tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : TRAFFIC A.M. - A Beautiful Sight

TRAFFIC A.M.

A Beautiful Sight

MusicCD
GothicNew wave

[92/100]   

Plastic Frog Records
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

We keep on wondering if a record can be more black than this one, where everything starts with the cover. The title "A beautiful sight" might be hopeful but still the sole colour that gets its entrance to here is the one from the death. It’s that sound you can hear in the music that’s being created by this new German duo that got fronted by Michael Kissing and Stefan Gonser.

From the very first track "Ocean on the screen" we hear the sound of those lovely staccato guitars which brings us back to a time where once Clan Of Xymox gave us the mighty “Medusa”. Even if some tracks like “Waiting” contain a sort of electronic cold-wave feel from modern bands like say, Echo West.

Still, it's the eighties that rule their sound and cynical readers might think that this is the kind of the band that keeps on repeating the echoes from the past.

Well, the influences are there and you don’t have to be some genius to discover that bands like The Sound, Bauhaus or even Death In June are part of their record collection, but they do something very original and contemporary with these sounds.

Not modern in the sense that this is just another bloody White Lies-copy. Thank God! No they aren’t, as Traffic A.M. are the kind of band who respect the sound from the past but gift this with very catchy songs that stick in the head.

So yes, with Traffic A.M. the cult label Plastic Frog Records has once again, a band under its wing that can make them proud.

Everyone who is in love with the authentic wavesound from the 80’s (we know every Peek-A-Boo reader is) should check out this band. Their name: Traffic A.M. !!!

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Zwarter dan zwart kan niet bij deze release waarbij alles reeds bij het hoesje begint. Ook al mag hun cd de hoopgevende titel "A beautiful sight" bevatten, toch is de enige kleur die men hier toegang verleent deze van de dood. Een boodschap die zich ook laat muzikaal laat vertalen door dit nieuwe Duitse duo dat gevormd is uit Michael Kissing en Stefan Gonser.

Vanaf de eerste track "Ocean on the screen" worden er geen doekjes omgewonden dat het soort muziek je hier te horen krijgen deze is van de staccato gitaren die je sowieso terugbrengen naar een tijdperk waar ene Clan Of Xymox hun "Medusa" op de mensheid losliet.

Zo'n groepje dus dat de jaren '80 blijft herkauwen, vraagt een cynische lezer zich af? Ja en neen, je hoort duidelijk dat de platencollectie van deze twee uit bands als The Sound, Bauhaus of zelfs Death In June bestaan maar toch doen ze er iets moderns mee.
Niet modern in de zin dat we hier tot vervelenstoe nog maar een White Lies-kopietje te horen krijgen, maar wel modern doordat dit mensen zijn die overduidelijk hun respect tonen voor het donkere wave geluid van het verleden en er toch hun eigen dingen met weten te doen.

En jawel, met Traffic A.M. heeft het prachtige cultlabel Plastic Frog Records alweer een waveband onder hun vleugels om u tegen te zeggen.

Indien u verliefd bent op authentieke wave uit de jaren '80 (en een Peek-A-Boo lezer is dat!) dan zouden we toch eens naar deze Traffic A.M. luisteren moesten we van u zijn.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
GYPSYBLOOD • Cold in the guestway
MOUNTAINS • Air Museum
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3
TOUR DE FORCE • Colours In Life

 

Other reviews from TRAFFIC A.M.
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela