tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

29/05/2011 : COMBAT VOICE - Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM

COMBAT VOICE

Mons, The Dark Cat

30/05/2011

The return of great Belgian EBM

Concert


[3/100]
29/05/2011, Didier BECU

Belgium is a unique country. We know that we reached the famous book of records by being the country that exists the longest without having a government but this indifference seems to reflect itself into its inhabitants, and sadder still: even music fans seems to be affected by the disease. Not that the French-speaking music lovers want to shoot their Dutch soul mates but however small this country might be, there seems to be no cultural exchange at all.

Apart from the fact that Peek-A-Boo sees music as a universal item, one of the main reasons it got founded was to crash those silly language barriers.

The Dark Cat-venue was opened by music freaks in Mons a year ago. You can spot gigs from the dark scene there regularly and tonight it was time for Combat Voice, a new EBM-project created by Richard G. and Bernard F.

The band is new but those two members have long histories. Richard was involved in Combat Noise and Simplicity and has worked on remixes from several bands, including Void Kampf. Bernard of course is the frontman of Mono Electronic Destiny, a band that opened for Nitzer Ebb in Antwerp a few weeks ago.

Yesterday was a very special day for this duo as this free gig was organised to launch their debut album "The last flow" which is available now at Wool-E-Shop and all other good record shops.

It seems like Bernard and Richard already have a loyal following as the venue was packed. It was fantastic for EBM-fans to see that this type of music still moves people, and even better – it was live on stage! The duo likes to describe their music as cold EBM. And whilst the term may sounds quite silly, it does make sense.

As Richard is playing his keyboard, Bernard moves like a snake charmer, slowly letting ou all his demons. We'd thought the energy of early Front 242 and the atmosphere that makes The Klinik so outstanding. Even if "Body Generation" was quite similar to (ha!) Nitzer Ebb.

Even if all the tracks were new to us, songs like "The devil way", "Illusion" or their own anthem "The Combat Voice" had the strength of real classics.

After an hour the fun was over but at the public’s insistence, they came back for 2 encores, including a great cover of Fad Gadget's "Lady shave".

Yesterday Combat Voice made Mons feel like it was 1985 again. Not because their sound is dated but it felt like if we were back in the days in where Belgium spread his EBM-wings for its very first time. Brilliant job guys!

Didier BECU
29/05/2011


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa