tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : RANGLEKLODS - Straitjacket

RANGLEKLODS

Straitjacket

MusicCD
ElectroPop

[85/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Danish duo makes music that can be compared with The Knife, Caribou and Burial. You expect electronics and synths? That's right. But after a few spins you notice that everything is worked out well. The music includes multiple layers and contains melody and harmony.

Because Espen Andersen and Pernille Smith-Sivertsen alternate the singing, the sound gets different angles. Pernille has a warm voice with lots of potentials. That sometimes creates songs that are reminiscent of The Knife. At other times we hear influences from The XX, especially when Aspen sings. You hear it: all beautiful references.

In the single Schoolgirls they mix both styles. A very strong single! On Broke we hear a dark tune that floats on the beats, a distorted voice and a dark bass. It’s a big difference with the previous song. The only downside is that the album lacks a bit of consistency.

Eleven songs, all of which are worth listening. Melodic, experimental and poppy. That's what Rangleklods offers us on Straitjacket. No background music, but a second album that is a beast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Deense duo grossiert in muziek die zich ergens tussen The Knife, Caribou en Burial bevindt. Je vermoedt dus wat gegoochel met electronica en synths. Dat klopt. Maar na enkele beluisteringen blijkt dat alles zeer doordacht in elkaar zit. De muziek bevat meerdere lagen en is rijk aan melodie en harmonie.

Bovendien wisselen Espen Andersen en Pernille Smith-Sivertsen elkaar in de zang veelvuldig af waardoor er meerdere invalshoeken worden gecreëerd. Pernille heeft een stem waarmee ze meerdere kanten op kan: warm, ijl en hoog. Dat levert soms songs op die wat aan wijlen The Knife doen denken. Op andere momenten krijgen we songs die samen met de warme stem van Espen wat op The XX lijken. Je hoort het: allemaal mooie vergelijkingspunten.

Op de single Schoolgirls mengen ze beide stijlen. Een heel sterke single! Broke is een donkere song die drijft op de beats, de vervormde stem en de donkere bas. Een groot verschil met de voorgaande song. Het enige minpunt is dat het album misschien wat meer coherent had mogen klinken. 

Elf songs die allemaal de moeite waard zijn. Rijkelijk, melodieus, experimenteel en poppy. Dat is wat Rangleklods op Straitjacket presteert. Geen behangmuziek, maar een beest van een tweede album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland