tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ANDREW HEATH - Flux

ANDREW HEATH

Flux

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimentalMinimal

[70/100]   

Disco Gecko
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us be straight and honest: Flux by Andrew Heath is not exactly the kind of album that will please everyone's taste. You can describe the second work of this composer as a listening task, a work in which the listener is almost forced to discover the beauty of the details.

Heath is inspired by artists such as Roedelius and Harold Budd, and for those who are not familiar with them, that means neoclassical music with a lot of experiments. The CD has eight songs with very different titles (Caught in Amber or The Tree Is Sleeping), but Flux actually feels like one whole.

The sound is dominated by minimal piano sounds that have a repetitive structure. A lot of details (eg. a bell or birdsong) give the compositions a dreamy atmosphere, even though the Satie sound sometimes sounds rather frightening.

Flux is an auditory challenge that demands a lot from the listener, but once you started, a great adventure full of unexpected noises is waiting for you.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Laten we maar meteen met de deur in huis vallen: Flux van Andrew Heath is niet meteen het soort plaat dat bij iedereen in de smaak zal vallen. Je zou het tweede werk van deze componist gerust een luisteropdracht kunnen noemen, een werk waarin de luisteraar bijna wordt gedwongen om de schoonheid van de details te ontdekken.

Heath is geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Roedelius en Harold Budd, en in mensentaal betekent dat zo veel als neoklassieke muziek met heel wat experimenten. De cd bestaat uit 8 nummers met zeer uiteenlopende titels (van Caught In Amber tot The Tree Is Sleeping), maar eigenlijk voelt Flux aan als één geheel.

Alles wordt overheerst door minimale pianoklanken die een repetitieve structuur hebben en waar heel wat detailgeluiden (bijv. gewoon een belletje of vogelgezang) het stuk een dromerige sfeer geven, ook al klinken de Satie-geluiden soms eerder beangstigend.

Flux is een auditieve uitdaging die veel van de luisteraar vergt, maar eens je de over de drempel bent, wacht er een mooie avontuur vol onverwachte geluiden op je.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)