tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Cryopack

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Cryopack

MusicCD
Cold WaveExperimentalIndustrialPost Punk

[74/100]   

Infrastition
26/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Nostalgia in a Gold Jiffy Bag , limited to less than 500 copies.

What’s inside this gorgeous package, released on the French Infrastition label?

A button, a booklet and 4 cd’s containing material released on 4 cassettes between 1980 and 1986 on the K7 label Cryogénisation Report. In addition there is also some extra material of Pour L’Exemple: 4 tracks from the “Untitled” vinyl (1988) and from 1992 the complete “E Pericoloso” cassette.

The Jiffy Bag refers to the tape swapping culture of the eighties and nineties. Simply downloading all the music you liked, wasn’t an option to be considered those days!

The cd’s:

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 & 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Guerre Froide, Gegenacht and Pour L’Exemple from the north of France (Amiens and Lille) have one thing in common: singer Yves Roger (a.k.a. Yvy Schrapnel in Gegenacht).

What to expect? Cold Wave (Guerre Froide), industrial and experimental music (Gegenacht) and punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple). Busy Guy, that Roger.

Personally, I prefer Guerre Froide, probably the band with the most accessible and melodic material. Their sound is determined by dark synths, sharp guitars and an ice-cold voice. You may compare with NEVA (FR), The Neon Judgement and especially Siglo XX.

Best songs on “Cicatrice”? The poetic intro, “Berlin 81” and “Remorquage”. On “Archives” my attention was caught by “Eva (Berlin 81)” and “La Chanson D’Ian”, especially by the demo-version: listen to that superb guitar that plows through the song (your soul) and that very sad voice: bonjour tristesse!

Guerre Froide is now active again and recently released a fine new album, “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

I can be a lot shorter about the ferocious post-punk of Pour L’Exemple. I like their sound BUT there aren’t enough good songs here (in total 22) and not one highlight.

At its best Gegenacht can be quite interesting and intense. Sadly enough there is also some very boring and irritating stuff here. Some of the worst songs go on for more than 9 minutes. But sometimes you can hear echoes of early Joy Division/Warsaw and Neubauten. Good experimental music without concessions? Judge it for yourself!

Warning! Don’t expect superior audio quality. You get the typical audiocassette sound on these cd’s. This doesn’t bother me at all but “modern ears” may dislike this.

You can buy “Cryopack” at Wool-E-Shop and people that can’t get enough of this kind of stuff, I can also recommend the recent compilation “Koude Golven” and the sublime album “Fausse Conscience” of NEVA.

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


NL

Nostalgie in een Jiffy-enveloppe, gelimiteerd tot minder dan 500 exemplaren.

Wat zit er in dit fraaie pack, uitgebracht op het Franse Infrastition label en verwijzend naar de tape-ruil cultuur van de jaren ’80 en ’90, toen er van internet en downloaden nog geen sprake was?

Een button, een boekje en verzameld op 4 cd’s: 4 cassettes, uitgebracht tussen 1980 en 1986 op het K7 label Cryogénisation Report en als toetje van Pour L’Exemple ook nog 4 nummers verschenen op vinyl in 1988 en de cassette “E Pericoloso”. 

CRY 00_GUERRE FROIDE _CICATRICE _1980
CRY 001_GEGENACHT _AT HOME ! _1984
CRY 002_GUERRE FROIDE _ARCHIVES _1985
CRY 003_POUR L’EXEMPLE _UNTITLED _1986 en 1988, _E PERICOLOSO _1992

Het gaat hier om drie Noord-Franse groepen (Amiens, Rijsel) die één ding gemeen hebben: zanger Yves Roger (bij Gegenacht onder het pseudoniem Yvy Schrapnel).

Naast cold wave (Guerre Froide) mag je ook industrial / experimentele muziek (Gegenacht) en punk/post-punk (Pour L’Exemple) verwachten. Een bezig bijtje, die Roger, en niet van één markt thuis.

Mijn persoonlijke voorkeur gaat uit naar Guerre Froide, vermoedelijk ook de groep met het meest toegankelijke en melodieuze materiaal. Sombere synths, ijle gitaren en onderkoelde zang bepalen het geluid van deze band. Vergelijken met Neva (FR), The Neon Judgement en vooral Siglo XX mag hier zeker.

Beste songs op “Cicatrice”? De poëtische intro, “Berlin 81” en “Remorquage”. Op “Archives” val ik vooral voor “Eva (Berlin 81)” en “La Chanson D’Ian”, ook of zelfs vooral voor de demoversie: dat schitterende gitaartje dat door de song ploegt, die droeve stem, subliem! Vrolijk wordt je hier niet van, zeker niet als je ook echt gaat luisteren naar de teksten. Maar voor wie de “tristesse” wil omarmen is dit bij momenten fantastisch spul!

Guerre Froide is overigens terug bezig en bracht recent nog een goede nieuwe cd uit: “Abrutir Les Masses” (2010).

Over de brute post-punk van Pour L’Exemple kan ik spijtig genoeg een pak korter zijn: een sound waar ik wel van hou maar te weinig goede songs (in totaal 22) en geen hoogtepunten hier.

Gegenacht is op zijn beste momenten interessant en intens te noemen, maar soms ook bijzonder saai en irritant. Je hoort af en toe echo’s van vroege Joy Division/Warsaw. Ook Neubauten loert hier en daar om de hoek. Soms veel geschreeuw, occasionele blazers en enkele veel te lange nummers (meer dan 9 minuten alstublieft). Goede experimentele muziek zonder concessies? Oordeelt u vooral zelf!

Waarschuwing! Verwacht op geen van de 4 cd’s een goede audiokwaliteit. Je krijgt hier dat typische tape-geluid van 30 jaar geleden geserveerd. Voor mij één van de charmes van dit pack maar moderne oren zullen zich misschien wat ergeren.

Dit leuke hebbeding is nu te koop bij de betere platensmurf en voor wie maar niet genoeg kan krijgen van dit soort spul is ook de recente compilatie “Koude Golven” een absolute aanrader. Nog één tip om mee af te sluiten: “Fausse Conscience” van NEVA!

Didier PIETERS
26/05/2011


 

Next reviews
KATE BUSH • Director's Cut
CORDE OBLIQUE • A Hail Of Bitter Almonds
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis