tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Cryopack

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Cryopack

MusicCD
Cold WaveExperimentalIndustrialPost Punk

[74/100]   

Infrastition
26/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Nostalgia in a Gold Jiffy Bag , limited to less than 500 copies.

What’s inside this gorgeous package, released on the French Infrastition label?

A button, a booklet and 4 cd’s containing material released on 4 cassettes between 1980 and 1986 on the K7 label Cryogénisation Report. In addition there is also some extra material of Pour L’Exemple: 4 tracks from the “Untitled” vinyl (1988) and from 1992 the complete “E Pericoloso” cassette.

The Jiffy Bag refers to the tape swapping culture of the eighties and nineties. Simply downloading all the music you liked, wasn’t an option to be considered those days!

The cd’s:

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 & 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Guerre Froide, Gegenacht and Pour L’Exemple from the north of France (Amiens and Lille) have one thing in common: singer Yves Roger (a.k.a. Yvy Schrapnel in Gegenacht).

What to expect? Cold Wave (Guerre Froide), industrial and experimental music (Gegenacht) and punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple). Busy Guy, that Roger.

Personally, I prefer Guerre Froide, probably the band with the most accessible and melodic material. Their sound is determined by dark synths, sharp guitars and an ice-cold voice. You may compare with NEVA (FR), The Neon Judgement and especially Siglo XX.

Best songs on “Cicatrice”? The poetic intro, “Berlin 81” and “Remorquage”. On “Archives” my attention was caught by “Eva (Berlin 81)” and “La Chanson D’Ian”, especially by the demo-version: listen to that superb guitar that plows through the song (your soul) and that very sad voice: bonjour tristesse!

Guerre Froide is now active again and recently released a fine new album, “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

I can be a lot shorter about the ferocious post-punk of Pour L’Exemple. I like their sound BUT there aren’t enough good songs here (in total 22) and not one highlight.

At its best Gegenacht can be quite interesting and intense. Sadly enough there is also some very boring and irritating stuff here. Some of the worst songs go on for more than 9 minutes. But sometimes you can hear echoes of early Joy Division/Warsaw and Neubauten. Good experimental music without concessions? Judge it for yourself!

Warning! Don’t expect superior audio quality. You get the typical audiocassette sound on these cd’s. This doesn’t bother me at all but “modern ears” may dislike this.

You can buy “Cryopack” at Wool-E-Shop and people that can’t get enough of this kind of stuff, I can also recommend the recent compilation “Koude Golven” and the sublime album “Fausse Conscience” of NEVA.

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


NL

Nostalgie in een Jiffy-enveloppe, gelimiteerd tot minder dan 500 exemplaren.

Wat zit er in dit fraaie pack, uitgebracht op het Franse Infrastition label en verwijzend naar de tape-ruil cultuur van de jaren ’80 en ’90, toen er van internet en downloaden nog geen sprake was?

Een button, een boekje en verzameld op 4 cd’s: 4 cassettes, uitgebracht tussen 1980 en 1986 op het K7 label Cryogénisation Report en als toetje van Pour L’Exemple ook nog 4 nummers verschenen op vinyl in 1988 en de cassette “E Pericoloso”. 

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 en 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Het gaat hier om drie Noord-Franse groepen (Amiens, Rijsel) die één ding gemeen hebben: zanger Yves Roger (bij Gegenacht onder het pseudoniem Yvy Schrapnel).

Naast cold wave (Guerre Froide) mag je ook industrial / experimentele muziek (Gegenacht) en punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple) verwachten. Een bezig bijtje, die Roger, en niet van één markt thuis.

Mijn persoonlijke voorkeur gaat uit naar Guerre Froide, vermoedelijk ook de groep met het meest toegankelijke en melodieuze materiaal. Sombere synths, ijle gitaren en onderkoelde zang bepalen het geluid van deze band. Vergelijken met Neva (FR), The Neon Judgement en vooral Siglo XX mag hier zeker.

Beste songs op “Cicatrice”? De poëtische intro, “Berlin 81” en “Remorquage”. Op “Archives” val ik vooral voor “Eva (Berlin 81)” en “La Chanson D’Ian”, ook of zelfs vooral voor de demoversie: dat schitterende gitaartje dat door de song ploegt, die droeve stem, subliem! Vrolijk wordt je hier niet van, zeker niet als je ook echt gaat luisteren naar de teksten. Maar voor wie de “tristesse” wil omarmen is dit bij momenten fantastisch spul!

Guerre Froide is overigens terug bezig en bracht recent nog een goede nieuwe cd uit: “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

Over de brute post-punk van Pour L’Exemple kan ik spijtig genoeg een pak korter zijn: een sound waar ik wel van hou maar te weinig goede songs (in totaal 22) en geen hoogtepunten hier.

Gegenacht is op zijn beste momenten interessant en intens te noemen, maar soms ook bijzonder saai en irritant. Je hoort af en toe echo’s van vroege Joy Division/Warsaw. Ook Neubauten loert hier en daar om de hoek. Soms veel geschreeuw, occasionele blazers en enkele veel te lange nummers (meer dan 9 minuten alstublieft). Goede experimentele muziek zonder concessies? Oordeelt u vooral zelf!

Waarschuwing! Verwacht op geen van de 4 cd’s een goede audiokwaliteit. Je krijgt hier dat typische tape-geluid van 30 jaar geleden geserveerd. Voor mij één van de charmes van dit pack maar moderne oren zullen zich misschien wat ergeren.

Dit leuke hebbeding is nu te koop bij de betere platensmurf en voor wie maar niet genoeg kan krijgen van dit soort spul is ook de recente compilatie “Koude Golven” een absolute aanrader. Nog één tip om mee af te sluiten: “Fausse Conscience” van NEVA!

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


 

Next reviews
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules