tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

PIETER NOOTEN

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
01/09/2015, Didier BECU

As I knew Pieter Nooten, his choice isn’t that surprising. It might be, if you only know his early work with Clan Of Xymox as Pieter can easily be seen as one of the godfathers of synth-darkwave. But Pieter is still around creating music. I must confess that I always describe his solo work as “Brian Eno”, but that’s probably because I can’t find no other words for his ambient works. Anyway, Pieter, time to come up with your favourite albums!

For me, the most influential, inspiring music/albums. Not in any particular order.

1. Johann Sebastian Bach - Mattheus Passion
The ultimate restrained yet complex, humanistic yet devine, profound yet earthly musical drama ever written. Period.

2. Claudio Monteverdi - Maria Vespers & Magnificat (Gardiner version)
Rich in texture, emotive, esotherical, rythmic and a little bit controversial, as the best baroque music should be.

3. Maurice Durufle - Requiem
Very similar in mood to Faure’s Requiem yet just that tiny bit more soothing rather than sad, with gorgeously compelling crescendo’s and emotional melodies.

4. Phillip Glass - (Score to) Koyaanisqatsi
It blew me away back than and showed me how it is possible to achieve the most extreme musical drama utilizing the most minimal musical techniques.

5. Ennio Morricone - Once Upon A Time In The West
Morricone is the ultimate contemporary master of melody, harmony and musical pathos. A maestro, the archetypical genius who understands the human psyche and how to move it profoundly.

6. Erik Satie - Gymnopedies
Sort of the beginning of modern day ambient and minimal music with maximum emotional impact. I cannot listen to it anymore, that’s how often I used to play it.

7. Marc-Antoine Charpentier - Leçons de Ténèbres
Totally mesmerizing and hypnotic lamentations. When performed candles in the church would be extinguished after every phrase, until it was totally obscure and dark. Ambient avant la lettre!

8. Karol Szymanowski - Stabat Mater
Gorgeous, stirring melodies, crescendo’s and post-impressionist harmonies.

9. Henryk Nicolai Górecki - Symphony Of Sorrowfull Songs
No comment. Needs to be heard. Will change your life forever.

10. Johann Sebastian Bach - Hohe Messe
Again, Bach touches on every single emotion a human can possibly demonstrate. Stirring stuff.

Didier BECU
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/09/2015 : PIETER NOOTEN - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret