tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

PIETER NOOTEN

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
01/09/2015, Didier BECU

As I knew Pieter Nooten, his choice isn’t that surprising. It might be, if you only know his early work with Clan Of Xymox as Pieter can easily be seen as one of the godfathers of synth-darkwave. But Pieter is still around creating music. I must confess that I always describe his solo work as “Brian Eno”, but that’s probably because I can’t find no other words for his ambient works. Anyway, Pieter, time to come up with your favourite albums!

For me, the most influential, inspiring music/albums. Not in any particular order.

1. Johann Sebastian Bach - Mattheus Passion
The ultimate restrained yet complex, humanistic yet devine, profound yet earthly musical drama ever written. Period.

2. Claudio Monteverdi - Maria Vespers & Magnificat (Gardiner version)
Rich in texture, emotive, esotherical, rythmic and a little bit controversial, as the best baroque music should be.

3. Maurice Durufle - Requiem
Very similar in mood to Faure’s Requiem yet just that tiny bit more soothing rather than sad, with gorgeously compelling crescendo’s and emotional melodies.

4. Phillip Glass - (Score to) Koyaanisqatsi
It blew me away back than and showed me how it is possible to achieve the most extreme musical drama utilizing the most minimal musical techniques.

5. Ennio Morricone - Once Upon A Time In The West
Morricone is the ultimate contemporary master of melody, harmony and musical pathos. A maestro, the archetypical genius who understands the human psyche and how to move it profoundly.

6. Erik Satie - Gymnopedies
Sort of the beginning of modern day ambient and minimal music with maximum emotional impact. I cannot listen to it anymore, that’s how often I used to play it.

7. Marc-Antoine Charpentier - Leçons de Ténèbres
Totally mesmerizing and hypnotic lamentations. When performed candles in the church would be extinguished after every phrase, until it was totally obscure and dark. Ambient avant la lettre!

8. Karol Szymanowski - Stabat Mater
Gorgeous, stirring melodies, crescendo’s and post-impressionist harmonies.

9. Henryk Nicolai Górecki - Symphony Of Sorrowfull Songs
No comment. Needs to be heard. Will change your life forever.

10. Johann Sebastian Bach - Hohe Messe
Again, Bach touches on every single emotion a human can possibly demonstrate. Stirring stuff.

Didier BECU
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty