tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

01/06/2011 : MIST - House

MIST

House

MusicVinyl
AmbientElectronics

[72/100]   
01/06/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mist, a duo from Ohio presents its second full-length album (2LP), House in which Sam Goldberg & John Elliot produce relatively accessible instrumental electronic music.

Right from the start you get an nervous electronic composition which has a very full sound through many layers and many peripheral sounds. I call it nervous because of the fairly rapid repetitive nature, but certainly not in a negative way. It is the same nervousness that Philip Glass creates within the film / soundtrack Powaqqatsi. A sound collage that grips and shakes you thoroughly and, like Powaqqatsi, makes you think about the outrageous poverty and unfairness in this world, living in continuous transition. This "House" sounds to me like the 2011 upgrade of the soundtrack. Not classic, but tinged with full electronics.

The full slow synth sounds create a nice full soundscape, but keep you alert and captivated by the rapid pace of basic and haunting tones.

Not until the fourth song, "Daydream" are these rapid tones omitted and an almost bombastic synth sound fills the room and you really get the chance to dream away with the music.

During“Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” eighties synth tunes are similarly overlaid with an abundance of low noise electronics to create that full timbre that Mist creates throughout the album. But halfway through this track, the ensemble switches back to the same intensity or nervousness that also features the first songs.

With Mist you may dream away, drown in thought, but every few minutes they’ll spontaneously draw your attention back to their creations. Is that' not what it is all about?

A beautiful album but I ask myself what this music would do to you if you did not have enough imagination? Does it become just a typical dreamy instrumental album? I suspect not, and it is only meant for people who like to broaden their minds thoroughly, with or without additional tools...

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


NL

Mist, een duo uit Ohio brengt met House zijn tweede full-length album (2LP) uit. Sam Goldberg & John Elliot brengen met Mist relatief toegankelijke instrumentale elektronische muziek.

Vanaf de eerste seconde krijg je een nerveuze elektronica compositie die door de vele lagen en vele randgeluiden een ontzettend vol karakter krijgt. Ik noem het nerveus omwille van het vrij snelle repetitieve karakter, maar bedoel het zeker niet negatief. Het is dezelfde nervositeit die Philip Glass bij me oproept bij de film/soundtrack van Powaqqatsi. Een geluidscollage die je vastgrijpt en door elkaar schudt en, in het geval van Powaqqatsi, je doet nadenken over de waanzinnige armoede en oneerlijkheid in deze wereld, een leven in continue transformatie. Deze “House” klinkt voor mij als de 2011 upgrade van die soundtrack. Niet klassiek getint maar met volle elektronica.

De volle trage synthesizergeluiden creëren dat mooie volle klanklandschap, en de songs houden je bevangen en alert door het snelle en opdwepende tempo van de basistonen.

Pas tijdens het vierde nummer, "Daydream", wordt deze snelle begeleiding achterwege gelaten en mag een haast bombastisch synthesizergeluid de kamer vullen en krijg je de kans echt weg te dromen bij deze muziek.

Zo ook tijdens “Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” waar een jaren tachtig synth deuntje met een overvloed aan lagen elektronica en geluiden wordt overdekt om zo terug die volle klankkleur te krijgen die Mist op dit hele album creëert. Maar halverwege dit nummer schakelt het gezelschap over naar eenzelfde intensiteit of nervositeit die ook de eerste nummers kenmerken.

Bij mist mag je wegdromen, wegzinken in gedachten, maar elke zoveel minuten vestigen hun creaties spontaan terug je focus op hun muziek. En daar draait het toch om nietwaar?

Mooie creatie maar ik stel me de vraag wat deze muziek je nog doet als je geen of onvoldoende eigen verbeelding hebt? Wordt het dan een doorsnee dreamy instrumental plaatje? Allicht is mijn vraagstelling fout en is het enkel bedoeld voor mensen die graag en goed hun geest kunnen/willen verruimen, al dan niet met hulpmiddelen…

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602

 

Other reviews from MIST
MIST • The Loop of Love

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty