tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/11/2011 : M. B. - Hibernum

M. B.

Hibernum

MusicCD
AbstractDroneExperimentalNoise
EE Tapes
28/11/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

OK … a difficult one, in a “genre” I’m not really familiar with... 3 pieces of noise, 27:37, 21:06 and 27:28 minutes. Soundscapes for the experienced listener. Slowly shifting monotony, thousands of sound-ants, covering your face and flooding your ears … No ordinary stuff, not in any way.

“Hibernum” is an experience, an event you’ll want to attend sporadically. A spiritual trip to emotions of your own choice …M. B. creates intense, meditative, sound-waves, collages of electronic noise, swelling and fading … “Hibernum” offers an interesting, unconventional and disharmonic listening experience. It confronts you with your personal boundaries and leaves you wanting salvation, craving for inner rest and yearning for total silence. Maybe that’s the most important thing to be said about “Hibernum”.

The score? Irrelevant this time! 55 would have been nice, referring to EE Tapes and the year of birth of M. Bianchi. 

Listen, FEEL and judge for yourself. Is “Hibernum” a pleasant trip? No, not really. I’d rather say it’s an interesting and memorable experience? To be used in moderate doses, I’m inclined to add. “Hibernum” surrounds you with noise(s). It floods and almost drowns you. It lets you gasp for air for a couple of seconds and then a new wave takes you even further into dark depths.

You want to know a little bit more about M. B.? That’s possible. Maurizio Bianchi was born in 1955, in Pomponesco, Italy. He’s considered to be one of the “noise”-pioneers. His earliest work dates from 1979. Since then he unleashed numerous albums upon the world, some under the name of Sacher-Pelz and leibstandarte ss mb. Why … and his own choice? Interesting interview questions, without a doubt … M. B.-material is often very limited and wanted by collectors.

I already have my “Hibernum”-copy (EE22, 300 copies)! What about you?

Didier PIETERS
28/11/2011


NL

Goed … een hele moeilijke … in een genre dat mij niet zo vertrouwd is. 3 brokken sfeer. 27:37, 21:06 en 27:28 minuten. Soundscapes voor de gevorderde luisteraar. Aangehouden monotonie, traag verschuivend, duizenden klankmieren die je gezicht overspoelen en zich een weg banen naar je oorschelpen. Geen gesneden brood voor de doorsnee muziekliefhebber, zoveel is duidelijk.

“Hibernum” is een ervaring, een belevenis waarvan je sporadisch eens wil proeven. Een spirituele trip naar emoties van eigen keuze … M. B. creëert intense, meditatieve, sfeerstukken, een klanktapijt dat zich bij momenten ongaarne laat bewandelen, collages van elektronische geluiden, soms vaag op stemmen lijkend, langzaam aanzwellend en wegdeemsterend of abrupt eindigend. Een boeiende, onconventionele en disharmonische luisterervaring, die je naar de rand van het verdraagbare leidt, die je in contact brengt met je hoogstpersoonlijke grenzen, je denken stimuleert, je doet verlangen naar verlossing, je doet hunkeren naar totale stilte. Dat is misschien de grootste verdienste van “Hibernum”?

De score? Punten lijken me dit keer irrelevant … 55 was anders wel leuk geweest: een verwijzing naar EE Tapes en het geboortejaar van M. Bianchi. “Hibernum” is een persoonlijke trip die je zelf naar waarde moet schatten. Te gebruiken in beperkte dosissen, dat lijkt me wel het devies. Een prettige ervaring? Niet echt … Eerder een interessante en memorabele gebeurtenis. “Hibernum” omgeeft je met geluid, overspoelt en verdrinkt je, laat je af en toe naar adem happen … tot een volgende golf je nog verder meesleurt in het duistere diepe.

U wenst nog wat meer informatie over M. B. Dat kan. Maurizio Bianchi, geboren in 1955 in Pomponesco (Italië), wordt beschouwd als één van de “Noise”-pioniers. Zijn eerste werk dateert van 1979. Sindsdien bracht hij talloze albums op de markt, onder andere onder de namen Sacher-Pelz en leibstandarte ss mb. Wat daar precies de bedoeling van was en in welke mate een eigen keuze? Interessante thema’s voor een interview denken wij dan … M. B.-materiaal is vaak beperkt qua oplage en zeer gewild door verzamelaars.

Ik heb al een “Hibernum”-exemplaar (EE22, 300 copies). En U?

Didier PIETERS
28/11/2011


 

Next reviews
NEEDLE SHARING • Gang Bangs!
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Ashes
JUNE11 • The Temple Of Wood
SOMATIC RESPONSES • Concrete Glider
EXOCET • Consequence
SOLITUDE • Brave The Storm
CELLULOIDE • Ordinosaure
DARKDRIVECLINIC • Noise in my head
JOHN WATTS • Fischer-Z
DONOVAN TATE • Scrapbook

 

Same combination of genres: ABSTRACT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + NOISE
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate