tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

ALIASING

Spell Rising

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[60/100]   

loglady reocrds
29/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Horror punk and glam rock from Madrid. The beautiful cover artwork attracts the attention with some nods to famous horror films.

Everything here is a bit over the top. The album feels in many ways like a parody (a bit like Scary Movie is for films). Musically they are dedicated in bringing lots of rock clichés together. Listen to Rock Under The Moonlight and you'll understand what I mean. The songs are well constructed and vibrant, and the guitars are in fine combination with the keys. Sadly for them, the vocals can not always convince me. When Cesar Monzon sings in a normal way, it is not bad, but when it sounds forced, then I quit.

The album has some good moments (Scream Queens and Photophobia And Lipstickphillia), but it is too light to speak of a success. Parodies and humor in music are always a tricky balance between good and bad. Unfortunately, they are on the wrong side of the line too often.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


NL

Horrorpunk/-rock en glamrock uit Madrid. De mooie cover en het artwork trekken de aandacht en bevatten enkele knipoogjes naar bekende horrorfilms.

Alles is wat over the top; zo zijn de teksten van Creepy Heart tenenkrommend. Het album voelt op verschillende manieren aan als een parodie (een beetje zoals Scary Movie dat op filmterrein was). Muzikaal brengen ze, met volle overgave, een hoop rockclichés bijeen. Luister maar eens naar Rock Under The Moonlight en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel. De songs zitten goed in elkaar, zijn levendig en de gitaren combineren goed met de keys. De zang is niet altijd mijn ding. Alsr César Monzon normaal zingt, valt het nog best mee, maar als hij geforceerd klinkt, dan haak ik af.

Het album bevat enkele goede momenten ( o.a. Scream Queens en Photophobia and Lipstickphillia), maar is te licht om van een succes over de gehele lijn te kunnen spreken. Parodieën en humor in muziek verwerken is steeds balanceren tussen een goed en slecht resultaat. Jammer genoeg zitten ze veelvuldig langs de verkeerde kant van die lijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/09/2015


29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising 29/09/2015 : ALIASING - Spell Rising

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit