tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

01/06/2011 : RISK RISK - This is 1983

RISK RISK

This is 1983

MusicVinyl
ElectroPopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[93/100]   

Astro Chicken Records
01/06/2011, Jacky MAZIN

RISK RISK is an oldschool project. In the bio, they state that only analog synthesizers and hardware sequences were used in production.

To be completely honest I'd never heard about the band before... and after some listenings to 'THIS IS... 1983' I can tell you that it's really the sound I've been waiting for! ;) Heavy basslines and minmal beats like it was the 80's. It reminds me of bands like DEVO, RATIONAL YOUTH or early ULTRAVOX. Even if the perfect sound palette for me is a mix of analog and digital synthesizers, I have to say that RISK RISK sounds really DELICIOUS! This debut album sounds like TELEX at their best.

Perfect and simple melodies with a cold monophonic voice... which is a sort of spoken style à la JOHN FOXX.

'Are we on air?' 'Steetwalks' 'Wake up' 'Riders in the night' and 'Dancer in the dark' are the best tracks.

The result is 10 songs of the finest electronica. A sort of 'rendez-vous' with the 80's. A trip through the past and a perfect 'Electropop' album for driving your car through the airways at night.

The final part of 'Imagination' is the ideal outro giving you the lust to start again!

So 'Adventures in modern lifestyle' and the answer 'Are you on air?' is...Yes! Sure... Keep it up!

Jacky MAZIN
01/06/2011


 

Next reviews
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602
ENDLESS SHAME • Generation Blind

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
CAISARON • Reflection
MESH • An Alternative Solution

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life