tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/10/2011 : COMPUTERUS - compUterus

COMPUTERUS

compUterus

MusicCD
EBMIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[70/100]   

Bugs Crawling Out Of People
30/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

 

The world is full of strange creatures that we humans know almost nothing about, making them mysterious and even shunning them through our ignorance. The compUterus is a fine example, imagine a foetus living in a biomechanical womb, hooked up to who knows what with all kinds of wiring and tubes. A ghastly sight but don't let your eyes deceive you, the compUterus is here to help mankind! A biomechanical baby, assembling new forms of music. Ban those thoughts of HAL3000, Metropolis or The Terminator out of you mind, this one's here to help us out!

Greg Kowalczyk thinks he can control this beast and tries to keep its mind busy by injecting new forms and styles of music. But only time will tell if the compUterus is not plotting the demise of mankind, out of sight, hidden in its electromagnetic dna. But so far Greg's plan seems to be working as this debut album is a fine example of how to stay true to the originals like Front 242, Front Line Assembly, Klinik and newer stuff from Hands or Ant-zen, whilst giving it your own twist.

It's solely instrumental and with a lot of variation in styles it should appeal to a broad audience. Opener Grid is IDM with some mild distortion, next one "Progress Is A Train" is a lot harsher with rhythmic industrial and some fun samples comparing nuclear energy with Coca Cola... (progress is a train, you can climb on board, you can get out of the way, or you can be crushed...)

Out Of My Way sounds like a big Klinik-like intro but doesn't really explode into the EBM bomb that it could have been. The real blast comes next with the breaky 7 Souls, followed by the slow paced and evil sounding Creep. I'm not too sure about Trans Form though, the drums sound very lame but it does have some nice background samples, maybe it needs a bit a reworking or a new song implementing those ideas? I'd like to hear some more lyrics too, the song "Manufactory" from his previous EP sounded pretty good so why he kept this debut album instrumental is a mystery to me.

The rest of the album are all neatly distorted IDM industrial mutants that unfortunately lack a bit of pace. They all sound great but the last twenty minutes sound like a long outro. It sure is wonderful for background use so I'm sure the compUterus will come up with some terrific music in the near future! The artwork is by Steph Dumais who also made covers for Assemblage 23 and Negative Format. A fine album worth checking out!

compUterus

Chris KONINGS
30/10/2011


 

Next reviews
FEORM • Feorm
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Worst Music Dracula Ever Heard
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose
SCHULTZ • Schultz
KITE • IV
MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ • De kaart en het gebied | The Map and the Territory | Dutch translation by Martin de Haan
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT • Inside The Head Of A Butterfly Dreaming Of Being A Giant Moth Destroying Tokyo ·
THE ARCH • Engine in void
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + INDUSTRIAL
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
SYNAPSCAPE • Traits

 

Same genre: EBM
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
ELM • Penetrator
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles