tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/05/2011 : CORDE OBLIQUE - A Hail Of Bitter Almonds

CORDE OBLIQUE

A Hail Of Bitter Almonds

MusicCD
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[70/100]   

Prikosnovnie
25/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The neoclassical, meditteranean folk of Corde Oblique always has an ambiguous effect on me. First you have the brilliant instrumental part where you can lick your fingers, even so in this latest creation by Riccardo Prencipe and his ensemble; with pretty, melancholic guitar-, piano- and violin-virtuality. On the other hand however, the vocals too often sound ultra-sweet, too sweet, despite the beauty and purity of the voices.

This "A Hail of Bitter Almonds" contains these same sugar sweet vocals, that are only in a few songs omitted. More than half the time however, Riccardo succeeds in making me forget this minor disappointment and I truly enjoy the beautiful instrumental orchestrations, such as "Arpe di Benevento" where singer Floriana Cangiano may add some beautiful, heavenly voices.

As usual, all songs have a high level. Highlight for me is "Crypta Neapolitan" where the combination of the voices of Caterina Pontrandolfo and Spyros Giasafakis (Daemonia Nymphe) is magnificent.

The last song, "Su Un Dipinto Di Giovanni Bellini" (On a painting by Giovanni Bellini), Riccardo allows us a last time to enjoy the beautiful guitar virtuosity in beautiful harmony with melancholic violin and the serene voice of Floriana.

Great album, but what else do you expect from a prikosnovénie release?

www.cordeoblique.com

Ward DE PRINS
25/05/2011


NL

De neoklassieke zuiderse folk van Corde Oblique heeft steeds een tweeledig effect op me. Enerzijds heb je het briljante instrumentale deel, waar je ook bij deze laatste creatie van Riccardo Prencipe en zijn decipelen je vingers kan aflikken bij mooie, melancholische gitaar-, piano & viool-virtualiteit. Anderzijds is er evenwel de zang, die ondanks de mooiheid en zuiverheid van de stemmen me al te vaak een vergelijking met zeemzoeterige hitjes opdringt.

Ook deze “A Hail Of Bitter Almonds” bevat deze suikerzoete zang, die slechts op een paar nummers achterwege wordt gelaten. Meer dan de helft van de tijd slaagt Riccardo er echter in om dit zoetgevooisde langs me neer te leggen en te genieten van de instrumentale pracht, zoals op “Arpe di Vento” waar zangeres Floriana Cangiano het mooi weer mag uitmaken.

Alle nummers hebben een hoog niveau, zoals we dat ook van deze man gewoon zijn. Uitschieter voor mij is “Crypta Neapolitana” waarop de combinatie van stemmen van Caterina Pontrandolfo en Spyros Giasafakis (van Daemonia Nymphe) wonderbaarlijk schoon is.

De afsluiter “Su Un Dipinto Di Giovanni Bellini” (Op een schilderij van Giovanni Bellini) laat ons een laatste maal van het wondermooie gitaarspel van Riccardo genieten, in prachtig samenspel met melancholische viool en de mooie stem van Floriana.

Mooie plaat, maar ja, wat verwacht je anders van een prikosnovénie release?

www.cordeoblique.com

Ward DE PRINS
25/05/2011


 

Next reviews
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
SIEBEN • Briton EP
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald