tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

01/06/2011 : MIST - House

MIST

House

MusicVinyl
AmbientElectronics

[72/100]   
01/06/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mist, a duo from Ohio presents its second full-length album (2LP), House in which Sam Goldberg & John Elliot produce relatively accessible instrumental electronic music.

Right from the start you get an nervous electronic composition which has a very full sound through many layers and many peripheral sounds. I call it nervous because of the fairly rapid repetitive nature, but certainly not in a negative way. It is the same nervousness that Philip Glass creates within the film / soundtrack Powaqqatsi. A sound collage that grips and shakes you thoroughly and, like Powaqqatsi, makes you think about the outrageous poverty and unfairness in this world, living in continuous transition. This "House" sounds to me like the 2011 upgrade of the soundtrack. Not classic, but tinged with full electronics.

The full slow synth sounds create a nice full soundscape, but keep you alert and captivated by the rapid pace of basic and haunting tones.

Not until the fourth song, "Daydream" are these rapid tones omitted and an almost bombastic synth sound fills the room and you really get the chance to dream away with the music.

During“Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” eighties synth tunes are similarly overlaid with an abundance of low noise electronics to create that full timbre that Mist creates throughout the album. But halfway through this track, the ensemble switches back to the same intensity or nervousness that also features the first songs.

With Mist you may dream away, drown in thought, but every few minutes they’ll spontaneously draw your attention back to their creations. Is that' not what it is all about?

A beautiful album but I ask myself what this music would do to you if you did not have enough imagination? Does it become just a typical dreamy instrumental album? I suspect not, and it is only meant for people who like to broaden their minds thoroughly, with or without additional tools...

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


NL

Mist, een duo uit Ohio brengt met House zijn tweede full-length album (2LP) uit. Sam Goldberg & John Elliot brengen met Mist relatief toegankelijke instrumentale elektronische muziek.

Vanaf de eerste seconde krijg je een nerveuze elektronica compositie die door de vele lagen en vele randgeluiden een ontzettend vol karakter krijgt. Ik noem het nerveus omwille van het vrij snelle repetitieve karakter, maar bedoel het zeker niet negatief. Het is dezelfde nervositeit die Philip Glass bij me oproept bij de film/soundtrack van Powaqqatsi. Een geluidscollage die je vastgrijpt en door elkaar schudt en, in het geval van Powaqqatsi, je doet nadenken over de waanzinnige armoede en oneerlijkheid in deze wereld, een leven in continue transformatie. Deze “House” klinkt voor mij als de 2011 upgrade van die soundtrack. Niet klassiek getint maar met volle elektronica.

De volle trage synthesizergeluiden creëren dat mooie volle klanklandschap, en de songs houden je bevangen en alert door het snelle en opdwepende tempo van de basistonen.

Pas tijdens het vierde nummer, "Daydream", wordt deze snelle begeleiding achterwege gelaten en mag een haast bombastisch synthesizergeluid de kamer vullen en krijg je de kans echt weg te dromen bij deze muziek.

Zo ook tijdens “Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” waar een jaren tachtig synth deuntje met een overvloed aan lagen elektronica en geluiden wordt overdekt om zo terug die volle klankkleur te krijgen die Mist op dit hele album creëert. Maar halverwege dit nummer schakelt het gezelschap over naar eenzelfde intensiteit of nervositeit die ook de eerste nummers kenmerken.

Bij mist mag je wegdromen, wegzinken in gedachten, maar elke zoveel minuten vestigen hun creaties spontaan terug je focus op hun muziek. En daar draait het toch om nietwaar?

Mooie creatie maar ik stel me de vraag wat deze muziek je nog doet als je geen of onvoldoende eigen verbeelding hebt? Wordt het dan een doorsnee dreamy instrumental plaatje? Allicht is mijn vraagstelling fout en is het enkel bedoeld voor mensen die graag en goed hun geest kunnen/willen verruimen, al dan niet met hulpmiddelen…

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602

 

Other reviews from MIST
MIST • The Loop of Love

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom