tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

01/06/2011 : MIST - House

MIST

House

MusicVinyl
AmbientElectronics

[72/100]   
01/06/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mist, a duo from Ohio presents its second full-length album (2LP), House in which Sam Goldberg & John Elliot produce relatively accessible instrumental electronic music.

Right from the start you get an nervous electronic composition which has a very full sound through many layers and many peripheral sounds. I call it nervous because of the fairly rapid repetitive nature, but certainly not in a negative way. It is the same nervousness that Philip Glass creates within the film / soundtrack Powaqqatsi. A sound collage that grips and shakes you thoroughly and, like Powaqqatsi, makes you think about the outrageous poverty and unfairness in this world, living in continuous transition. This "House" sounds to me like the 2011 upgrade of the soundtrack. Not classic, but tinged with full electronics.

The full slow synth sounds create a nice full soundscape, but keep you alert and captivated by the rapid pace of basic and haunting tones.

Not until the fourth song, "Daydream" are these rapid tones omitted and an almost bombastic synth sound fills the room and you really get the chance to dream away with the music.

During“Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” eighties synth tunes are similarly overlaid with an abundance of low noise electronics to create that full timbre that Mist creates throughout the album. But halfway through this track, the ensemble switches back to the same intensity or nervousness that also features the first songs.

With Mist you may dream away, drown in thought, but every few minutes they’ll spontaneously draw your attention back to their creations. Is that' not what it is all about?

A beautiful album but I ask myself what this music would do to you if you did not have enough imagination? Does it become just a typical dreamy instrumental album? I suspect not, and it is only meant for people who like to broaden their minds thoroughly, with or without additional tools...

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


NL

Mist, een duo uit Ohio brengt met House zijn tweede full-length album (2LP) uit. Sam Goldberg & John Elliot brengen met Mist relatief toegankelijke instrumentale elektronische muziek.

Vanaf de eerste seconde krijg je een nerveuze elektronica compositie die door de vele lagen en vele randgeluiden een ontzettend vol karakter krijgt. Ik noem het nerveus omwille van het vrij snelle repetitieve karakter, maar bedoel het zeker niet negatief. Het is dezelfde nervositeit die Philip Glass bij me oproept bij de film/soundtrack van Powaqqatsi. Een geluidscollage die je vastgrijpt en door elkaar schudt en, in het geval van Powaqqatsi, je doet nadenken over de waanzinnige armoede en oneerlijkheid in deze wereld, een leven in continue transformatie. Deze “House” klinkt voor mij als de 2011 upgrade van die soundtrack. Niet klassiek getint maar met volle elektronica.

De volle trage synthesizergeluiden creëren dat mooie volle klanklandschap, en de songs houden je bevangen en alert door het snelle en opdwepende tempo van de basistonen.

Pas tijdens het vierde nummer, "Daydream", wordt deze snelle begeleiding achterwege gelaten en mag een haast bombastisch synthesizergeluid de kamer vullen en krijg je de kans echt weg te dromen bij deze muziek.

Zo ook tijdens “Dead Occasion / Ovary Stunts” waar een jaren tachtig synth deuntje met een overvloed aan lagen elektronica en geluiden wordt overdekt om zo terug die volle klankkleur te krijgen die Mist op dit hele album creëert. Maar halverwege dit nummer schakelt het gezelschap over naar eenzelfde intensiteit of nervositeit die ook de eerste nummers kenmerken.

Bij mist mag je wegdromen, wegzinken in gedachten, maar elke zoveel minuten vestigen hun creaties spontaan terug je focus op hun muziek. En daar draait het toch om nietwaar?

Mooie creatie maar ik stel me de vraag wat deze muziek je nog doet als je geen of onvoldoende eigen verbeelding hebt? Wordt het dan een doorsnee dreamy instrumental plaatje? Allicht is mijn vraagstelling fout en is het enkel bedoeld voor mensen die graag en goed hun geest kunnen/willen verruimen, al dan niet met hulpmiddelen…

Ward DE PRINS
01/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente
BLOOD AXIS • Born Again
DIGICORE • Without freedom
EFFTER • Bilateral 602

 

Other reviews from MIST
MIST • The Loop of Love

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
ANTONYMES • Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
SHAPE WORSHIP • A City Remembrancer
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent