tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : ROTTERDAM - Cambodia

ROTTERDAM

Cambodia

MusicCD
ExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A Fleming, from Belgium who listens to the song Berlin from the album Cambodia of the group Rotterdam from Austria, how much more cosmopolitan can you be?

Rotterdam is a great band. Unplugged Techno from Vienna as they call it, themselves. I would file it rather, under industrial or experimental. Susanne Amann plays cello, flute and electronics. Her companion Michael Klauser adds acoustic guitar and electronics as well.

The songs all have similar structures - as a basis there always is a minimalist sound or phrases that are mainly analogue and are repeated continuously. Slowly some variations are made, based upon these basic themes. It is minimalistic but balanced - there is no sound too much, no sound too little.

As you listen to their trance minimalism you most often forget that they are based on analogue instruments. This record has just a beautiful and full industrial atmosphere.

I find this to full advantage in the song "Cambodia" where some jazzy sounds vary and are repeated in such a lovely, captivating & somber soundscape. I am also greatly charmed by the arrival at the train station in Rotterdam (as I picture the song with the same name).

Susanne & Michael have delivered a very nice album - intriguing music. I'm actually very curious how they can bring this live for an audience - something we really should check out... although I fear that we have to travel to Vienna to meet this amazing band.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een Limburger, een Vlaming, uit België die luistert naar het nummer Berlin uit de plaat Cambodia van de groep Rotterdam uit Wenen, Oostenrijk, hoeveel meer wereldburger kan je nog zijn?

Rotterdam is een groep naar mijn hart. Unplugged techno from Vienna noemen ze het zelf. Ikzelf zou het meer onder industrial of experimenteel klasseren. Susanne Amann speelt cello, fluit en electronica. Haar kompaan Michael Klauser vult aan met akoestische gitaar en eveneens electronica.

De nummers hebben allen eenzelfde opbouw – als basis zijn er steeds een of meer minimalistische geluidsfrases die continu herhaald worden, en waarop er steeds lichtjes wordt gevarieerd. Minimalistisch maar uitgebalanceerd – er is geen geluid te veel, maar ook geen te weinig.

Terwijl je naar hun trance minimalisme luistert vergeet je vaak dat het merendeel op analoge instrumenten gebaseerd is. Het geheel ademt gewoon één mooie en volle industriële sfeer uit.

Het mooist vind ik dit tot zijn recht komen in de track “Cambodia” waar enkele jazzy geluiden mogen herhalen en variëren en zo een mooi, beklijvend, somber klanklandschap opleveren. Ook de aankomende trein in het station te Rotterdam (zo beeld ik me het gelijknamige nummer toch in) weet me enorm te bekoren.

Susanne & Michael hebben een zeer leuke plaat afgeleverd – intrigerende muziek. Ik ben eigenlijk zeer benieuwd hoe ze dit geheel live brengen – iets om een dezer toch eens uit te zoeken…al vrees ik dat we daarvoor naar Wenen of omstreken moeten trekken.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real