tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2011 : COMPUTERUS - compUterus

COMPUTERUS

compUterus

MusicCD
EBMIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[70/100]   

Bugs Crawling Out Of People
30/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

 

The world is full of strange creatures that we humans know almost nothing about, making them mysterious and even shunning them through our ignorance. The compUterus is a fine example, imagine a foetus living in a biomechanical womb, hooked up to who knows what with all kinds of wiring and tubes. A ghastly sight but don't let your eyes deceive you, the compUterus is here to help mankind! A biomechanical baby, assembling new forms of music. Ban those thoughts of HAL3000, Metropolis or The Terminator out of you mind, this one's here to help us out!

Greg Kowalczyk thinks he can control this beast and tries to keep its mind busy by injecting new forms and styles of music. But only time will tell if the compUterus is not plotting the demise of mankind, out of sight, hidden in its electromagnetic dna. But so far Greg's plan seems to be working as this debut album is a fine example of how to stay true to the originals like Front 242, Front Line Assembly, Klinik and newer stuff from Hands or Ant-zen, whilst giving it your own twist.

It's solely instrumental and with a lot of variation in styles it should appeal to a broad audience. Opener Grid is IDM with some mild distortion, next one "Progress Is A Train" is a lot harsher with rhythmic industrial and some fun samples comparing nuclear energy with Coca Cola... (progress is a train, you can climb on board, you can get out of the way, or you can be crushed...)

Out Of My Way sounds like a big Klinik-like intro but doesn't really explode into the EBM bomb that it could have been. The real blast comes next with the breaky 7 Souls, followed by the slow paced and evil sounding Creep. I'm not too sure about Trans Form though, the drums sound very lame but it does have some nice background samples, maybe it needs a bit a reworking or a new song implementing those ideas? I'd like to hear some more lyrics too, the song "Manufactory" from his previous EP sounded pretty good so why he kept this debut album instrumental is a mystery to me.

The rest of the album are all neatly distorted IDM industrial mutants that unfortunately lack a bit of pace. They all sound great but the last twenty minutes sound like a long outro. It sure is wonderful for background use so I'm sure the compUterus will come up with some terrific music in the near future! The artwork is by Steph Dumais who also made covers for Assemblage 23 and Negative Format. A fine album worth checking out!

compUterus

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2011


 

Next reviews
FEORM • Feorm
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Worst Music Dracula Ever Heard
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose
SCHULTZ • Schultz
KITE • IV
MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ • De kaart en het gebied | The Map and the Territory | Dutch translation by Martin de Haan
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT • Inside The Head Of A Butterfly Dreaming Of Being A Giant Moth Destroying Tokyo ·
THE ARCH • Engine in void
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS