tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : ROTTERDAM - Cambodia

ROTTERDAM

Cambodia

MusicCD
ExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A Fleming, from Belgium who listens to the song Berlin from the album Cambodia of the group Rotterdam from Austria, how much more cosmopolitan can you be?

Rotterdam is a great band. Unplugged Techno from Vienna as they call it, themselves. I would file it rather, under industrial or experimental. Susanne Amann plays cello, flute and electronics. Her companion Michael Klauser adds acoustic guitar and electronics as well.

The songs all have similar structures - as a basis there always is a minimalist sound or phrases that are mainly analogue and are repeated continuously. Slowly some variations are made, based upon these basic themes. It is minimalistic but balanced - there is no sound too much, no sound too little.

As you listen to their trance minimalism you most often forget that they are based on analogue instruments. This record has just a beautiful and full industrial atmosphere.

I find this to full advantage in the song "Cambodia" where some jazzy sounds vary and are repeated in such a lovely, captivating & somber soundscape. I am also greatly charmed by the arrival at the train station in Rotterdam (as I picture the song with the same name).

Susanne & Michael have delivered a very nice album - intriguing music. I'm actually very curious how they can bring this live for an audience - something we really should check out... although I fear that we have to travel to Vienna to meet this amazing band.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een Limburger, een Vlaming, uit België die luistert naar het nummer Berlin uit de plaat Cambodia van de groep Rotterdam uit Wenen, Oostenrijk, hoeveel meer wereldburger kan je nog zijn?

Rotterdam is een groep naar mijn hart. Unplugged techno from Vienna noemen ze het zelf. Ikzelf zou het meer onder industrial of experimenteel klasseren. Susanne Amann speelt cello, fluit en electronica. Haar kompaan Michael Klauser vult aan met akoestische gitaar en eveneens electronica.

De nummers hebben allen eenzelfde opbouw – als basis zijn er steeds een of meer minimalistische geluidsfrases die continu herhaald worden, en waarop er steeds lichtjes wordt gevarieerd. Minimalistisch maar uitgebalanceerd – er is geen geluid te veel, maar ook geen te weinig.

Terwijl je naar hun trance minimalisme luistert vergeet je vaak dat het merendeel op analoge instrumenten gebaseerd is. Het geheel ademt gewoon één mooie en volle industriële sfeer uit.

Het mooist vind ik dit tot zijn recht komen in de track “Cambodia” waar enkele jazzy geluiden mogen herhalen en variëren en zo een mooi, beklijvend, somber klanklandschap opleveren. Ook de aankomende trein in het station te Rotterdam (zo beeld ik me het gelijknamige nummer toch in) weet me enorm te bekoren.

Susanne & Michael hebben een zeer leuke plaat afgeleverd – intrigerende muziek. Ik ben eigenlijk zeer benieuwd hoe ze dit geheel live brengen – iets om een dezer toch eens uit te zoeken…al vrees ik dat we daarvoor naar Wenen of omstreken moeten trekken.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)