tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : RANGLEKLODS - Straitjacket

RANGLEKLODS

Straitjacket

MusicCD
ElectroPop

[85/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Danish duo makes music that can be compared with The Knife, Caribou and Burial. You expect electronics and synths? That's right. But after a few spins you notice that everything is worked out well. The music includes multiple layers and contains melody and harmony.

Because Espen Andersen and Pernille Smith-Sivertsen alternate the singing, the sound gets different angles. Pernille has a warm voice with lots of potentials. That sometimes creates songs that are reminiscent of The Knife. At other times we hear influences from The XX, especially when Aspen sings. You hear it: all beautiful references.

In the single Schoolgirls they mix both styles. A very strong single! On Broke we hear a dark tune that floats on the beats, a distorted voice and a dark bass. It’s a big difference with the previous song. The only downside is that the album lacks a bit of consistency.

Eleven songs, all of which are worth listening. Melodic, experimental and poppy. That's what Rangleklods offers us on Straitjacket. No background music, but a second album that is a beast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Deense duo grossiert in muziek die zich ergens tussen The Knife, Caribou en Burial bevindt. Je vermoedt dus wat gegoochel met electronica en synths. Dat klopt. Maar na enkele beluisteringen blijkt dat alles zeer doordacht in elkaar zit. De muziek bevat meerdere lagen en is rijk aan melodie en harmonie.

Bovendien wisselen Espen Andersen en Pernille Smith-Sivertsen elkaar in de zang veelvuldig af waardoor er meerdere invalshoeken worden gecreëerd. Pernille heeft een stem waarmee ze meerdere kanten op kan: warm, ijl en hoog. Dat levert soms songs op die wat aan wijlen The Knife doen denken. Op andere momenten krijgen we songs die samen met de warme stem van Espen wat op The XX lijken. Je hoort het: allemaal mooie vergelijkingspunten.

Op de single Schoolgirls mengen ze beide stijlen. Een heel sterke single! Broke is een donkere song die drijft op de beats, de vervormde stem en de donkere bas. Een groot verschil met de voorgaande song. Het enige minpunt is dat het album misschien wat meer coherent had mogen klinken. 

Elf songs die allemaal de moeite waard zijn. Rijkelijk, melodieus, experimenteel en poppy. Dat is wat Rangleklods op Straitjacket presteert. Geen behangmuziek, maar een beest van een tweede album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery