tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

PIETER NOOTEN

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
01/09/2015, Didier BECU

As I knew Pieter Nooten, his choice isn’t that surprising. It might be, if you only know his early work with Clan Of Xymox as Pieter can easily be seen as one of the godfathers of synth-darkwave. But Pieter is still around creating music. I must confess that I always describe his solo work as “Brian Eno”, but that’s probably because I can’t find no other words for his ambient works. Anyway, Pieter, time to come up with your favourite albums!

For me, the most influential, inspiring music/albums. Not in any particular order.

1. Johann Sebastian Bach - Mattheus Passion
The ultimate restrained yet complex, humanistic yet devine, profound yet earthly musical drama ever written. Period.

2. Claudio Monteverdi - Maria Vespers & Magnificat (Gardiner version)
Rich in texture, emotive, esotherical, rythmic and a little bit controversial, as the best baroque music should be.

3. Maurice Durufle - Requiem
Very similar in mood to Faure’s Requiem yet just that tiny bit more soothing rather than sad, with gorgeously compelling crescendo’s and emotional melodies.

4. Phillip Glass - (Score to) Koyaanisqatsi
It blew me away back than and showed me how it is possible to achieve the most extreme musical drama utilizing the most minimal musical techniques.

5. Ennio Morricone - Once Upon A Time In The West
Morricone is the ultimate contemporary master of melody, harmony and musical pathos. A maestro, the archetypical genius who understands the human psyche and how to move it profoundly.

6. Erik Satie - Gymnopedies
Sort of the beginning of modern day ambient and minimal music with maximum emotional impact. I cannot listen to it anymore, that’s how often I used to play it.

7. Marc-Antoine Charpentier - Leçons de Ténèbres
Totally mesmerizing and hypnotic lamentations. When performed candles in the church would be extinguished after every phrase, until it was totally obscure and dark. Ambient avant la lettre!

8. Karol Szymanowski - Stabat Mater
Gorgeous, stirring melodies, crescendo’s and post-impressionist harmonies.

9. Henryk Nicolai Górecki - Symphony Of Sorrowfull Songs
No comment. Needs to be heard. Will change your life forever.

10. Johann Sebastian Bach - Hohe Messe
Again, Bach touches on every single emotion a human can possibly demonstrate. Stirring stuff.

Didier BECU
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death