tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

29/05/2011 : COMBAT VOICE - Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM

COMBAT VOICE

Mons, The Dark Cat

30/05/2011

The return of great Belgian EBM

Concert


[3/100]
29/05/2011, Didier BECU

Belgium is a unique country. We know that we reached the famous book of records by being the country that exists the longest without having a government but this indifference seems to reflect itself into its inhabitants, and sadder still: even music fans seems to be affected by the disease. Not that the French-speaking music lovers want to shoot their Dutch soul mates but however small this country might be, there seems to be no cultural exchange at all.

Apart from the fact that Peek-A-Boo sees music as a universal item, one of the main reasons it got founded was to crash those silly language barriers.

The Dark Cat-venue was opened by music freaks in Mons a year ago. You can spot gigs from the dark scene there regularly and tonight it was time for Combat Voice, a new EBM-project created by Richard G. and Bernard F.

The band is new but those two members have long histories. Richard was involved in Combat Noise and Simplicity and has worked on remixes from several bands, including Void Kampf. Bernard of course is the frontman of Mono Electronic Destiny, a band that opened for Nitzer Ebb in Antwerp a few weeks ago.

Yesterday was a very special day for this duo as this free gig was organised to launch their debut album "The last flow" which is available now at Wool-E-Shop and all other good record shops.

It seems like Bernard and Richard already have a loyal following as the venue was packed. It was fantastic for EBM-fans to see that this type of music still moves people, and even better – it was live on stage! The duo likes to describe their music as cold EBM. And whilst the term may sounds quite silly, it does make sense.

As Richard is playing his keyboard, Bernard moves like a snake charmer, slowly letting ou all his demons. We'd thought the energy of early Front 242 and the atmosphere that makes The Klinik so outstanding. Even if "Body Generation" was quite similar to (ha!) Nitzer Ebb.

Even if all the tracks were new to us, songs like "The devil way", "Illusion" or their own anthem "The Combat Voice" had the strength of real classics.

After an hour the fun was over but at the public’s insistence, they came back for 2 encores, including a great cover of Fad Gadget's "Lady shave".

Yesterday Combat Voice made Mons feel like it was 1985 again. Not because their sound is dated but it felt like if we were back in the days in where Belgium spread his EBM-wings for its very first time. Brilliant job guys!

Didier BECU
29/05/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline