tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/10/2011 : THE BRAINS - Drunk not dead

THE BRAINS

Drunk not dead

MusicCD
PunkRockabilly

[72/100]   
24/10/2011, Didier BECU

There's nothing around that we can predict, but if you force us to come up with something we'd swear that rock 'n roll will never go away. (or at least, let's hope so!)
For some it's a lifestyle, for others adrenalin and for some people it's their daily needed vitamins to struggle through a dull day, but whatever it might be: you'll have to hear The Brains!
You don't have to be that smart to note that a band whose front-man's name is Rene de la Muerte and whose album's called "Drunk not dead" are not taking themselves that seriously. This is what makes this album a hell of a party.
These Canadian rockmeisters are not the most original punks that walk upon this earth but their psychobilly slash horrorpunk (or whatever it is called) is meant to shake your hips... thirteen tracks long!!
Not one second left to get a grasp of breath as this is pure energy where in it feels like you've landed for 30 minutes in some crazy Roberto Rodriguez-movie, where the lunatic outsiders have taken over the power.
Combine Elvis with the speed of Motörhead and mix this with some good tequila and look: we gave you the recipe of a Brains-song.
Intelligent? No way!
Funny? Hell yeah!

Didier BECU
24/10/2011


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover