tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/11/2011 : SOLITUDE - Brave The Storm

SOLITUDE

Brave The Storm

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[77/100]   

Fastball
11/11/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Heavy Metal Thunder!

Metal on your favorite website? Why not? Hot stuff I should add … Head-banging and air guitar moves at 8 pm, travelling to work by train … Kind of embarrassing but hey … I was having a great time, so …

Solitude is a Japanese Heavy-Metal quartet, heavily influenced by NWOBHM-bands like Saxon and Iron Maiden. “Brave The Storm” is their second album, the follow-up to 2001’s “Virtual Image”.

Label? FASTBALL!

Solitude's current lineup?

Akira Sugiuchi (ex-SACRIFICE): Vocals
Toru Nishida (ex-SACRIFICE): Bass
Shingo Ida: Guitars
Takamasa "MAD" Ohuchi (ex-ANTHEM): Drums

Quiet acoustic intro’s, obligatory guitar solos (of high quality), typical vocals (a tad lower maybe), strong melodies, heroic lyrics, breaks, … You’re getting the picture by now I guess? Great stuff “from the old days”, be it with a slightly modern touch …

If you’re into bands like Saxon, Maiden, Trust, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, Judas Priest … you can buy “Brave The Storm” without hesitation. I guess it’s no coincidence that the last song on the album is a Saxon cover: “Rainbow Theme - Frozen Rainbow”. Solitude-members are known to be huge Saxon fans, as am I!

Best tracks? Strong opener “You were all of my Life”, can be mentioned. Other highlights? The instrumental “Head Wind”: Solitude rocking like hell! Fantastic! Fifteen again! What a flashback! NEVER SURRENDER! Also the tense title-track, great guitar solo included (as on many songs on “Brave the Storm), is worth mentioning. 1 more? “Falling Down”, check it out below! Solitude clearly knows how to rock. Tracks 4 to 6, on the other hand, are much less appealing to me.

Other weak links? The vocals perhaps? Average to good seems to be a defendable verdict … Dated? Maybe sometimes … but that’s when I like Solitude most! Clichés are there to be cherished, aren’t they?

“Brave The Storm” will seldom be leaving my laptop in the next couple of days!

Solitude … certitude …

Didier PIETERS
11/11/2011


NL

Heavy Metal Thunder!

Metal op uw favoriete site? Waarom ook niet? Straf spul nog ook! Een stevige hap zware metalen gaat er altijd in, absoluut! Headbangen en luchtgitaartoestanden op de trein, om acht uur ‘s morgens, ’t is geen zicht en zelfs een beetje gênant, maar kom …

SOLITUDE (in een vorig leven SACRIFICE) is een Japans Heavy Metal-viertal dat met “Brave The Storm” zijn 2de CD op de wereld loslaat. De voorganger, “Virtual Image” dateert al van 2001.

Solitude's lineup?

Akira Sugiuchi (ex-SACRIFICE): Vocals
Toru Nishida (ex-SACRIFICE): Bass
Shingo Ida: Guitars
Takamasa "MAD" Ohuchi (ex-ANTHEM): Drums
 
Label van dienst? Het onvolprezen FASTBALL.

Rustige akoestische intro’s, losbarstend gitaargeweld, de obligate en wat mij betreft sublieme solo’s halfweg, typerende zang (of eigenlijk een octaafje of 2 lager), sterke melodieën, heroïsche teksten, breaks, tempowisselingen … U snapt het al … Great stuff en ook wel “werk uit de oude doos”, zij het met wat moderne toetsen en een vette productie.

Liefhebbers van Saxon, Maiden, Trust, Hammerfall, Iced Earth, Judas Priest … kunnen “Brave The Storm” blindelings aanschaffen. Het zal trouwens wel geen toeval zijn dat met een Saxon-cover wordt afgesloten: “Rainbow Theme - Frozen Rainbow”. Dat getuigt van goede smaak en de Solitude-versie mag er best zijn.

Beste tracks? “Brave The Storm” opent sterk met “You were all of my Life”. Andere toppers? De instrumental “Head Wind”: Solitude rocking like hell! Fantastisch! Fifteen again! Wat een flashback! Wat een drive! NEVER SURRENDER! Ook de strakke titelsong met (een constante op dit album) mooi solowerk, zorgt voor de nodige commotie. “Falling Down” rockt lustig verder: check it out below … Solitude kent zijn vak, zoveel is zeker. Jammer genoeg kent de CD ook een dipje: tracks 4 tot en met 6 kunnen mij niet echt bekoren.

Andere zwakke schakels? De zang misschien? Middelmatig tot goed lijkt me een rechtvaardig verdict. Gedateerd? Soms wel, maar dan vind ik ze net op hun best! Clichés in een, bij momenten nieuw, modieus jasje, daar trekken wij onze neus niet voor op! Clichés zijn er om te koesteren, toch?

“Brave the Storm” zal de komende dagen mijn laptop zelden verlaten! 

Solitude … certitude …

Didier PIETERS
11/11/2011


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser