tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/03/2013 : KMFDM - Kunst

KMFDM

Kunst

MusicCD
EBMElectro RockHarshIndustrialMetal

[82/100]   

Dependent
08/03/2013, Didier BECU

For almost three decades KMFDM are at the forefront of the industrial scene. In the past there were many clones of them, but in the end there’s only one Sascha “Kapt'n K” Konietzko. In fact, Kunst is perhaps the strongest album the band have delivered in years and that has probably something to do with the very varied character of the record.

Not, that the following up from WTF?! has become a try-out for new sounds (it’s a pure KMFDM-album) but there’s surely something on it for everyone.

The album couldn’t have a stronger opener then Kunst. The lyrics are hilarious as Sascha is joking with his band’s name. Everybody knows by now that KMFDM stands for Kein Mehrheit Für Die Mitleid, but some thought it stood for Kill Motherfuckers From Depeche Mode. The titletrack is brutal and one of the most excellent KMFDM-anthems that have been made in years. Totally different is Ave Maria which could make it in the clubs.

Quake is another killer which is KMFDM at its best, think of Motörhead with a Ministry-beat and you’re almost there. In Hello we hear why vocalist Lucia Cifarelli has become so important for KMFDM, while Next Big Thing is a brilliant countrysong (kind of) which surely will be hated by cowboys anyway.

KMFDM are of course also eternal anarchists (there is a clear mark on the cd that there’s no copy protection) and it’s no surprise that they sympathize with Russian punks Pussy Riot. Pseudocide is one of those KMFDM-tunes you can shout when you’re taking a shower, but the weirdest track is probably The Mess You Made in where they got the help from befriended band The Morlocks.

Kunst is a classic KMFDM-album in all its senses, not in the least because of the artwork which is once again created by Aidan Hughes alias “Brute!”.

Let’s not beat about the bush, KMFDM are kunst! A must!

 

Didier BECU
08/03/2013


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1
ATOM TM • HD
OLIVIER MEGATON • TAKEN 2
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • 4PLAY
STRESS • THE BIG WHEEL
THE PRIMITIVES • Lose The Reason
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
MARTIN KLEID • 8 Lights
LISAWARS • Nichts
PETER BROSENS & JESSICA WOODWORTH • ALTIPLANO

 

Other reviews from KMFDM
KMFDM • In Dub
KMFDM • Paradise
KMFDM • WTF

 

Same genre: EBM
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: HARSH
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life