEN - Greatest Hits I & II 
This is my first album, two in one, I was 9 years old. I was a big fan of Queen, and afterwards rock 'n roll became a passion (those guys were gods).

2. U2 - The Joshua Tree 
Magical tracks, and Bono had a real voice at the time. If you travel to other countries in all seasons, listen to The Joshua Tree, it is brilliant.

3. JOY DIVISION – The Best Of 
I learned to love post-punk with this album : energy, emotion, magic and rage. The kind of music I always was looking for, and Joy Division is the bible for this kind of music to me, and I'm not the only one to think so.

4. THE CURE – Pornography
After a lot of spins, this album is completely in my soul (laughs). A Strange Day is a great song and I've discovered cold wave this way.

5. LA FEMME – Psycho Tropical Berlin 
A real new wave revival, a mix of nostalgy and modernity in French, that is why I created my band Berlin-Ouest.

6. PLACEBO – Placebo
What a great rock band! Brian Molko and his guys cultivated ambiguity like David Bowie, but with more guitars and heavy drums.

7. RENAUD – Boucan d'Enfer
One of my heroes, a man who can change the world with words. When I think of his lyrics, I try to be like him, he’s a real inspiration since I’m 11. And this album is Renaud's come back after dark years of alcohol and self-destruct.

8. PIERRE RAPSAT – Tous Les Rêves
A live album, my father gave it to me after the death of Pierre Rapsat. For a lot of Belgians his death was a shock, beautiful songs and a great singer.

9. LED ZEPPELIN - I
I had a great passion for 70's rock when I was teenager, Jimmy Page was my favorite guitarist and I copied his guitar style. Now I've forgotten Led Zeppelin, but I know how great the band was.

10. DIRE STRAITS – On The Night
One of the albums that makes me cry with the saddest songs (laughs). A great live album and a perfect ending for this band. Dire Straits changed my musical perception and my life too.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden