tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

ALIASING

Spell Rising

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[60/100]   

loglady reocrds
29/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Horror punk and glam rock from Madrid. The beautiful cover artwork attracts the attention with some nods to famous horror films.

Everything here is a bit over the top. The album feels in many ways like a parody (a bit like Scary Movie is for films). Musically they are dedicated in bringing lots of rock clichés together. Listen to Rock Under The Moonlight and you'll understand what I mean. The songs are well constructed and vibrant, and the guitars are in fine combination with the keys. Sadly for them, the vocals can not always convince me. When Cesar Monzon sings in a normal way, it is not bad, but when it sounds forced, then I quit.

The album has some good moments (Scream Queens and Photophobia And Lipstickphillia), but it is too light to speak of a success. Parodies and humor in music are always a tricky balance between good and bad. Unfortunately, they are on the wrong side of the line too often.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


NL

Horrorpunk/-rock en glamrock uit Madrid. De mooie cover en het artwork trekken de aandacht en bevatten enkele knipoogjes naar bekende horrorfilms.

Alles is wat over the top; zo zijn de teksten van Creepy Heart tenenkrommend. Het album voelt op verschillende manieren aan als een parodie (een beetje zoals Scary Movie dat op filmterrein was). Muzikaal brengen ze, met volle overgave, een hoop rockclichés bijeen. Luister maar eens naar Rock Under The Moonlight en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel. De songs zitten goed in elkaar, zijn levendig en de gitaren combineren goed met de keys. De zang is niet altijd mijn ding. Alsr César Monzon normaal zingt, valt het nog best mee, maar als hij geforceerd klinkt, dan haak ik af.

Het album bevat enkele goede momenten ( o.a. Scream Queens en Photophobia and Lipstickphillia), maar is te licht om van een succes over de gehele lijn te kunnen spreken. Parodieën en humor in muziek verwerken is steeds balanceren tussen een goed en slecht resultaat. Jammer genoeg zitten ze veelvuldig langs de verkeerde kant van die lijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising 29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi