tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ANDREW HEATH - Flux

ANDREW HEATH

Flux

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimentalMinimal

[70/100]   

Disco Gecko
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us be straight and honest: Flux by Andrew Heath is not exactly the kind of album that will please everyone's taste. You can describe the second work of this composer as a listening task, a work in which the listener is almost forced to discover the beauty of the details.

Heath is inspired by artists such as Roedelius and Harold Budd, and for those who are not familiar with them, that means neoclassical music with a lot of experiments. The CD has eight songs with very different titles (Caught in Amber or The Tree Is Sleeping), but Flux actually feels like one whole.

The sound is dominated by minimal piano sounds that have a repetitive structure. A lot of details (eg. a bell or birdsong) give the compositions a dreamy atmosphere, even though the Satie sound sometimes sounds rather frightening.

Flux is an auditory challenge that demands a lot from the listener, but once you started, a great adventure full of unexpected noises is waiting for you.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Laten we maar meteen met de deur in huis vallen: Flux van Andrew Heath is niet meteen het soort plaat dat bij iedereen in de smaak zal vallen. Je zou het tweede werk van deze componist gerust een luisteropdracht kunnen noemen, een werk waarin de luisteraar bijna wordt gedwongen om de schoonheid van de details te ontdekken.

Heath is geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Roedelius en Harold Budd, en in mensentaal betekent dat zo veel als neoklassieke muziek met heel wat experimenten. De cd bestaat uit 8 nummers met zeer uiteenlopende titels (van Caught In Amber tot The Tree Is Sleeping), maar eigenlijk voelt Flux aan als één geheel.

Alles wordt overheerst door minimale pianoklanken die een repetitieve structuur hebben en waar heel wat detailgeluiden (bijv. gewoon een belletje of vogelgezang) het stuk een dromerige sfeer geven, ook al klinken de Satie-geluiden soms eerder beangstigend.

Flux is een auditieve uitdaging die veel van de luisteraar vergt, maar eens je de over de drempel bent, wacht er een mooie avontuur vol onverwachte geluiden op je.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song