tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : TRAFFIC A.M. - A Beautiful Sight

TRAFFIC A.M.

A Beautiful Sight

MusicCD
GothicNew wave

[92/100]   

Plastic Frog Records
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We keep on wondering if a record can be more black than this one, where everything starts with the cover. The title "A beautiful sight" might be hopeful but still the sole colour that gets its entrance to here is the one from the death. It’s that sound you can hear in the music that’s being created by this new German duo that got fronted by Michael Kissing and Stefan Gonser.

From the very first track "Ocean on the screen" we hear the sound of those lovely staccato guitars which brings us back to a time where once Clan Of Xymox gave us the mighty “Medusa”. Even if some tracks like “Waiting” contain a sort of electronic cold-wave feel from modern bands like say, Echo West.

Still, it's the eighties that rule their sound and cynical readers might think that this is the kind of the band that keeps on repeating the echoes from the past.

Well, the influences are there and you don’t have to be some genius to discover that bands like The Sound, Bauhaus or even Death In June are part of their record collection, but they do something very original and contemporary with these sounds.

Not modern in the sense that this is just another bloody White Lies-copy. Thank God! No they aren’t, as Traffic A.M. are the kind of band who respect the sound from the past but gift this with very catchy songs that stick in the head.

So yes, with Traffic A.M. the cult label Plastic Frog Records has once again, a band under its wing that can make them proud.

Everyone who is in love with the authentic wavesound from the 80’s (we know every Peek-A-Boo reader is) should check out this band. Their name: Traffic A.M. !!!

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Zwarter dan zwart kan niet bij deze release waarbij alles reeds bij het hoesje begint. Ook al mag hun cd de hoopgevende titel "A beautiful sight" bevatten, toch is de enige kleur die men hier toegang verleent deze van de dood. Een boodschap die zich ook laat muzikaal laat vertalen door dit nieuwe Duitse duo dat gevormd is uit Michael Kissing en Stefan Gonser.

Vanaf de eerste track "Ocean on the screen" worden er geen doekjes omgewonden dat het soort muziek je hier te horen krijgen deze is van de staccato gitaren die je sowieso terugbrengen naar een tijdperk waar ene Clan Of Xymox hun "Medusa" op de mensheid losliet.

Zo'n groepje dus dat de jaren '80 blijft herkauwen, vraagt een cynische lezer zich af? Ja en neen, je hoort duidelijk dat de platencollectie van deze twee uit bands als The Sound, Bauhaus of zelfs Death In June bestaan maar toch doen ze er iets moderns mee.
Niet modern in de zin dat we hier tot vervelenstoe nog maar een White Lies-kopietje te horen krijgen, maar wel modern doordat dit mensen zijn die overduidelijk hun respect tonen voor het donkere wave geluid van het verleden en er toch hun eigen dingen met weten te doen.

En jawel, met Traffic A.M. heeft het prachtige cultlabel Plastic Frog Records alweer een waveband onder hun vleugels om u tegen te zeggen.

Indien u verliefd bent op authentieke wave uit de jaren '80 (en een Peek-A-Boo lezer is dat!) dan zouden we toch eens naar deze Traffic A.M. luisteren moesten we van u zijn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3
TOUR DE FORCE • Colours In Life

 

Other reviews from TRAFFIC A.M.
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real