tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

01/06/2011 : MIST - House

MIST

House

MusicVinyl
AmbientElectronics

[72/100]   
01/06/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mist, a duo from Ohio presents its second full-length album (2LP), House in which Sam Goldberg & John Elliot produce relatively accessible instrumental electronic music.

Right from the start you get an nervous electronic composition which has a very full sound through many layers and many peripheral sounds. I call it nervous because of the fairly rapid repetitive nature, but certainly not in a negative way. It is the same nervousness that Philip Glass creates within the film / soundtrack Powaqqatsi. A sound collage that grips and shakes you thoroughly and, like Powaqqatsi, makes you think about the outrageous poverty and unfairness in this world, living in continuous transition. This "House" sounds to me like the 2011 upgrade of the soundtrack. Not classic, but tinged with full electronics.

The full slow synth sounds create a nice full soundscape, but keep you alert and captivated by the rapid pace of basic and haunting tones.

Not until the fourth song, "Daydream" are these rapid tones omitted and an almost bombastic synth sound fills the room and you really get the chance to dream away with the music.

During“Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” eighties synth tunes are similarly overlaid with an abundance of low noise electronics to create that full timbre that Mist creates throughout the album. But halfway through this track, the ensemble switches back to the same intensity or nervousness that also features the first songs.

With Mist you may dream away, drown in thought, but every few minutes they’ll spontaneously draw your attention back to their creations. Is that' not what it is all about?

A beautiful album but I ask myself what this music would do to you if you did not have enough imagination? Does it become just a typical dreamy instrumental album? I suspect not, and it is only meant for people who like to broaden their minds thoroughly, with or without additional tools...

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


NL

Mist, een duo uit Ohio brengt met House zijn tweede full-length album (2LP) uit. Sam Goldberg & John Elliot brengen met Mist relatief toegankelijke instrumentale elektronische muziek.

Vanaf de eerste seconde krijg je een nerveuze elektronica compositie die door de vele lagen en vele randgeluiden een ontzettend vol karakter krijgt. Ik noem het nerveus omwille van het vrij snelle repetitieve karakter, maar bedoel het zeker niet negatief. Het is dezelfde nervositeit die Philip Glass bij me oproept bij de film/soundtrack van Powaqqatsi. Een geluidscollage die je vastgrijpt en door elkaar schudt en, in het geval van Powaqqatsi, je doet nadenken over de waanzinnige armoede en oneerlijkheid in deze wereld, een leven in continue transformatie. Deze “House” klinkt voor mij als de 2011 upgrade van die soundtrack. Niet klassiek getint maar met volle elektronica.

De volle trage synthesizergeluiden creëren dat mooie volle klanklandschap, en de songs houden je bevangen en alert door het snelle en opdwepende tempo van de basistonen.

Pas tijdens het vierde nummer, "Daydream", wordt deze snelle begeleiding achterwege gelaten en mag een haast bombastisch synthesizergeluid de kamer vullen en krijg je de kans echt weg te dromen bij deze muziek.

Zo ook tijdens “Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” waar een jaren tachtig synth deuntje met een overvloed aan lagen elektronica en geluiden wordt overdekt om zo terug die volle klankkleur te krijgen die Mist op dit hele album creëert. Maar halverwege dit nummer schakelt het gezelschap over naar eenzelfde intensiteit of nervositeit die ook de eerste nummers kenmerken.

Bij mist mag je wegdromen, wegzinken in gedachten, maar elke zoveel minuten vestigen hun creaties spontaan terug je focus op hun muziek. En daar draait het toch om nietwaar?

Mooie creatie maar ik stel me de vraag wat deze muziek je nog doet als je geen of onvoldoende eigen verbeelding hebt? Wordt het dan een doorsnee dreamy instrumental plaatje? Allicht is mijn vraagstelling fout en is het enkel bedoeld voor mensen die graag en goed hun geest kunnen/willen verruimen, al dan niet met hulpmiddelen…

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602

 

Other reviews from MIST
MIST • The Loop of Love

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)