tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2011 : COMPUTERUS - compUterus

COMPUTERUS

compUterus

MusicCD
EBMIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[70/100]   

Bugs Crawling Out Of People
30/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

 

The world is full of strange creatures that we humans know almost nothing about, making them mysterious and even shunning them through our ignorance. The compUterus is a fine example, imagine a foetus living in a biomechanical womb, hooked up to who knows what with all kinds of wiring and tubes. A ghastly sight but don't let your eyes deceive you, the compUterus is here to help mankind! A biomechanical baby, assembling new forms of music. Ban those thoughts of HAL3000, Metropolis or The Terminator out of you mind, this one's here to help us out!

Greg Kowalczyk thinks he can control this beast and tries to keep its mind busy by injecting new forms and styles of music. But only time will tell if the compUterus is not plotting the demise of mankind, out of sight, hidden in its electromagnetic dna. But so far Greg's plan seems to be working as this debut album is a fine example of how to stay true to the originals like Front 242, Front Line Assembly, Klinik and newer stuff from Hands or Ant-zen, whilst giving it your own twist.

It's solely instrumental and with a lot of variation in styles it should appeal to a broad audience. Opener Grid is IDM with some mild distortion, next one "Progress Is A Train" is a lot harsher with rhythmic industrial and some fun samples comparing nuclear energy with Coca Cola... (progress is a train, you can climb on board, you can get out of the way, or you can be crushed...)

Out Of My Way sounds like a big Klinik-like intro but doesn't really explode into the EBM bomb that it could have been. The real blast comes next with the breaky 7 Souls, followed by the slow paced and evil sounding Creep. I'm not too sure about Trans Form though, the drums sound very lame but it does have some nice background samples, maybe it needs a bit a reworking or a new song implementing those ideas? I'd like to hear some more lyrics too, the song "Manufactory" from his previous EP sounded pretty good so why he kept this debut album instrumental is a mystery to me.

The rest of the album are all neatly distorted IDM industrial mutants that unfortunately lack a bit of pace. They all sound great but the last twenty minutes sound like a long outro. It sure is wonderful for background use so I'm sure the compUterus will come up with some terrific music in the near future! The artwork is by Steph Dumais who also made covers for Assemblage 23 and Negative Format. A fine album worth checking out!

compUterus

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2011


 

Next reviews
FEORM • Feorm
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Worst Music Dracula Ever Heard
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose
SCHULTZ • Schultz
KITE • IV
MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ • De kaart en het gebied | The Map and the Territory | Dutch translation by Martin de Haan
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT • Inside The Head Of A Butterfly Dreaming Of Being A Giant Moth Destroying Tokyo ·
THE ARCH • Engine in void
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits

 

Same genre: EBM
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover