tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2012 : SIMON BALESTRAZZI - The Sky Is Full Of Kites

SIMON BALESTRAZZI

The Sky Is Full Of Kites

MusicCD
DroneExperimentalNoise

[75/100]   

Boring Machines
09/12/2012, Chris KONINGS

A member of Kirlian Camera from 1991 until 1997, Simon Balestrazzi has always hovered somewhere between neo-classical and experimental music. Way back in the beginning of the 80's he co-founded the experimental industrial group T.A.C. I mean, when you find pictures of the man playing the violin on a plugged apple, you know this is soundcreation to the maximum extent.

So you get three richly layered and steadily constructed pieces. In total it's almost an hour of audio experiments with heaps of ear candy for the experienced explorer. Music for headphones, you will want to seclude yourself from your surroundings with this album. And it's also very listenable, no Merzbow moments here!

I saw that he also did collaborations with Z'EV and DNA's Ikue Mori, in only two years he made about seven albums... Difficult to keep up with but I'm guessing you can buy any of his works and derive a lot out of them... A good album!

Chris KONINGS
09/12/2012


 

Next reviews
CHRIS WATSON • El Tren Fantasma
LUYAS (CANADA), EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS (ESTONIA) AND I GOT YOU ON TAPE (DANMARK) • live at Club Trix, Antwerp, 8/12/2012
ADAM ANT • Review of the concert at Zappa in Antwerp on 7 December 2012
DAVID LYNCH • Eraserhead
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • No Love
AUDIENCE KILLERS • Footprints And Hearts
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE • Here's to those we could not save
MUSHY • Breathless
• Playback
<1979> • FM Interface

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + NOISE
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
GRØN • Indland
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
M. B. • Hibernum

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete