tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/11/2011 : SOLITUDE - Brave The Storm

SOLITUDE

Brave The Storm

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[77/100]   

Fastball
11/11/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Heavy Metal Thunder!

Metal on your favorite website? Why not? Hot stuff I should add … Head-banging and air guitar moves at 8 pm, travelling to work by train … Kind of embarrassing but hey … I was having a great time, so …

Solitude is a Japanese Heavy-Metal quartet, heavily influenced by NWOBHM-bands like Saxon and Iron Maiden. “Brave The Storm” is their second album, the follow-up to 2001’s “Virtual Image”.

Label? FASTBALL!

Solitude's current lineup?

Akira Sugiuchi (ex-SACRIFICE): Vocals
Toru Nishida (ex-SACRIFICE): Bass
Shingo Ida: Guitars
Takamasa "MAD" Ohuchi (ex-ANTHEM): Drums

Quiet acoustic intro’s, obligatory guitar solos (of high quality), typical vocals (a tad lower maybe), strong melodies, heroic lyrics, breaks, … You’re getting the picture by now I guess? Great stuff “from the old days”, be it with a slightly modern touch …

If you’re into bands like Saxon, Maiden, Trust, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, Judas Priest … you can buy “Brave The Storm” without hesitation. I guess it’s no coincidence that the last song on the album is a Saxon cover: “Rainbow Theme - Frozen Rainbow”. Solitude-members are known to be huge Saxon fans, as am I!

Best tracks? Strong opener “You were all of my Life”, can be mentioned. Other highlights? The instrumental “Head Wind”: Solitude rocking like hell! Fantastic! Fifteen again! What a flashback! NEVER SURRENDER! Also the tense title-track, great guitar solo included (as on many songs on “Brave the Storm), is worth mentioning. 1 more? “Falling Down”, check it out below! Solitude clearly knows how to rock. Tracks 4 to 6, on the other hand, are much less appealing to me.

Other weak links? The vocals perhaps? Average to good seems to be a defendable verdict … Dated? Maybe sometimes … but that’s when I like Solitude most! Clichés are there to be cherished, aren’t they?

“Brave The Storm” will seldom be leaving my laptop in the next couple of days!

Solitude … certitude …

Didier PIETERS
11/11/2011


NL

Heavy Metal Thunder!

Metal op uw favoriete site? Waarom ook niet? Straf spul nog ook! Een stevige hap zware metalen gaat er altijd in, absoluut! Headbangen en luchtgitaartoestanden op de trein, om acht uur ‘s morgens, ’t is geen zicht en zelfs een beetje gênant, maar kom …

SOLITUDE (in een vorig leven SACRIFICE) is een Japans Heavy Metal-viertal dat met “Brave The Storm” zijn 2de CD op de wereld loslaat. De voorganger, “Virtual Image” dateert al van 2001.

Solitude's lineup?

Akira Sugiuchi (ex-SACRIFICE): Vocals
Toru Nishida (ex-SACRIFICE): Bass
Shingo Ida: Guitars
Takamasa "MAD" Ohuchi (ex-ANTHEM): Drums
 
Label van dienst? Het onvolprezen FASTBALL.

Rustige akoestische intro’s, losbarstend gitaargeweld, de obligate en wat mij betreft sublieme solo’s halfweg, typerende zang (of eigenlijk een octaafje of 2 lager), sterke melodieën, heroïsche teksten, breaks, tempowisselingen … U snapt het al … Great stuff en ook wel “werk uit de oude doos”, zij het met wat moderne toetsen en een vette productie.

Liefhebbers van Saxon, Maiden, Trust, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, Judas Priest … kunnen “Brave The Storm” blindelings aanschaffen. Het zal trouwens wel geen toeval zijn dat met een Saxon-cover wordt afgesloten: “Rainbow Theme - Frozen Rainbow”. Dat getuigt van goede smaak en de Solitude-versie mag er best zijn.

Beste tracks? “Brave The Storm” opent sterk met “You were all of my Life”. Andere toppers? De instrumental “Head Wind”: Solitude rocking like hell! Fantastisch! Fifteen again! Wat een flashback! Wat een drive! NEVER SURRENDER! Ook de strakke titelsong met (een constante op dit album) mooi solowerk, zorgt voor de nodige commotie. “Falling Down” rockt lustig verder: check it out below … Solitude kent zijn vak, zoveel is zeker. Jammer genoeg kent de CD ook een dipje: tracks 4 tot en met 6 kunnen mij niet echt bekoren.

Andere zwakke schakels? De zang misschien? Middelmatig tot goed lijkt me een rechtvaardig verdict. Gedateerd? Soms wel, maar dan vind ik ze net op hun best! Clichés in een, bij momenten nieuw, modieus jasje, daar trekken wij onze neus niet voor op! Clichés zijn er om te koesteren, toch?

“Brave the Storm” zal de komende dagen mijn laptop zelden verlaten! 

Solitude … certitude …

Didier PIETERS
11/11/2011


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

30
01
Today, 27 years ago American Industrial-Metal band Ministry released Filth Pig!
29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void