tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/11/2011 : M. B. - Hibernum

M. B.

Hibernum

MusicCD
AbstractDroneExperimentalNoise
EE Tapes
28/11/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

OK … a difficult one, in a “genre” I’m not really familiar with... 3 pieces of noise, 27:37, 21:06 and 27:28 minutes. Soundscapes for the experienced listener. Slowly shifting monotony, thousands of sound-ants, covering your face and flooding your ears … No ordinary stuff, not in any way.

“Hibernum” is an experience, an event you’ll want to attend sporadically. A spiritual trip to emotions of your own choice …M. B. creates intense, meditative, sound-waves, collages of electronic noise, swelling and fading … “Hibernum” offers an interesting, unconventional and disharmonic listening experience. It confronts you with your personal boundaries and leaves you wanting salvation, craving for inner rest and yearning for total silence. Maybe that’s the most important thing to be said about “Hibernum”.

The score? Irrelevant this time! 55 would have been nice, referring to EE Tapes and the year of birth of M. Bianchi. 

Listen, FEEL and judge for yourself. Is “Hibernum” a pleasant trip? No, not really. I’d rather say it’s an interesting and memorable experience? To be used in moderate doses, I’m inclined to add. “Hibernum” surrounds you with noise(s). It floods and almost drowns you. It lets you gasp for air for a couple of seconds and then a new wave takes you even further into dark depths.

You want to know a little bit more about M. B.? That’s possible. Maurizio Bianchi was born in 1955, in Pomponesco, Italy. He’s considered to be one of the “noise”-pioneers. His earliest work dates from 1979. Since then he unleashed numerous albums upon the world, some under the name of Sacher-Pelz and leibstandarte ss mb. Why … and his own choice? Interesting interview questions, without a doubt … M. B.-material is often very limited and wanted by collectors.

I already have my “Hibernum”-copy (EE22, 300 copies)! What about you?

Didier PIETERS
28/11/2011


NL

Goed … een hele moeilijke … in een genre dat mij niet zo vertrouwd is. 3 brokken sfeer. 27:37, 21:06 en 27:28 minuten. Soundscapes voor de gevorderde luisteraar. Aangehouden monotonie, traag verschuivend, duizenden klankmieren die je gezicht overspoelen en zich een weg banen naar je oorschelpen. Geen gesneden brood voor de doorsnee muziekliefhebber, zoveel is duidelijk.

“Hibernum” is een ervaring, een belevenis waarvan je sporadisch eens wil proeven. Een spirituele trip naar emoties van eigen keuze … M. B. creëert intense, meditatieve, sfeerstukken, een klanktapijt dat zich bij momenten ongaarne laat bewandelen, collages van elektronische geluiden, soms vaag op stemmen lijkend, langzaam aanzwellend en wegdeemsterend of abrupt eindigend. Een boeiende, onconventionele en disharmonische luisterervaring, die je naar de rand van het verdraagbare leidt, die je in contact brengt met je hoogstpersoonlijke grenzen, je denken stimuleert, je doet verlangen naar verlossing, je doet hunkeren naar totale stilte. Dat is misschien de grootste verdienste van “Hibernum”?

De score? Punten lijken me dit keer irrelevant … 55 was anders wel leuk geweest: een verwijzing naar EE Tapes en het geboortejaar van M. Bianchi. “Hibernum” is een persoonlijke trip die je zelf naar waarde moet schatten. Te gebruiken in beperkte dosissen, dat lijkt me wel het devies. Een prettige ervaring? Niet echt … Eerder een interessante en memorabele gebeurtenis. “Hibernum” omgeeft je met geluid, overspoelt en verdrinkt je, laat je af en toe naar adem happen … tot een volgende golf je nog verder meesleurt in het duistere diepe.

U wenst nog wat meer informatie over M. B. Dat kan. Maurizio Bianchi, geboren in 1955 in Pomponesco (Italië), wordt beschouwd als één van de “Noise”-pioniers. Zijn eerste werk dateert van 1979. Sindsdien bracht hij talloze albums op de markt, onder andere onder de namen Sacher-Pelz en leibstandarte ss mb. Wat daar precies de bedoeling van was en in welke mate een eigen keuze? Interessante thema’s voor een interview denken wij dan … M. B.-materiaal is vaak beperkt qua oplage en zeer gewild door verzamelaars.

Ik heb al een “Hibernum”-exemplaar (EE22, 300 copies). En U?

Didier PIETERS
28/11/2011


 

Next reviews
NEEDLE SHARING • Gang Bangs!
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Ashes
JUNE11 • The Temple Of Wood
SOMATIC RESPONSES • Concrete Glider
EXOCET • Consequence
SOLITUDE • Brave The Storm
CELLULOIDE • Ordinosaure
DARKDRIVECLINIC • Noise in my head
JOHN WATTS • Fischer-Z
DONOVAN TATE • Scrapbook

 

Same combination of genres: ABSTRACT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + NOISE
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout