tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ANDREW HEATH - Flux

ANDREW HEATH

Flux

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimentalMinimal

[70/100]   

Disco Gecko
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let us be straight and honest: Flux by Andrew Heath is not exactly the kind of album that will please everyone's taste. You can describe the second work of this composer as a listening task, a work in which the listener is almost forced to discover the beauty of the details.

Heath is inspired by artists such as Roedelius and Harold Budd, and for those who are not familiar with them, that means neoclassical music with a lot of experiments. The CD has eight songs with very different titles (Caught in Amber or The Tree Is Sleeping), but Flux actually feels like one whole.

The sound is dominated by minimal piano sounds that have a repetitive structure. A lot of details (eg. a bell or birdsong) give the compositions a dreamy atmosphere, even though the Satie sound sometimes sounds rather frightening.

Flux is an auditory challenge that demands a lot from the listener, but once you started, a great adventure full of unexpected noises is waiting for you.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Laten we maar meteen met de deur in huis vallen: Flux van Andrew Heath is niet meteen het soort plaat dat bij iedereen in de smaak zal vallen. Je zou het tweede werk van deze componist gerust een luisteropdracht kunnen noemen, een werk waarin de luisteraar bijna wordt gedwongen om de schoonheid van de details te ontdekken.

Heath is geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Roedelius en Harold Budd, en in mensentaal betekent dat zo veel als neoklassieke muziek met heel wat experimenten. De cd bestaat uit 8 nummers met zeer uiteenlopende titels (van Caught In Amber tot The Tree Is Sleeping), maar eigenlijk voelt Flux aan als één geheel.

Alles wordt overheerst door minimale pianoklanken die een repetitieve structuur hebben en waar heel wat detailgeluiden (bijv. gewoon een belletje of vogelgezang) het stuk een dromerige sfeer geven, ook al klinken de Satie-geluiden soms eerder beangstigend.

Flux is een auditieve uitdaging die veel van de luisteraar vergt, maar eens je de over de drempel bent, wacht er een mooie avontuur vol onverwachte geluiden op je.

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit