tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : ROTTERDAM - Cambodia

ROTTERDAM

Cambodia

MusicCD
ExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A Fleming, from Belgium who listens to the song Berlin from the album Cambodia of the group Rotterdam from Austria, how much more cosmopolitan can you be?

Rotterdam is a great band. Unplugged Techno from Vienna as they call it, themselves. I would file it rather, under industrial or experimental. Susanne Amann plays cello, flute and electronics. Her companion Michael Klauser adds acoustic guitar and electronics as well.

The songs all have similar structures - as a basis there always is a minimalist sound or phrases that are mainly analogue and are repeated continuously. Slowly some variations are made, based upon these basic themes. It is minimalistic but balanced - there is no sound too much, no sound too little.

As you listen to their trance minimalism you most often forget that they are based on analogue instruments. This record has just a beautiful and full industrial atmosphere.

I find this to full advantage in the song "Cambodia" where some jazzy sounds vary and are repeated in such a lovely, captivating & somber soundscape. I am also greatly charmed by the arrival at the train station in Rotterdam (as I picture the song with the same name).

Susanne & Michael have delivered a very nice album - intriguing music. I'm actually very curious how they can bring this live for an audience - something we really should check out... although I fear that we have to travel to Vienna to meet this amazing band.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een Limburger, een Vlaming, uit België die luistert naar het nummer Berlin uit de plaat Cambodia van de groep Rotterdam uit Wenen, Oostenrijk, hoeveel meer wereldburger kan je nog zijn?

Rotterdam is een groep naar mijn hart. Unplugged techno from Vienna noemen ze het zelf. Ikzelf zou het meer onder industrial of experimenteel klasseren. Susanne Amann speelt cello, fluit en electronica. Haar kompaan Michael Klauser vult aan met akoestische gitaar en eveneens electronica.

De nummers hebben allen eenzelfde opbouw – als basis zijn er steeds een of meer minimalistische geluidsfrases die continu herhaald worden, en waarop er steeds lichtjes wordt gevarieerd. Minimalistisch maar uitgebalanceerd – er is geen geluid te veel, maar ook geen te weinig.

Terwijl je naar hun trance minimalisme luistert vergeet je vaak dat het merendeel op analoge instrumenten gebaseerd is. Het geheel ademt gewoon één mooie en volle industriële sfeer uit.

Het mooist vind ik dit tot zijn recht komen in de track “Cambodia” waar enkele jazzy geluiden mogen herhalen en variëren en zo een mooi, beklijvend, somber klanklandschap opleveren. Ook de aankomende trein in het station te Rotterdam (zo beeld ik me het gelijknamige nummer toch in) weet me enorm te bekoren.

Susanne & Michael hebben een zeer leuke plaat afgeleverd – intrigerende muziek. Ik ben eigenlijk zeer benieuwd hoe ze dit geheel live brengen – iets om een dezer toch eens uit te zoeken…al vrees ik dat we daarvoor naar Wenen of omstreken moeten trekken.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
07
1 year Rüdiger Frank of Printed At Bismarck's Death and The Tors Of Dartmoor passed away...
11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
07
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
12
07
LAURIE ANDERSON
O Superman
11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life