tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/05/2011 : CORDE OBLIQUE - A Hail Of Bitter Almonds

CORDE OBLIQUE

A Hail Of Bitter Almonds

MusicCD
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[70/100]   

Prikosnovťnie
25/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The neoclassical, meditteranean folk of Corde Oblique always has an ambiguous effect on me. First you have the brilliant instrumental part where you can lick your fingers, even so in this latest creation by Riccardo Prencipe and his ensemble; with pretty, melancholic guitar-, piano- and violin-virtuality. On the other hand however, the vocals too often sound ultra-sweet, too sweet, despite the beauty and purity of the voices.

This "A Hail of Bitter Almonds" contains these same sugar sweet vocals, that are only in a few songs omitted. More than half the time however, Riccardo succeeds in making me forget this minor disappointment and I truly enjoy the beautiful instrumental orchestrations, such as "Arpe di Benevento" where singer Floriana Cangiano may add some beautiful, heavenly voices.

As usual, all songs have a high level. Highlight for me is "Crypta Neapolitan" where the combination of the voices of Caterina Pontrandolfo and Spyros Giasafakis (Daemonia Nymphe) is magnificent.

The last song, "Su Un Dipinto Di Giovanni Bellini" (On a painting by Giovanni Bellini), Riccardo allows us a last time to enjoy the beautiful guitar virtuosity in beautiful harmony with melancholic violin and the serene voice of Floriana.

Great album, but what else do you expect from a prikosnovénie release?

www.cordeoblique.com

Ward DE PRINS
25/05/2011


NL

De neoklassieke zuiderse folk van Corde Oblique heeft steeds een tweeledig effect op me. Enerzijds heb je het briljante instrumentale deel, waar je ook bij deze laatste creatie van Riccardo Prencipe en zijn decipelen je vingers kan aflikken bij mooie, melancholische gitaar-, piano & viool-virtualiteit. Anderzijds is er evenwel de zang, die ondanks de mooiheid en zuiverheid van de stemmen me al te vaak een vergelijking met zeemzoeterige hitjes opdringt.

Ook deze “A Hail Of Bitter Almonds” bevat deze suikerzoete zang, die slechts op een paar nummers achterwege wordt gelaten. Meer dan de helft van de tijd slaagt Riccardo er echter in om dit zoetgevooisde langs me neer te leggen en te genieten van de instrumentale pracht, zoals op “Arpe di Vento” waar zangeres Floriana Cangiano het mooi weer mag uitmaken.

Alle nummers hebben een hoog niveau, zoals we dat ook van deze man gewoon zijn. Uitschieter voor mij is “Crypta Neapolitana” waarop de combinatie van stemmen van Caterina Pontrandolfo en Spyros Giasafakis (van Daemonia Nymphe) wonderbaarlijk schoon is.

De afsluiter “Su Un Dipinto Di Giovanni Bellini” (Op een schilderij van Giovanni Bellini) laat ons een laatste maal van het wondermooie gitaarspel van Riccardo genieten, in prachtig samenspel met melancholische viool en de mooie stem van Floriana.

Mooie plaat, maar ja, wat verwacht je anders van een prikosnovénie release?

www.cordeoblique.com

Ward DE PRINS
25/05/2011


 

Next reviews
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
SIEBEN • Briton EP
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica ‚Äď Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver H√∂hle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Tr√©sors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V √Ė L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • M√©nage √† quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
‚Äč

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‚ÄėTainted Love‚Äô reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)