tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/10/2011 : THE ARCH - Engine in void

THE ARCH

Engine in void

MusicCD
Dark PopElectroNew wave

[84/100]   

Echozone
24/10/2011, Didier BECU

When I was young (no irony here!) I was just like everyone else proud to buy my very first cd. Those first plastic things that would destroy the whole industry I devoted my life to, were albums by Psychedelic Furs and a Belgian band named The Arch.
This CD was “The Messier Album” and 22 years later it still remains one of Belgium’s most underrated albums ever, not to mention the fact that two decades later The Arch are still there.
“Engine In Void” has found its release on the German Echozone imprint something that’s not so strange since these electropop-wavers are having more success abroad than in their native country.
It looks strange but in Germany for instance, they consider a track like “Babsi ist tot” a classic... as it should be!
Of course we can keep on dwelling on things that aren’t actually taking place and for those who care, we can reveal that the newest album by the Arch is one of the better album you’ll find these days on Belgian soil.
The mastering by Eric Van Wonterghem gave the twelve tracks an actual sound, even if it feels like the songs could have been released in 1988. I always thought that The Arch's music is quite similar to that of Poesie Noire. Even if the first ones are more electro-punk oriented, comparing them to Jo’s band: that’s a flattering thing.
Well written songs are captured in an atmosphere that’s created by melodic synths and coldwave-guitars. It even features a stunning cover from “My suitor” by Berntholer.
This mighty new album is also available (only from the band though) in a special black bag with their 2009 compilation “The Arch of noise” a brilliant overlook of their 1986 - 1995 output.
Along with their buddies (and label-mates) Der Klinke we dare to say that perhaps they might be one of those famous last Mohicans. But then they also have delivered an almost classic album.

 

Didier BECU
24/10/2011


 

Next reviews
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT / CROW TONGUE • The Tower/ Wind Chant
CONTAGIOUS ORGASM • Escape
SILENT CIRCLE • No 1
THOROFON • Exkarnation
ANATHEMA • Falling Deeper
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
SUNDAY BELL RINGERS • Sunday Bell Ringers
NEW ORDER • New Order - Live in Brussels
BLACK ICE • Before the first light

 

Other reviews from THE ARCH
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
THE ARCH • Fates
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In