tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/10/2011 : SUNDAY BELL RINGERS - Sunday Bell Ringers

SUNDAY BELL RINGERS

Sunday Bell Ringers

MusicCD
IndieLo-fiPost Rock

[82/100]   

Zeal Records
20/10/2011, Didier BECU

The fairy tale of Sunday Bell Ringers finds its roots in Belgium. The name might be inspired by some churchgoers, still the real reason behind this band's name is quite different. Behind this band you'll find the musical chameleon that Joeri Cnapelinckx is, and everyone who's familiar with that guy will know that he's the man behind Kawada, a band that were regular guests at Belgian venues.

Anyway, Kawada might sound cool in Belgium but if you use the modern technoogy of today (Google that is) you'll see that everyone in Japan is named Kawada and so it happens that the band were looking for some new name. No better moment to do so as this new album also is a sort of introduction to their new sound. The youngsters that grace this sleeve might let you think that those Ringers are some streetpunkband but hey!, they're not.

According to Joeri, their sound has an Icelandic feel and even if we cross our fingers when we hear that (just because there are too many copyists around), the Sunday Bell Ringers have done a fine job. The strength of this album lies in the fact that this band found a nice balance between classic post-rock and (shoegazy) guitarsounds. If this was British, we guess it would make the newest NME-cover but I guess, as they're not, that "a Belgian gem that has to be discovered"-description is their victory.

You'll know what to do!

Didier BECU
20/10/2011


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets