tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : RANGLEKLODS - Straitjacket

RANGLEKLODS

Straitjacket

MusicCD
ElectroPop

[85/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Danish duo makes music that can be compared with The Knife, Caribou and Burial. You expect electronics and synths? That's right. But after a few spins you notice that everything is worked out well. The music includes multiple layers and contains melody and harmony.

Because Espen Andersen and Pernille Smith-Sivertsen alternate the singing, the sound gets different angles. Pernille has a warm voice with lots of potentials. That sometimes creates songs that are reminiscent of The Knife. At other times we hear influences from The XX, especially when Aspen sings. You hear it: all beautiful references.

In the single Schoolgirls they mix both styles. A very strong single! On Broke we hear a dark tune that floats on the beats, a distorted voice and a dark bass. It’s a big difference with the previous song. The only downside is that the album lacks a bit of consistency.

Eleven songs, all of which are worth listening. Melodic, experimental and poppy. That's what Rangleklods offers us on Straitjacket. No background music, but a second album that is a beast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Deense duo grossiert in muziek die zich ergens tussen The Knife, Caribou en Burial bevindt. Je vermoedt dus wat gegoochel met electronica en synths. Dat klopt. Maar na enkele beluisteringen blijkt dat alles zeer doordacht in elkaar zit. De muziek bevat meerdere lagen en is rijk aan melodie en harmonie.

Bovendien wisselen Espen Andersen en Pernille Smith-Sivertsen elkaar in de zang veelvuldig af waardoor er meerdere invalshoeken worden gecreëerd. Pernille heeft een stem waarmee ze meerdere kanten op kan: warm, ijl en hoog. Dat levert soms songs op die wat aan wijlen The Knife doen denken. Op andere momenten krijgen we songs die samen met de warme stem van Espen wat op The XX lijken. Je hoort het: allemaal mooie vergelijkingspunten.

Op de single Schoolgirls mengen ze beide stijlen. Een heel sterke single! Broke is een donkere song die drijft op de beats, de vervormde stem en de donkere bas. Een groot verschil met de voorgaande song. Het enige minpunt is dat het album misschien wat meer coherent had mogen klinken. 

Elf songs die allemaal de moeite waard zijn. Rijkelijk, melodieus, experimenteel en poppy. Dat is wat Rangleklods op Straitjacket presteert. Geen behangmuziek, maar een beest van een tweede album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige