tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

PIETER NOOTEN

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
01/09/2015, Didier BECU

As I knew Pieter Nooten, his choice isn’t that surprising. It might be, if you only know his early work with Clan Of Xymox as Pieter can easily be seen as one of the godfathers of synth-darkwave. But Pieter is still around creating music. I must confess that I always describe his solo work as “Brian Eno”, but that’s probably because I can’t find no other words for his ambient works. Anyway, Pieter, time to come up with your favourite albums!

For me, the most influential, inspiring music/albums. Not in any particular order.

1. Johann Sebastian Bach - Mattheus Passion
The ultimate restrained yet complex, humanistic yet devine, profound yet earthly musical drama ever written. Period.

2. Claudio Monteverdi - Maria Vespers & Magnificat (Gardiner version)
Rich in texture, emotive, esotherical, rythmic and a little bit controversial, as the best baroque music should be.

3. Maurice Durufle - Requiem
Very similar in mood to Faure’s Requiem yet just that tiny bit more soothing rather than sad, with gorgeously compelling crescendo’s and emotional melodies.

4. Phillip Glass - (Score to) Koyaanisqatsi
It blew me away back than and showed me how it is possible to achieve the most extreme musical drama utilizing the most minimal musical techniques.

5. Ennio Morricone - Once Upon A Time In The West
Morricone is the ultimate contemporary master of melody, harmony and musical pathos. A maestro, the archetypical genius who understands the human psyche and how to move it profoundly.

6. Erik Satie - Gymnopedies
Sort of the beginning of modern day ambient and minimal music with maximum emotional impact. I cannot listen to it anymore, that’s how often I used to play it.

7. Marc-Antoine Charpentier - Leçons de Ténèbres
Totally mesmerizing and hypnotic lamentations. When performed candles in the church would be extinguished after every phrase, until it was totally obscure and dark. Ambient avant la lettre!

8. Karol Szymanowski - Stabat Mater
Gorgeous, stirring melodies, crescendo’s and post-impressionist harmonies.

9. Henryk Nicolai Górecki - Symphony Of Sorrowfull Songs
No comment. Needs to be heard. Will change your life forever.

10. Johann Sebastian Bach - Hohe Messe
Again, Bach touches on every single emotion a human can possibly demonstrate. Stirring stuff.

Didier BECU
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent