tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2011 : COMPUTERUS - compUterus

COMPUTERUS

compUterus

MusicCD
EBMIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[70/100]   

Bugs Crawling Out Of People
30/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

 

The world is full of strange creatures that we humans know almost nothing about, making them mysterious and even shunning them through our ignorance. The compUterus is a fine example, imagine a foetus living in a biomechanical womb, hooked up to who knows what with all kinds of wiring and tubes. A ghastly sight but don't let your eyes deceive you, the compUterus is here to help mankind! A biomechanical baby, assembling new forms of music. Ban those thoughts of HAL3000, Metropolis or The Terminator out of you mind, this one's here to help us out!

Greg Kowalczyk thinks he can control this beast and tries to keep its mind busy by injecting new forms and styles of music. But only time will tell if the compUterus is not plotting the demise of mankind, out of sight, hidden in its electromagnetic dna. But so far Greg's plan seems to be working as this debut album is a fine example of how to stay true to the originals like Front 242, Front Line Assembly, Klinik and newer stuff from Hands or Ant-zen, whilst giving it your own twist.

It's solely instrumental and with a lot of variation in styles it should appeal to a broad audience. Opener Grid is IDM with some mild distortion, next one "Progress Is A Train" is a lot harsher with rhythmic industrial and some fun samples comparing nuclear energy with Coca Cola... (progress is a train, you can climb on board, you can get out of the way, or you can be crushed...)

Out Of My Way sounds like a big Klinik-like intro but doesn't really explode into the EBM bomb that it could have been. The real blast comes next with the breaky 7 Souls, followed by the slow paced and evil sounding Creep. I'm not too sure about Trans Form though, the drums sound very lame but it does have some nice background samples, maybe it needs a bit a reworking or a new song implementing those ideas? I'd like to hear some more lyrics too, the song "Manufactory" from his previous EP sounded pretty good so why he kept this debut album instrumental is a mystery to me.

The rest of the album are all neatly distorted IDM industrial mutants that unfortunately lack a bit of pace. They all sound great but the last twenty minutes sound like a long outro. It sure is wonderful for background use so I'm sure the compUterus will come up with some terrific music in the near future! The artwork is by Steph Dumais who also made covers for Assemblage 23 and Negative Format. A fine album worth checking out!

compUterus

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2011


 

Next reviews
FEORM • Feorm
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Worst Music Dracula Ever Heard
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose
SCHULTZ • Schultz
KITE • IV
MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ • De kaart en het gebied | The Map and the Territory | Dutch translation by Martin de Haan
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT • Inside The Head Of A Butterfly Dreaming Of Being A Giant Moth Destroying Tokyo ·
THE ARCH • Engine in void
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein