tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : ROTTERDAM - Cambodia

ROTTERDAM

Cambodia

MusicCD
ExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A Fleming, from Belgium who listens to the song Berlin from the album Cambodia of the group Rotterdam from Austria, how much more cosmopolitan can you be?

Rotterdam is a great band. Unplugged Techno from Vienna as they call it, themselves. I would file it rather, under industrial or experimental. Susanne Amann plays cello, flute and electronics. Her companion Michael Klauser adds acoustic guitar and electronics as well.

The songs all have similar structures - as a basis there always is a minimalist sound or phrases that are mainly analogue and are repeated continuously. Slowly some variations are made, based upon these basic themes. It is minimalistic but balanced - there is no sound too much, no sound too little.

As you listen to their trance minimalism you most often forget that they are based on analogue instruments. This record has just a beautiful and full industrial atmosphere.

I find this to full advantage in the song "Cambodia" where some jazzy sounds vary and are repeated in such a lovely, captivating & somber soundscape. I am also greatly charmed by the arrival at the train station in Rotterdam (as I picture the song with the same name).

Susanne & Michael have delivered a very nice album - intriguing music. I'm actually very curious how they can bring this live for an audience - something we really should check out... although I fear that we have to travel to Vienna to meet this amazing band.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een Limburger, een Vlaming, uit België die luistert naar het nummer Berlin uit de plaat Cambodia van de groep Rotterdam uit Wenen, Oostenrijk, hoeveel meer wereldburger kan je nog zijn?

Rotterdam is een groep naar mijn hart. Unplugged techno from Vienna noemen ze het zelf. Ikzelf zou het meer onder industrial of experimenteel klasseren. Susanne Amann speelt cello, fluit en electronica. Haar kompaan Michael Klauser vult aan met akoestische gitaar en eveneens electronica.

De nummers hebben allen eenzelfde opbouw – als basis zijn er steeds een of meer minimalistische geluidsfrases die continu herhaald worden, en waarop er steeds lichtjes wordt gevarieerd. Minimalistisch maar uitgebalanceerd – er is geen geluid te veel, maar ook geen te weinig.

Terwijl je naar hun trance minimalisme luistert vergeet je vaak dat het merendeel op analoge instrumenten gebaseerd is. Het geheel ademt gewoon één mooie en volle industriële sfeer uit.

Het mooist vind ik dit tot zijn recht komen in de track “Cambodia” waar enkele jazzy geluiden mogen herhalen en variëren en zo een mooi, beklijvend, somber klanklandschap opleveren. Ook de aankomende trein in het station te Rotterdam (zo beeld ik me het gelijknamige nummer toch in) weet me enorm te bekoren.

Susanne & Michael hebben een zeer leuke plaat afgeleverd – intrigerende muziek. Ik ben eigenlijk zeer benieuwd hoe ze dit geheel live brengen – iets om een dezer toch eens uit te zoeken…al vrees ik dat we daarvoor naar Wenen of omstreken moeten trekken.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap