tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/12/2012 : THE BLOW MONKEYS - Limping For A New Generation

THE BLOW MONKEYS

Limping For A New Generation

MusicCD
New wave

[84/100]   

Cherry Red Records
15/12/2012, Didier BECU

Funny that no one seems to be aware of this album. This album that was released in 1984 and is made by the band which is fronted by lead singer Dr. Robert (born Robert Howard),

The music here has nothing to do with their major hit "Digging Your Scene" which made them world famous. The album is even far away from sound of the band's second album Animal Magic.

Now the album is considered as “a masterpiece but which did not attract commercial success at the time”.

This hidden gem so far could only be found on several blogspots, but now it is released as a 2-CD deluxe edition with a whole bonus disc of previously unissued demos and B-sides.

Some say they heard some Smiths and Style Council-influences on this album, but someone who knows his musi history will think of a band like A Certain Ratio, as just like them The Blow Monkeys combined funk with a new wave sound.

Best “known” songs on here are "Man from Russia", "Atomic Lullaby" and "Forbidden Fruit".

All classics that everyone forget. Definitely worth to rediscover, even if you hate their more known sound as this is something different!

 

Didier BECU
15/12/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain