tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : MANICURED NOISE - Northern Stories 1978/80

MANICURED NOISE

Northern Stories 1978/80

MusicCD
Post Punk

[80/100]   

Caroline True Records
28/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

One by one the list of unreleased post-punk rarities from 'the vaults' are getting a wash and brush up, making this vinyl pressing of a previously available CD rather intriguing. Comprised of twelve tracks from the CD version (the most important ones, naturally), Northern Stories 1978/80 is a bit of a treasure from a band who were cruelly overlooked back in the day.

Formed in Manchester in 1978, they shared rehearsal space with Joy Division (and do NOT sound like them) and released a pair of singles and little more, save for some demos and a David 'Kid' Jensen session. This shocking state of affairs has at least been improved with this limited pressing (just 500 copies) and includes both sides of the Pre label singles Metronome and Faith.

Both sides ably demonstrate Manicured Noise's jarring angular sub-funk, topped off by Steven Walsh's anxious yelping vocals and suggest the band may well have coveted Talking Heads' twitching nervous energy at some point. The later songs on the Jensen session certainly make Manicured Noise comparable with the likes of The Higsons, Television and Apb and also makes evidence of the band's steady progression. Special mention goes to the funky Dreams Money Can Buy, the excellent Payday and the jazzy Competition - what a fine 12" single they might make.

What is remarkable is that the whole album sits together this well after thirty odd years apart. Regardless of the saleable Manchester connection, Manicure Noise's erratic but effortless raw groove is worth shelling out for.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
28/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire