tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

ALIASING

Spell Rising

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[60/100]   

loglady reocrds
29/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Horror punk and glam rock from Madrid. The beautiful cover artwork attracts the attention with some nods to famous horror films.

Everything here is a bit over the top. The album feels in many ways like a parody (a bit like Scary Movie is for films). Musically they are dedicated in bringing lots of rock clichés together. Listen to Rock Under The Moonlight and you'll understand what I mean. The songs are well constructed and vibrant, and the guitars are in fine combination with the keys. Sadly for them, the vocals can not always convince me. When Cesar Monzon sings in a normal way, it is not bad, but when it sounds forced, then I quit.

The album has some good moments (Scream Queens and Photophobia And Lipstickphillia), but it is too light to speak of a success. Parodies and humor in music are always a tricky balance between good and bad. Unfortunately, they are on the wrong side of the line too often.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


NL

Horrorpunk/-rock en glamrock uit Madrid. De mooie cover en het artwork trekken de aandacht en bevatten enkele knipoogjes naar bekende horrorfilms.

Alles is wat over the top; zo zijn de teksten van Creepy Heart tenenkrommend. Het album voelt op verschillende manieren aan als een parodie (een beetje zoals Scary Movie dat op filmterrein was). Muzikaal brengen ze, met volle overgave, een hoop rockclichés bijeen. Luister maar eens naar Rock Under The Moonlight en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel. De songs zitten goed in elkaar, zijn levendig en de gitaren combineren goed met de keys. De zang is niet altijd mijn ding. Alsr César Monzon normaal zingt, valt het nog best mee, maar als hij geforceerd klinkt, dan haak ik af.

Het album bevat enkele goede momenten ( o.a. Scream Queens en Photophobia and Lipstickphillia), maar is te licht om van een succes over de gehele lijn te kunnen spreken. Parodieën en humor in muziek verwerken is steeds balanceren tussen een goed en slecht resultaat. Jammer genoeg zitten ze veelvuldig langs de verkeerde kant van die lijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising 29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
10
07
MARCIA BAILA
LES RITA MITSOUKO