tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/05/2011 : CORDE OBLIQUE - A Hail Of Bitter Almonds

CORDE OBLIQUE

A Hail Of Bitter Almonds

MusicCD
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[70/100]   

Prikosnovnie
25/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The neoclassical, meditteranean folk of Corde Oblique always has an ambiguous effect on me. First you have the brilliant instrumental part where you can lick your fingers, even so in this latest creation by Riccardo Prencipe and his ensemble; with pretty, melancholic guitar-, piano- and violin-virtuality. On the other hand however, the vocals too often sound ultra-sweet, too sweet, despite the beauty and purity of the voices.

This "A Hail of Bitter Almonds" contains these same sugar sweet vocals, that are only in a few songs omitted. More than half the time however, Riccardo succeeds in making me forget this minor disappointment and I truly enjoy the beautiful instrumental orchestrations, such as "Arpe di Benevento" where singer Floriana Cangiano may add some beautiful, heavenly voices.

As usual, all songs have a high level. Highlight for me is "Crypta Neapolitan" where the combination of the voices of Caterina Pontrandolfo and Spyros Giasafakis (Daemonia Nymphe) is magnificent.

The last song, "Su Un Dipinto Di Giovanni Bellini" (On a painting by Giovanni Bellini), Riccardo allows us a last time to enjoy the beautiful guitar virtuosity in beautiful harmony with melancholic violin and the serene voice of Floriana.

Great album, but what else do you expect from a prikosnovénie release?

www.cordeoblique.com

Ward DE PRINS
25/05/2011


NL

De neoklassieke zuiderse folk van Corde Oblique heeft steeds een tweeledig effect op me. Enerzijds heb je het briljante instrumentale deel, waar je ook bij deze laatste creatie van Riccardo Prencipe en zijn decipelen je vingers kan aflikken bij mooie, melancholische gitaar-, piano & viool-virtualiteit. Anderzijds is er evenwel de zang, die ondanks de mooiheid en zuiverheid van de stemmen me al te vaak een vergelijking met zeemzoeterige hitjes opdringt.

Ook deze “A Hail Of Bitter Almonds” bevat deze suikerzoete zang, die slechts op een paar nummers achterwege wordt gelaten. Meer dan de helft van de tijd slaagt Riccardo er echter in om dit zoetgevooisde langs me neer te leggen en te genieten van de instrumentale pracht, zoals op “Arpe di Vento” waar zangeres Floriana Cangiano het mooi weer mag uitmaken.

Alle nummers hebben een hoog niveau, zoals we dat ook van deze man gewoon zijn. Uitschieter voor mij is “Crypta Neapolitana” waarop de combinatie van stemmen van Caterina Pontrandolfo en Spyros Giasafakis (van Daemonia Nymphe) wonderbaarlijk schoon is.

De afsluiter “Su Un Dipinto Di Giovanni Bellini” (Op een schilderij van Giovanni Bellini) laat ons een laatste maal van het wondermooie gitaarspel van Riccardo genieten, in prachtig samenspel met melancholische viool en de mooie stem van Floriana.

Mooie plaat, maar ja, wat verwacht je anders van een prikosnovénie release?

www.cordeoblique.com

Ward DE PRINS
25/05/2011


 

Next reviews
THE GHOST EFFECT • TGE
DOXA SINISTRA • Via del latte
ROTTERDAM • Cambodia
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
SIEBEN • Briton EP
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
SIEGFRIED • K

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall