tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : FOR AGAINST - Black Soap EP

FOR AGAINST

Black Soap EP

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Words on music
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

This world contains some mysteries we will never solve. As Peek-A-Boo is all about music we won’t bother about the secrets from some flying saucers but perhaps we can ask ourselves : why are some bands not world famous?

The list is pretty endless, but you can be sure that the American trio For Against are among them. Their wave-pop (how else would we describe it?) is the sort of 80’s guitar-pop that is affected by the greatest bands you can think of, from Echo And The Bunnymen or The Chameleons, to sum up a few.

The American label Words On Music released their now difficult to find albums early last year and now they’re coming up with a new series of EP’s that feature unreleased material from these wave-pop darlings.

On “Black Soap” you can find three tracks. Opener “Black Soap” is the first For Against-song ever written and of course you can hear that sound which has been inspired by that famous Mancunian band who once released “Unknown pleasures”.

Second track “Black good Friday” hosts that typical 80’s wavesound which we tend to compare with Sad Lover & The Giants, or perhaps to say it more directly: the typical For Against sound!

Finishing track is a sort clubremix (well, some sort of) from “Amen Yves” which many music fans seem to see as one of the best For Against-tracks ever, and right they are!

Of course if you’re unfamiliar with their music we think there are better ways than purchasing this EP (buy a whole album we say!) but for the fans, this is a truly gem!

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide