tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : RANGLEKLODS - Straitjacket

RANGLEKLODS

Straitjacket

MusicCD
ElectroPop

[85/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Danish duo makes music that can be compared with The Knife, Caribou and Burial. You expect electronics and synths? That's right. But after a few spins you notice that everything is worked out well. The music includes multiple layers and contains melody and harmony.

Because Espen Andersen and Pernille Smith-Sivertsen alternate the singing, the sound gets different angles. Pernille has a warm voice with lots of potentials. That sometimes creates songs that are reminiscent of The Knife. At other times we hear influences from The XX, especially when Aspen sings. You hear it: all beautiful references.

In the single Schoolgirls they mix both styles. A very strong single! On Broke we hear a dark tune that floats on the beats, a distorted voice and a dark bass. It’s a big difference with the previous song. The only downside is that the album lacks a bit of consistency.

Eleven songs, all of which are worth listening. Melodic, experimental and poppy. That's what Rangleklods offers us on Straitjacket. No background music, but a second album that is a beast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Deense duo grossiert in muziek die zich ergens tussen The Knife, Caribou en Burial bevindt. Je vermoedt dus wat gegoochel met electronica en synths. Dat klopt. Maar na enkele beluisteringen blijkt dat alles zeer doordacht in elkaar zit. De muziek bevat meerdere lagen en is rijk aan melodie en harmonie.

Bovendien wisselen Espen Andersen en Pernille Smith-Sivertsen elkaar in de zang veelvuldig af waardoor er meerdere invalshoeken worden gecreëerd. Pernille heeft een stem waarmee ze meerdere kanten op kan: warm, ijl en hoog. Dat levert soms songs op die wat aan wijlen The Knife doen denken. Op andere momenten krijgen we songs die samen met de warme stem van Espen wat op The XX lijken. Je hoort het: allemaal mooie vergelijkingspunten.

Op de single Schoolgirls mengen ze beide stijlen. Een heel sterke single! Broke is een donkere song die drijft op de beats, de vervormde stem en de donkere bas. Een groot verschil met de voorgaande song. Het enige minpunt is dat het album misschien wat meer coherent had mogen klinken. 

Elf songs die allemaal de moeite waard zijn. Rijkelijk, melodieus, experimenteel en poppy. Dat is wat Rangleklods op Straitjacket presteert. Geen behangmuziek, maar een beest van een tweede album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls