tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

Berlin-Ouest is a young Belgian band that already is a solid name in the local post-punk scene. We asked one of the founders, Nicolas Van Damme, to present the ten records that changed his life.

1. QUEEN - Greatest Hits I & II 
This is my first album, two in one, I was 9 years old. I was a big fan of Queen, and afterwards rock 'n roll became a passion (those guys were gods).

2. U2 - The Joshua Tree 
Magical tracks, and Bono had a real voice at the time. If you travel to other countries in all seasons, listen to The Joshua Tree, it is brilliant.

3. JOY DIVISION – The Best Of 
I learned to love post-punk with this album : energy, emotion, magic and rage. The kind of music I always was looking for, and Joy Division is the bible for this kind of music to me, and I'm not the only one to think so.

4. THE CURE – Pornography
After a lot of spins, this album is completely in my soul (laughs). A Strange Day is a great song and I've discovered cold wave this way.

5. LA FEMME – Psycho Tropical Berlin 
A real new wave revival, a mix of nostalgy and modernity in French, that is why I created my band Berlin-Ouest.

6. PLACEBO – Placebo
What a great rock band! Brian Molko and his guys cultivated ambiguity like David Bowie, but with more guitars and heavy drums.

7. RENAUD – Boucan d'Enfer
One of my heroes, a man who can change the world with words. When I think of his lyrics, I try to be like him, he’s a real inspiration since I’m 11. And this album is Renaud's come back after dark years of alcohol and self-destruct.

8. PIERRE RAPSAT – Tous Les Rêves
A live album, my father gave it to me after the death of Pierre Rapsat. For a lot of Belgians his death was a shock, beautiful songs and a great singer.

9. LED ZEPPELIN - I
I had a great passion for 70's rock when I was teenager, Jimmy Page was my favorite guitarist and I copied his guitar style. Now I've forgotten Led Zeppelin, but I know how great the band was.

10. DIRE STRAITS – On The Night
One of the albums that makes me cry with the saddest songs (laughs). A great live album and a perfect ending for this band. Dire Straits changed my musical perception and my life too.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
51 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Darkwave Band, TIGERCIDE Brings Chaos & Harmony To Their Single, 'I Of Tiger'
29
11
MIRLAND releases first full album since 2017
28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body
30
11
PUSCIFER
Grand Canyon
30
11
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
29
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak
28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche