tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Cryopack

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Cryopack

MusicCD
Cold WaveExperimentalIndustrialPost Punk

[74/100]   

Infrastition
26/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Nostalgia in a Gold Jiffy Bag , limited to less than 500 copies.

What’s inside this gorgeous package, released on the French Infrastition label?

A button, a booklet and 4 cd’s containing material released on 4 cassettes between 1980 and 1986 on the K7 label Cryogénisation Report. In addition there is also some extra material of Pour L’Exemple: 4 tracks from the “Untitled” vinyl (1988) and from 1992 the complete “E Pericoloso” cassette.

The Jiffy Bag refers to the tape swapping culture of the eighties and nineties. Simply downloading all the music you liked, wasn’t an option to be considered those days!

The cd’s:

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 & 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Guerre Froide, Gegenacht and Pour L’Exemple from the north of France (Amiens and Lille) have one thing in common: singer Yves Roger (a.k.a. Yvy Schrapnel in Gegenacht).

What to expect? Cold Wave (Guerre Froide), industrial and experimental music (Gegenacht) and punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple). Busy Guy, that Roger.

Personally, I prefer Guerre Froide, probably the band with the most accessible and melodic material. Their sound is determined by dark synths, sharp guitars and an ice-cold voice. You may compare with NEVA (FR), The Neon Judgement and especially Siglo XX.

Best songs on “Cicatrice”? The poetic intro, “Berlin 81” and “Remorquage”. On “Archives” my attention was caught by “Eva (Berlin 81)” and “La Chanson D’Ian”, especially by the demo-version: listen to that superb guitar that plows through the song (your soul) and that very sad voice: bonjour tristesse!

Guerre Froide is now active again and recently released a fine new album, “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

I can be a lot shorter about the ferocious post-punk of Pour L’Exemple. I like their sound BUT there aren’t enough good songs here (in total 22) and not one highlight.

At its best Gegenacht can be quite interesting and intense. Sadly enough there is also some very boring and irritating stuff here. Some of the worst songs go on for more than 9 minutes. But sometimes you can hear echoes of early Joy Division/Warsaw and Neubauten. Good experimental music without concessions? Judge it for yourself!

Warning! Don’t expect superior audio quality. You get the typical audiocassette sound on these cd’s. This doesn’t bother me at all but “modern ears” may dislike this.

You can buy “Cryopack” at Wool-E-Shop and people that can’t get enough of this kind of stuff, I can also recommend the recent compilation “Koude Golven” and the sublime album “Fausse Conscience” of NEVA.

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


NL

Nostalgie in een Jiffy-enveloppe, gelimiteerd tot minder dan 500 exemplaren.

Wat zit er in dit fraaie pack, uitgebracht op het Franse Infrastition label en verwijzend naar de tape-ruil cultuur van de jaren ’80 en ’90, toen er van internet en downloaden nog geen sprake was?

Een button, een boekje en verzameld op 4 cd’s: 4 cassettes, uitgebracht tussen 1980 en 1986 op het K7 label Cryogénisation Report en als toetje van Pour L’Exemple ook nog 4 nummers verschenen op vinyl in 1988 en de cassette “E Pericoloso”. 

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 en 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Het gaat hier om drie Noord-Franse groepen (Amiens, Rijsel) die één ding gemeen hebben: zanger Yves Roger (bij Gegenacht onder het pseudoniem Yvy Schrapnel).

Naast cold wave (Guerre Froide) mag je ook industrial / experimentele muziek (Gegenacht) en punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple) verwachten. Een bezig bijtje, die Roger, en niet van één markt thuis.

Mijn persoonlijke voorkeur gaat uit naar Guerre Froide, vermoedelijk ook de groep met het meest toegankelijke en melodieuze materiaal. Sombere synths, ijle gitaren en onderkoelde zang bepalen het geluid van deze band. Vergelijken met Neva (FR), The Neon Judgement en vooral Siglo XX mag hier zeker.

Beste songs op “Cicatrice”? De poëtische intro, “Berlin 81” en “Remorquage”. Op “Archives” val ik vooral voor “Eva (Berlin 81)” en “La Chanson D’Ian”, ook of zelfs vooral voor de demoversie: dat schitterende gitaartje dat door de song ploegt, die droeve stem, subliem! Vrolijk wordt je hier niet van, zeker niet als je ook echt gaat luisteren naar de teksten. Maar voor wie de “tristesse” wil omarmen is dit bij momenten fantastisch spul!

Guerre Froide is overigens terug bezig en bracht recent nog een goede nieuwe cd uit: “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

Over de brute post-punk van Pour L’Exemple kan ik spijtig genoeg een pak korter zijn: een sound waar ik wel van hou maar te weinig goede songs (in totaal 22) en geen hoogtepunten hier.

Gegenacht is op zijn beste momenten interessant en intens te noemen, maar soms ook bijzonder saai en irritant. Je hoort af en toe echo’s van vroege Joy Division/Warsaw. Ook Neubauten loert hier en daar om de hoek. Soms veel geschreeuw, occasionele blazers en enkele veel te lange nummers (meer dan 9 minuten alstublieft). Goede experimentele muziek zonder concessies? Oordeelt u vooral zelf!

Waarschuwing! Verwacht op geen van de 4 cd’s een goede audiokwaliteit. Je krijgt hier dat typische tape-geluid van 30 jaar geleden geserveerd. Voor mij één van de charmes van dit pack maar moderne oren zullen zich misschien wat ergeren.

Dit leuke hebbeding is nu te koop bij de betere platensmurf en voor wie maar niet genoeg kan krijgen van dit soort spul is ook de recente compilatie “Koude Golven” een absolute aanrader. Nog één tip om mee af te sluiten: “Fausse Conscience” van NEVA!

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


 

Next reviews
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?