tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/11/2011 : SOLITUDE - Brave The Storm

SOLITUDE

Brave The Storm

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[77/100]   

Fastball
11/11/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Heavy Metal Thunder!

Metal on your favorite website? Why not? Hot stuff I should add … Head-banging and air guitar moves at 8 pm, travelling to work by train … Kind of embarrassing but hey … I was having a great time, so …

Solitude is a Japanese Heavy-Metal quartet, heavily influenced by NWOBHM-bands like Saxon and Iron Maiden. “Brave The Storm” is their second album, the follow-up to 2001’s “Virtual Image”.

Label? FASTBALL!

Solitude's current lineup?

Akira Sugiuchi (ex-SACRIFICE): Vocals
Toru Nishida (ex-SACRIFICE): Bass
Shingo Ida: Guitars
Takamasa "MAD" Ohuchi (ex-ANTHEM): Drums

Quiet acoustic intro’s, obligatory guitar solos (of high quality), typical vocals (a tad lower maybe), strong melodies, heroic lyrics, breaks, … You’re getting the picture by now I guess? Great stuff “from the old days”, be it with a slightly modern touch …

If you’re into bands like Saxon, Maiden, Trust, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, Judas Priest … you can buy “Brave The Storm” without hesitation. I guess it’s no coincidence that the last song on the album is a Saxon cover: “Rainbow Theme - Frozen Rainbow”. Solitude-members are known to be huge Saxon fans, as am I!

Best tracks? Strong opener “You were all of my Life”, can be mentioned. Other highlights? The instrumental “Head Wind”: Solitude rocking like hell! Fantastic! Fifteen again! What a flashback! NEVER SURRENDER! Also the tense title-track, great guitar solo included (as on many songs on “Brave the Storm), is worth mentioning. 1 more? “Falling Down”, check it out below! Solitude clearly knows how to rock. Tracks 4 to 6, on the other hand, are much less appealing to me.

Other weak links? The vocals perhaps? Average to good seems to be a defendable verdict … Dated? Maybe sometimes … but that’s when I like Solitude most! Clichés are there to be cherished, aren’t they?

“Brave The Storm” will seldom be leaving my laptop in the next couple of days!

Solitude … certitude …

Didier PIETERS
11/11/2011


NL

Heavy Metal Thunder!

Metal op uw favoriete site? Waarom ook niet? Straf spul nog ook! Een stevige hap zware metalen gaat er altijd in, absoluut! Headbangen en luchtgitaartoestanden op de trein, om acht uur ‘s morgens, ’t is geen zicht en zelfs een beetje gênant, maar kom …

SOLITUDE (in een vorig leven SACRIFICE) is een Japans Heavy Metal-viertal dat met “Brave The Storm” zijn 2de CD op de wereld loslaat. De voorganger, “Virtual Image” dateert al van 2001.

Solitude's lineup?

Akira Sugiuchi (ex-SACRIFICE): Vocals
Toru Nishida (ex-SACRIFICE): Bass
Shingo Ida: Guitars
Takamasa "MAD" Ohuchi (ex-ANTHEM): Drums
 
Label van dienst? Het onvolprezen FASTBALL.

Rustige akoestische intro’s, losbarstend gitaargeweld, de obligate en wat mij betreft sublieme solo’s halfweg, typerende zang (of eigenlijk een octaafje of 2 lager), sterke melodieën, heroïsche teksten, breaks, tempowisselingen … U snapt het al … Great stuff en ook wel “werk uit de oude doos”, zij het met wat moderne toetsen en een vette productie.

Liefhebbers van Saxon, Maiden, Trust, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, Judas Priest … kunnen “Brave The Storm” blindelings aanschaffen. Het zal trouwens wel geen toeval zijn dat met een Saxon-cover wordt afgesloten: “Rainbow Theme - Frozen Rainbow”. Dat getuigt van goede smaak en de Solitude-versie mag er best zijn.

Beste tracks? “Brave The Storm” opent sterk met “You were all of my Life”. Andere toppers? De instrumental “Head Wind”: Solitude rocking like hell! Fantastisch! Fifteen again! Wat een flashback! Wat een drive! NEVER SURRENDER! Ook de strakke titelsong met (een constante op dit album) mooi solowerk, zorgt voor de nodige commotie. “Falling Down” rockt lustig verder: check it out below … Solitude kent zijn vak, zoveel is zeker. Jammer genoeg kent de CD ook een dipje: tracks 4 tot en met 6 kunnen mij niet echt bekoren.

Andere zwakke schakels? De zang misschien? Middelmatig tot goed lijkt me een rechtvaardig verdict. Gedateerd? Soms wel, maar dan vind ik ze net op hun best! Clichés in een, bij momenten nieuw, modieus jasje, daar trekken wij onze neus niet voor op! Clichés zijn er om te koesteren, toch?

“Brave the Storm” zal de komende dagen mijn laptop zelden verlaten! 

Solitude … certitude …

Didier PIETERS
11/11/2011


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego
28
11
Today it's exactly 39 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat
29
11
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela