tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

01/06/2011 : RISK RISK - This is 1983

RISK RISK

This is 1983

MusicVinyl
ElectroPopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[93/100]   

Astro Chicken Records
01/06/2011, Jacky MAZIN

RISK RISK is an oldschool project. In the bio, they state that only analog synthesizers and hardware sequences were used in production.

To be completely honest I'd never heard about the band before... and after some listenings to 'THIS IS... 1983' I can tell you that it's really the sound I've been waiting for! ;) Heavy basslines and minmal beats like it was the 80's. It reminds me of bands like DEVO, RATIONAL YOUTH or early ULTRAVOX. Even if the perfect sound palette for me is a mix of analog and digital synthesizers, I have to say that RISK RISK sounds really DELICIOUS! This debut album sounds like TELEX at their best.

Perfect and simple melodies with a cold monophonic voice... which is a sort of spoken style à la JOHN FOXX.

'Are we on air?' 'Steetwalks' 'Wake up' 'Riders in the night' and 'Dancer in the dark' are the best tracks.

The result is 10 songs of the finest electronica. A sort of 'rendez-vous' with the 80's. A trip through the past and a perfect 'Electropop' album for driving your car through the airways at night.

The final part of 'Imagination' is the ideal outro giving you the lust to start again!

So 'Adventures in modern lifestyle' and the answer 'Are you on air?' is...Yes! Sure... Keep it up!

Jacky MAZIN
01/06/2011


 

Next reviews
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
CAISARON • Reflection
MESH • An Alternative Solution

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: POP
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell