tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : FOR AGAINST - Black Soap EP

FOR AGAINST

Black Soap EP

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[91/100]   

Words on music
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

This world contains some mysteries we will never solve. As Peek-A-Boo is all about music we won’t bother about the secrets from some flying saucers but perhaps we can ask ourselves : why are some bands not world famous?

The list is pretty endless, but you can be sure that the American trio For Against are among them. Their wave-pop (how else would we describe it?) is the sort of 80’s guitar-pop that is affected by the greatest bands you can think of, from Echo And The Bunnymen or The Chameleons, to sum up a few.

The American label Words On Music released their now difficult to find albums early last year and now they’re coming up with a new series of EP’s that feature unreleased material from these wave-pop darlings.

On “Black Soap” you can find three tracks. Opener “Black Soap” is the first For Against-song ever written and of course you can hear that sound which has been inspired by that famous Mancunian band who once released “Unknown pleasures”.

Second track “Black good Friday” hosts that typical 80’s wavesound which we tend to compare with Sad Lover & The Giants, or perhaps to say it more directly: the typical For Against sound!

Finishing track is a sort clubremix (well, some sort of) from “Amen Yves” which many music fans seem to see as one of the best For Against-tracks ever, and right they are!

Of course if you’re unfamiliar with their music we think there are better ways than purchasing this EP (buy a whole album we say!) but for the fans, this is a truly gem!

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted