tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/10/2011 : PALLERS - The Sea of Memories

PALLERS

The Sea of Memories

MusicCD
Ambient PopElectronics

[79/100]   

Labrador
31/10/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Float gently on this wide open sea of beautiful memories …

What to expect from this calm, quiet and yet somehow adventurous journey?

A truly great voice against a seemingly minimalistic, soft and warm background. “Electronica for lovers” … Well-crafted songs, ear-candy, but never too sweet, subtle bleeps, a wealth of details, … An album that can be an intense listening experience as well as something to put on when you’re parents come over for a visit! An album with a velvet touch of class, leaving you yearning for more. That’s it, basically … Highlights? To me there are none … The songs continue their journey softly, one after another, maintaining the same high level of performance. The peace is disturbed only once, by “Wicked”, a poppy dance-track featuring Elise Zalbo (vocals): an obvious single choice, maybe, but not representative for “The Sea of Memories”.

“The Sea of Memories” is released by Labrador (Sweden).

Pallers is a Swedish duo featuring Henrik Mårtensson and Johan Angergård, ex-flatmates and good friends. “Pallers” refers to the neighborhood where Mårtensson grew up. It's a part of the town Åhus. Johan and Henrik worked 3 years on this CD, intensively, and the result speaks for itself!

Sweet sweet honey! Thank you Pallers!

Didier PIETERS
31/10/2011


NL

Laat je zachtjes drijven, op deze weidse zee van mooie, soms wat droeve herinneringen ...

Wat mag je verwachten van “The Sea of Memories”?

Een hemelse, honingzoete stem tegen een ogenschijnlijk minimalistische, zacht elektronische achtergrond, een “vol” geluid … op zijn best elektronica voor fijnproevers, stroop voor de oren zonder een spoortje meligheid, mooie, gelaagde songs, rijk aan detail, fijnzinnige bliepjes op het juiste moment, zweverige synthesizers, rustige ritmes … Een CD waar je echt genietend kan naar luisteren maar die je evengoed kan opleggen als achtergrondmuziekje. Een CD die ruikt naar klasse en smaakt naar meer. Dat is het zo’n beetje … Highlights? Die zijn er wat mij betreft niet. De tracks kabbelen zachtjes verder, steeds op hetzelfde hoge niveau. Eén keer wordt het gaspedaal wat dieper ingedrukt, op “Wicked”, een poppy dansnummer zowaar, met als gastvocaliste Elise Zalbo. “Wicked” zou volgens mij een goede, zij het misleidende singlekeuze kunnen zijn.

Het label van dienst is deze keer het Zweedse Labrador.

Wie zijn die Pallers? Een Zweeds duo, namelijk Henrik Mårtensson and Johan Angergård, ex-flatmaten en vrienden voor het leven. Pallers verwijst naar een buitenwijk van Åhus, waarin één van beide heerschappen opgroeide. Ze hebben drie jaar aan deze CD gewerkt en dat hoor je ook!

Sweet sweet honey … Dank u Pallers, zeggen we dan!

Didier PIETERS
31/10/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide