tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Cryopack

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Cryopack

MusicCD
Cold WaveExperimentalIndustrialPost Punk

[74/100]   

Infrastition
26/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Nostalgia in a Gold Jiffy Bag , limited to less than 500 copies.

What’s inside this gorgeous package, released on the French Infrastition label?

A button, a booklet and 4 cd’s containing material released on 4 cassettes between 1980 and 1986 on the K7 label Cryogénisation Report. In addition there is also some extra material of Pour L’Exemple: 4 tracks from the “Untitled” vinyl (1988) and from 1992 the complete “E Pericoloso” cassette.

The Jiffy Bag refers to the tape swapping culture of the eighties and nineties. Simply downloading all the music you liked, wasn’t an option to be considered those days!

The cd’s:

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 & 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Guerre Froide, Gegenacht and Pour L’Exemple from the north of France (Amiens and Lille) have one thing in common: singer Yves Roger (a.k.a. Yvy Schrapnel in Gegenacht).

What to expect? Cold Wave (Guerre Froide), industrial and experimental music (Gegenacht) and punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple). Busy Guy, that Roger.

Personally, I prefer Guerre Froide, probably the band with the most accessible and melodic material. Their sound is determined by dark synths, sharp guitars and an ice-cold voice. You may compare with NEVA (FR), The Neon Judgement and especially Siglo XX.

Best songs on “Cicatrice”? The poetic intro, “Berlin 81” and “Remorquage”. On “Archives” my attention was caught by “Eva (Berlin 81)” and “La Chanson D’Ian”, especially by the demo-version: listen to that superb guitar that plows through the song (your soul) and that very sad voice: bonjour tristesse!

Guerre Froide is now active again and recently released a fine new album, “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

I can be a lot shorter about the ferocious post-punk of Pour L’Exemple. I like their sound BUT there aren’t enough good songs here (in total 22) and not one highlight.

At its best Gegenacht can be quite interesting and intense. Sadly enough there is also some very boring and irritating stuff here. Some of the worst songs go on for more than 9 minutes. But sometimes you can hear echoes of early Joy Division/Warsaw and Neubauten. Good experimental music without concessions? Judge it for yourself!

Warning! Don’t expect superior audio quality. You get the typical audiocassette sound on these cd’s. This doesn’t bother me at all but “modern ears” may dislike this.

You can buy “Cryopack” at Wool-E-Shop and people that can’t get enough of this kind of stuff, I can also recommend the recent compilation “Koude Golven” and the sublime album “Fausse Conscience” of NEVA.

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


NL

Nostalgie in een Jiffy-enveloppe, gelimiteerd tot minder dan 500 exemplaren.

Wat zit er in dit fraaie pack, uitgebracht op het Franse Infrastition label en verwijzend naar de tape-ruil cultuur van de jaren ’80 en ’90, toen er van internet en downloaden nog geen sprake was?

Een button, een boekje en verzameld op 4 cd’s: 4 cassettes, uitgebracht tussen 1980 en 1986 op het K7 label Cryogénisation Report en als toetje van Pour L’Exemple ook nog 4 nummers verschenen op vinyl in 1988 en de cassette “E Pericoloso”. 

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 en 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Het gaat hier om drie Noord-Franse groepen (Amiens, Rijsel) die één ding gemeen hebben: zanger Yves Roger (bij Gegenacht onder het pseudoniem Yvy Schrapnel).

Naast cold wave (Guerre Froide) mag je ook industrial / experimentele muziek (Gegenacht) en punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple) verwachten. Een bezig bijtje, die Roger, en niet van één markt thuis.

Mijn persoonlijke voorkeur gaat uit naar Guerre Froide, vermoedelijk ook de groep met het meest toegankelijke en melodieuze materiaal. Sombere synths, ijle gitaren en onderkoelde zang bepalen het geluid van deze band. Vergelijken met Neva (FR), The Neon Judgement en vooral Siglo XX mag hier zeker.

Beste songs op “Cicatrice”? De poëtische intro, “Berlin 81” en “Remorquage”. Op “Archives” val ik vooral voor “Eva (Berlin 81)” en “La Chanson D’Ian”, ook of zelfs vooral voor de demoversie: dat schitterende gitaartje dat door de song ploegt, die droeve stem, subliem! Vrolijk wordt je hier niet van, zeker niet als je ook echt gaat luisteren naar de teksten. Maar voor wie de “tristesse” wil omarmen is dit bij momenten fantastisch spul!

Guerre Froide is overigens terug bezig en bracht recent nog een goede nieuwe cd uit: “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

Over de brute post-punk van Pour L’Exemple kan ik spijtig genoeg een pak korter zijn: een sound waar ik wel van hou maar te weinig goede songs (in totaal 22) en geen hoogtepunten hier.

Gegenacht is op zijn beste momenten interessant en intens te noemen, maar soms ook bijzonder saai en irritant. Je hoort af en toe echo’s van vroege Joy Division/Warsaw. Ook Neubauten loert hier en daar om de hoek. Soms veel geschreeuw, occasionele blazers en enkele veel te lange nummers (meer dan 9 minuten alstublieft). Goede experimentele muziek zonder concessies? Oordeelt u vooral zelf!

Waarschuwing! Verwacht op geen van de 4 cd’s een goede audiokwaliteit. Je krijgt hier dat typische tape-geluid van 30 jaar geleden geserveerd. Voor mij één van de charmes van dit pack maar moderne oren zullen zich misschien wat ergeren.

Dit leuke hebbeding is nu te koop bij de betere platensmurf en voor wie maar niet genoeg kan krijgen van dit soort spul is ook de recente compilatie “Koude Golven” een absolute aanrader. Nog één tip om mee af te sluiten: “Fausse Conscience” van NEVA!

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


 

Next reviews
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE