tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : ROTTERDAM - Cambodia

ROTTERDAM

Cambodia

MusicCD
ExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A Fleming, from Belgium who listens to the song Berlin from the album Cambodia of the group Rotterdam from Austria, how much more cosmopolitan can you be?

Rotterdam is a great band. Unplugged Techno from Vienna as they call it, themselves. I would file it rather, under industrial or experimental. Susanne Amann plays cello, flute and electronics. Her companion Michael Klauser adds acoustic guitar and electronics as well.

The songs all have similar structures - as a basis there always is a minimalist sound or phrases that are mainly analogue and are repeated continuously. Slowly some variations are made, based upon these basic themes. It is minimalistic but balanced - there is no sound too much, no sound too little.

As you listen to their trance minimalism you most often forget that they are based on analogue instruments. This record has just a beautiful and full industrial atmosphere.

I find this to full advantage in the song "Cambodia" where some jazzy sounds vary and are repeated in such a lovely, captivating & somber soundscape. I am also greatly charmed by the arrival at the train station in Rotterdam (as I picture the song with the same name).

Susanne & Michael have delivered a very nice album - intriguing music. I'm actually very curious how they can bring this live for an audience - something we really should check out... although I fear that we have to travel to Vienna to meet this amazing band.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een Limburger, een Vlaming, uit België die luistert naar het nummer Berlin uit de plaat Cambodia van de groep Rotterdam uit Wenen, Oostenrijk, hoeveel meer wereldburger kan je nog zijn?

Rotterdam is een groep naar mijn hart. Unplugged techno from Vienna noemen ze het zelf. Ikzelf zou het meer onder industrial of experimenteel klasseren. Susanne Amann speelt cello, fluit en electronica. Haar kompaan Michael Klauser vult aan met akoestische gitaar en eveneens electronica.

De nummers hebben allen eenzelfde opbouw – als basis zijn er steeds een of meer minimalistische geluidsfrases die continu herhaald worden, en waarop er steeds lichtjes wordt gevarieerd. Minimalistisch maar uitgebalanceerd – er is geen geluid te veel, maar ook geen te weinig.

Terwijl je naar hun trance minimalisme luistert vergeet je vaak dat het merendeel op analoge instrumenten gebaseerd is. Het geheel ademt gewoon één mooie en volle industriële sfeer uit.

Het mooist vind ik dit tot zijn recht komen in de track “Cambodia” waar enkele jazzy geluiden mogen herhalen en variëren en zo een mooi, beklijvend, somber klanklandschap opleveren. Ook de aankomende trein in het station te Rotterdam (zo beeld ik me het gelijknamige nummer toch in) weet me enorm te bekoren.

Susanne & Michael hebben een zeer leuke plaat afgeleverd – intrigerende muziek. Ik ben eigenlijk zeer benieuwd hoe ze dit geheel live brengen – iets om een dezer toch eens uit te zoeken…al vrees ik dat we daarvoor naar Wenen of omstreken moeten trekken.

www.rotterdam.pl

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
TRAFFIC A.M. • A Beautiful Sight
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ALSO • Live in Celovec
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)