tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : TRAFFIC A.M. - A Beautiful Sight

TRAFFIC A.M.

A Beautiful Sight

MusicCD
GothicNew wave

[92/100]   

Plastic Frog Records
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We keep on wondering if a record can be more black than this one, where everything starts with the cover. The title "A beautiful sight" might be hopeful but still the sole colour that gets its entrance to here is the one from the death. It’s that sound you can hear in the music that’s being created by this new German duo that got fronted by Michael Kissing and Stefan Gonser.

From the very first track "Ocean on the screen" we hear the sound of those lovely staccato guitars which brings us back to a time where once Clan Of Xymox gave us the mighty “Medusa”. Even if some tracks like “Waiting” contain a sort of electronic cold-wave feel from modern bands like say, Echo West.

Still, it's the eighties that rule their sound and cynical readers might think that this is the kind of the band that keeps on repeating the echoes from the past.

Well, the influences are there and you don’t have to be some genius to discover that bands like The Sound, Bauhaus or even Death In June are part of their record collection, but they do something very original and contemporary with these sounds.

Not modern in the sense that this is just another bloody White Lies-copy. Thank God! No they aren’t, as Traffic A.M. are the kind of band who respect the sound from the past but gift this with very catchy songs that stick in the head.

So yes, with Traffic A.M. the cult label Plastic Frog Records has once again, a band under its wing that can make them proud.

Everyone who is in love with the authentic wavesound from the 80’s (we know every Peek-A-Boo reader is) should check out this band. Their name: Traffic A.M. !!!

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Zwarter dan zwart kan niet bij deze release waarbij alles reeds bij het hoesje begint. Ook al mag hun cd de hoopgevende titel "A beautiful sight" bevatten, toch is de enige kleur die men hier toegang verleent deze van de dood. Een boodschap die zich ook laat muzikaal laat vertalen door dit nieuwe Duitse duo dat gevormd is uit Michael Kissing en Stefan Gonser.

Vanaf de eerste track "Ocean on the screen" worden er geen doekjes omgewonden dat het soort muziek je hier te horen krijgen deze is van de staccato gitaren die je sowieso terugbrengen naar een tijdperk waar ene Clan Of Xymox hun "Medusa" op de mensheid losliet.

Zo'n groepje dus dat de jaren '80 blijft herkauwen, vraagt een cynische lezer zich af? Ja en neen, je hoort duidelijk dat de platencollectie van deze twee uit bands als The Sound, Bauhaus of zelfs Death In June bestaan maar toch doen ze er iets moderns mee.
Niet modern in de zin dat we hier tot vervelenstoe nog maar een White Lies-kopietje te horen krijgen, maar wel modern doordat dit mensen zijn die overduidelijk hun respect tonen voor het donkere wave geluid van het verleden en er toch hun eigen dingen met weten te doen.

En jawel, met Traffic A.M. heeft het prachtige cultlabel Plastic Frog Records alweer een waveband onder hun vleugels om u tegen te zeggen.

Indien u verliefd bent op authentieke wave uit de jaren '80 (en een Peek-A-Boo lezer is dat!) dan zouden we toch eens naar deze Traffic A.M. luisteren moesten we van u zijn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3
TOUR DE FORCE • Colours In Life

 

Other reviews from TRAFFIC A.M.
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap