tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

ALIASING

Spell Rising

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[60/100]   

loglady reocrds
29/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Horror punk and glam rock from Madrid. The beautiful cover artwork attracts the attention with some nods to famous horror films.

Everything here is a bit over the top. The album feels in many ways like a parody (a bit like Scary Movie is for films). Musically they are dedicated in bringing lots of rock clichés together. Listen to Rock Under The Moonlight and you'll understand what I mean. The songs are well constructed and vibrant, and the guitars are in fine combination with the keys. Sadly for them, the vocals can not always convince me. When Cesar Monzon sings in a normal way, it is not bad, but when it sounds forced, then I quit.

The album has some good moments (Scream Queens and Photophobia And Lipstickphillia), but it is too light to speak of a success. Parodies and humor in music are always a tricky balance between good and bad. Unfortunately, they are on the wrong side of the line too often.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


NL

Horrorpunk/-rock en glamrock uit Madrid. De mooie cover en het artwork trekken de aandacht en bevatten enkele knipoogjes naar bekende horrorfilms.

Alles is wat over the top; zo zijn de teksten van Creepy Heart tenenkrommend. Het album voelt op verschillende manieren aan als een parodie (een beetje zoals Scary Movie dat op filmterrein was). Muzikaal brengen ze, met volle overgave, een hoop rockclichés bijeen. Luister maar eens naar Rock Under The Moonlight en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel. De songs zitten goed in elkaar, zijn levendig en de gitaren combineren goed met de keys. De zang is niet altijd mijn ding. Alsr César Monzon normaal zingt, valt het nog best mee, maar als hij geforceerd klinkt, dan haak ik af.

Het album bevat enkele goede momenten ( o.a. Scream Queens en Photophobia and Lipstickphillia), maar is te licht om van een succes over de gehele lijn te kunnen spreken. Parodieën en humor in muziek verwerken is steeds balanceren tussen een goed en slecht resultaat. Jammer genoeg zitten ze veelvuldig langs de verkeerde kant van die lijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising 29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf